think johnson is a really good signing for liverpool tbh…he’ll push on and give a great option in matches at Anfield last season where liverpool seemed to be too predictable and couldn’t break down teams that just sat back…Your always going to pay over the odds for any young english international…its teh same for everyone…
Again I haven’t seen a lot of him recently but 18 odd million is a lot of money of spend on a full back and particularly one where I believe there are question marks.
Particularly when you are not that flush!
Agreed… Benitez has also liked to pack his midfield and try and get width from his full backs, i think Johnson will be a great addition to the team…
Anyone know the latest on Alonso?
Imperative that he stays. Last I heard was that Real said the price was too high but that they would work at it.
Don’t like the sound of that.
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Again I haven’t seen a lot of him recently but 18 odd million is a lot of money of spend on a full back and particularly one where I believe there are question marks.
Particularly when you are not that flush![/QUOTE]
transfer market snob
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Again I haven’t seen a lot of him recently but 18 odd million is a lot of money of spend on a full back and particularly one where I believe there are question marks.
Particularly when you are not that flush![/QUOTE]
I tend not to worry too much about football finances. It’s not my money. And Liverpool will not go tits up. So setting aside the large fee, I think he improves the team. He’s taken the number 2 jersey off Dossena who is left without a squad number so you can assume that Johnson and Insua will start the season at full back.
What’s most pleasing is that both these guys are footballing fullbacks - they don’t just hoof the ball down the line. And they’re nippy. They certainly add an attacking dimension (as cumspot said) and mean that we now have the capability to attack from all areas of the pitch. Looking at what Rafa inherited and what he has now, he’s really built a strong team. Here’s hoping we can keep Alonso and Mascherano.
Defensively it’ll be interesting to see how good Johnson is but I thought he was solid bar a couple of stupid sendings off while at Chelsea.
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Anyone know the latest on Alonso?
Imperative that he stays. Last I heard was that Real said the price was too high but that they would work at it.
Don’t like the sound of that.[/QUOTE]
doesn’t sound good when benitez comes out saying that Alonso and mascherano need to be loyal to liverpool…stinks of desperation…If liverpool are flush would it not make sense to take ridiclous money for Alonso?..
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Anyone know the latest on Alonso?
Don’t like the sound of that.[/QUOTE]
He has an extended break due to international duty… I’m sure reports will be flying around when he returns next week.
I’ve said it before, it will be a step backwards if Liverpool let him go…
Can’t think of anyone who could replace him to be honest.
I am not sure what else Rafa has up his sleeve this summer but I would be happy enough if things stayed as they were PROVIDED they don’t lose Xabi.
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Can’t think of anyone who could replace him to be honest.
I am not sure what else Rafa has up his sleeve this summer but I would be happy enough if things stayed as they were PROVIDED they don’t lose Xabi.[/QUOTE]
Watched a press conference with Rafa today where he suggested he doesn’t really have anything else up his sleeve. Tis my firm belief that at this moment in time Liverpool have the best team in the Premiership. And that leaves capable lads like Babel, Benayoun and Agger on the bench.
He said he could buy one more player without selling anyone. Knowing Rafa - he likes buying players.
I would start Benayoun. He had an excellent end to the season.
Reina,
Johnson, Carragher*, Skrtel, Insua
Mascherano, Alonso
Kuyt, Gerrard, Benayoun
Torres
- needs to improve
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]He said he could buy one more player without selling anyone. Knowing Rafa - he likes buying players.
I would start Benayoun. He had an excellent end to the season.
Reina,
Johnson, Carragher*, Skrtel, Insua
Mascherano, Alonso
Kuyt, Gerrard, Benayoun
Torres
- needs to improve[/QUOTE]
Yeah, difficult to argue with that but I’d probably plump for Riera on the left. Prefer Yossi on the right but you can’t really leave Kuyt out. He was great last season - I’m shocked I’m saying that.
I don’t know about Riera. He is left footed and gives balance but Yossi is a much better player.
Tend to agree, but I think the need for balance paradoxically outweighs Yossi’s superior ability.
I think we need another striker. Purely as back up for Nando. Alternatives are Babel (like him as a striker) and Ngog (shite).
In no way should any striker be bought to play alongside Torres and disrupt that Torres Gerrard partnership*
- Unless it’s Villa
Would rate Benayoun much higher as well. Contributes much more in general play and technically superior as well. Really proved himself last season when given the chance. What can you say about Dirk? Gives it all.
Guys, Whats the story with the bookies suspending the betting on Ribbery joining Liverpool? Seemingly the odds went from 20/1 to something like 8/13.
After expressing concern about the massive spending occurring all over Europe, Liverpool manager Rafa Benitez is set to make a move for Franck Ribery.
According to The Telegraph, Benitez is planning a 46 million move for Ribery, who has attracted the interest of Real Madrid all summer. However, Los Merengues seem to have run out squad places, if not money, thus ruling out a move.
The story appears to have some credence, on the back of news that leading British bookmaker Skybet have dramatically slashed the odds on Ribery joining Liverpool, just as they did the day before Michael Owen joined Manchester United.
However, Bayern Munich have remained adamant in their refusal to sell Ribery for anything less than an enormous sum, even though the French international has reportedly stated his intention to leave.
This news will no doubt raise questions about the futures of Xabi Alonso and Javier Mascherano. Liverpool want to keep the pair, but their tight budget means Benitez - who has already splashed more than 17 million on Glen Johnson - will have to sell before making another big buy.
Benitez’ complaints about the money in football and Barry’s greed are a little odd coming at the press conference to unveil 18m Glen Johnson. I agree that the transfer market has inflated again this summer but there’s no use complaining about it when you’re contributing to the problem.
I do agree with Clarkey above though that fans spend too much time analysing how much managers spend on players. It’s largely irrelevant. Supporters don’t know enough about the budgets to understand the implications anyway. There’s nothing funnier than when a club sells a player for a decent fee and the supporters declare themselves happy. As if they’ll get a dividend from it.
Looking at the team above it’s strong enough but the bench is the problem. Particularly in an attacking sense. Babel is ok but not top class, Riera is hit and miss, Ngog is shite so far.