Liverpool 2008/09

[quote=“Fran”]The only thing is that I and many other Liverpool fans do not see last nights game as the biggest game of the season.

The game at Old Trafford was the biggest for me.[/quote]

i smell a serious load of bullshit…

ye won nothing (bar the game) by beating utd. ye still wont win the prem.

[quote=“HBV*”]One flukey European Cup medal is what players like jesper Blomquist and Darren Fletcher have, except theirs are sitting beside their Premier league medals.

Since when was a European Cup medal ever flukey?

They beat every team that was put in front of them. And unlike Fletcher and Blomquist the guy dragged his team towards that win by himself really.

I never called him the best player in the world - that title clearly belongs to Lionel Messi. Up to recently I didn’t even like Gerrard given the way he carried on during those ‘moves’ to Chelsea.

But you can’t dispute his contribution to Liverpool over the years - like him or not.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Since when was a European Cup medal ever flukey?

They beat every team that was put in front of them. And unlike Fletcher and Blomquist the guy dragged his team towards that win by himself really.

I never called him the best player in the world - that title clearly belongs to Lionel Messi. Up to recently I didn’t even like Gerrard given the way he carried on during those ‘moves’ to Chelsea.

But you can’t dispute his contribution to Liverpool over the years - like him or not.[/quote]

he has not achieved, you seem to believe he is above criticism and should be judged on isolated games, but why? what has he done to deserve this?
in my opinion very little apart from a few screamers which are impressive in fairness when they go in.

[quote=“HBV*”]he has not achieved, you seem to believe he is above criticism and should be judged on isolated games, but why? what has he done to deserve this?
in my opinion very little apart from a few screamers which are impressive in fairness when they go in.[/quote]

1.He has achieved. He won the bloody European Cup and was the main reason why his team won it.

2.I do not believe that he is above criticism when it is warranted but it is not warranted in this occasion. He did not have a shocker last night and it appears that unless he turns around a game where the opposition are clearly a level above then he has somehow failed.

3.You are the one judging him on isolated games I feel that he has turned enough games around by himself so as not to give him grief for failing to turn the one around last night.

4.Goals change games. Goals win games. The ability to score goals from nothing is something not every player possesses. He is a match winner. I would be the first to say that he lacks discipline in his game but I dont care frankly as he provides enough moments of inspiration over the years to justify his lack of doing the nuts and bolts.

The Gerrard abuse lies in the fact that he has been largely an isolated attacking threat for his team for the last five years. Torres at long last has changed this to a degree thankfully. The truth is though that the likes of Rooney has often played worse for longer and escape the abuse because they play on a team with a lot of attacking options. Gerrard plays on a team which has been largely defensively minded under the current manager and bears the burden of both creating and scoring goals for his side. Criticism of Gerrard tends to boil down to ‘he doesn’t win every game for liverpool by himself’. Jesus he has his faults but blaming him for that is the hallmark of a retard.

Spot on there WTB.

Unless he wins the game by himself he has had a shocker.

I tend to look at the times when he wins games by himself as great acheivements as opposed to when others look at any time he doesn’t do it as being a slight on him.

Liverpool are assessing the fitness of skipper Steven Gerrard today and are bracing themselves for more injury problems for the England midfielder.

Gerrard arrived this morning at the club’s Melwood training complex for fitness tests which are being reviewed by Liverpool’s medical teams.

The 28-year-old was sidelined in February with a hamstring injury sustained in the FA Cup trilogy with Everton, and he has also suffered groin problems this term.

As yet a decision has not been made over whether he needs a scan on that previous groin problem.

Before last night’s Champions League defeat by Chelsea there had been fears that Gerrard was still struggling from the ankle injury which forced his precautionary exit from Saturday’s win at Fulham, although he trained with the squad on Monday and Tuesday, and was passed fit to play.

However, there is now speculation that the England midfielder has suffered a recurrence of a previous groin problem.

If that is the case he could miss Saturday’s home Barclays Premier League game with Blackburn as well as the second leg of the European tie at Stamford Bridge next Tuesday.

Liverpool would not confirm any injury problem for Gerrard today, but last night boss Rafael Benitez alluded to a new problem.

He said after the match: 'Steven was not 100% - you could see that. It was the same for Fernando Torres, you could see that they were a little tired, not as sharp as before.

'But they have been playing well and we felt it was okay to use them both in this game. We need them.

'But credit to Chelsea, they were always controlling Steven and making it difficult for him to play.

'He was not as mobile as normally, Chelsea made it very difficult for him.

'But the difference in this match was that Chelsea played really well and we didn’t.

‘The injury he had on Saturday was not the problem, his ankle was okay. But we do not know how he is, we will see tomorrow.’

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Spot on there WTB.

Unless he wins the game by himself he has had a shocker.

I tend to look at the times when he wins games by himself as great acheivements as opposed to when others look at any time he doesn’t do it as being a slight on him.[/quote]

no but he was practically anonymous last night. there is no law against saying he was anonymous the same way there is no law against you reverting to type and going on about how he was only ok last night but has dug them out of it plenty of times so its ok.

i dont agree with you you dont agree with me, there are no retards, just opinions and WTB.

[quote=“HBV*”]no but he was practically anonymous last night. there is no law against saying he was anonymous the same way there is no law against you reverting to type and going on about how he was only ok last night but has dug them out of it plenty of times so its ok.

i dont agree with you you dont agree with me, there are no retards, just opinions and WTB.[/quote]

There is no law against what you are saying but I don’t agree with you and believe that you are talking through your arse.

He was not practically anonymous last night. Had Torres got his shot away earlier we would be talking about Gerrard’s wonderful assist for Torres’ goal.

What is reverting to type about what I am saying? It makes perfectly logical sense to me.

Also I notice you didn’t bother address my four points in an earlier post of mine. I don’t want to lower myself to your level but to borrow your phrase - stick to the oval ball.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]There is no law against what you are saying but I don’t agree with you and believe that you are talking through your arse.

He was not practically anonymous last night. Had Torres got his shot away earlier we would be talking about Gerrard’s wonderful assist for Torres’ goal.

What is reverting to type about what I am saying? It makes perfectly logical sense to me.

Also I notice you didn’t bother address my four points in an earlier post of mine. I don’t want to lower myself to your level but to borrow your phrase - stick to the oval ball.[/quote]

address your points?

numbered 1 to 4 they all say …

‘i think stevie is great he has bags of medals and should be judged on his sporadic goal scoring and not on last nights Champions league home quarter final where he contributed little or nothing’

[quote=“HBV*”]address your points?

numbered 1 to 4 they all say …

‘i think stevie is great he has bags of medals and should be judged on his sporadic goal scoring and not on last nights Champions league home quarter final where he contributed little or nothing’[/quote]

Read them you fucking clown - they don’t say that.

Actually don’t bother. Sick of trying to reason with someone who clearly hasn’t a clue what he is talking about.

farmer has really lost it

Farmer is an all right sort.

Plagarised one liners won’t ruffle the big man.:wink:

[quote=“kafka”]idiot…they beat a ten man united in that game…will count for nothing iff and
when liverpool end the season with nothing…as for gerrard id put him in same catagory as ronaldo …very talented player but sometimes anonymous in big games and just as much of a cunt…[/quote]

Touchy touchy United supporters it seems. Under pressure? In all honesty I wasn’t having a go. For me the United game at Old Trafford was the most important because personally I’m not too pushed about the champions league in comparison to the premier league.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Read them you fucking clown - they don’t say that.

Actually don’t bother. Sick of trying to reason with someone who clearly hasn’t a clue what he is talking about.[/quote]

cant you have a discussion on LFC without resorting to petty name calling?

i dont share your opinion of the man, that doesn’t make me a clown or it doesn’t mean i havent a clue what im talking about.

and relax to fuck, youve spent the day ranting at lads because they dont rate some footballer from england as highly as you do. think about that and figure out how pathetic it is.

And what part of Leitrim is Liverpool in anyway?

easy say that when the PL is all thats left

I would’ve said it before the match last night, before the Real match, at the start of the season.

The league is the priority for me and most Liverpool fans.

[quote=“HBV*”]cant you have a discussion on LFC without resorting to petty name calling?

i dont share your opinion of the man, that doesn’t make me a clown or it doesn’t mean i havent a clue what im talking about.

and relax to fuck, youve spent the day ranting at lads because they dont rate some footballer from england as highly as you do. think about that and figure out how pathetic it is.

And what part of Leitrim is Liverpool in anyway?[/quote]

Good lad.

All you have is to throw the not being from Liverpool line at me. Sure sign that you has nothing else

It doesn’t matter of course. I made valid points and you haven’t addressed a single one of them.

And yes, you are a clown and yes, you do not know what you are talking about.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Good lad.

All you have is to throw the not being from Liverpool line at me. Sure sign that you has nothing else

It doesn’t matter of course. I made valid points and you haven’t addressed a single one of them.

And yes, you are a clown and yes, you do not know what you are talking about.[/quote]

:wink: you should hear yourself.

sure we could all make 4 random points of nothingness but what would the point be?
anyway

1.you think he’s achieved, i dont and i doubt he would be happy to retire now with his current medal haul, its harmless.
2.you think he’s beyond criticism when he lets your team down on the big day, i dont.
3.you think i judge him on isolated games, i think you do likewise.
4.you admit he lacks ‘the nuts and bolts’ but that its justified by a few screamers in the last minute now and then, i dont, id expect more from englands best player. englands best player should be doing the nuts and bolts.

now calm yourself down, you are like a raving lunatic man.

emotional start at anfield to remember hillsborough and an amazing roar after the minutes silence.

torres scored a brilliant volley after 5 minutes and then added a header from a free kick after 30 minutes , liverpool well on top even with gerrard on the bench.

Agger being given a run out after skrtel’s mare on wednesday evening

here on sop cast sop://broker.sopcast.com:3912/6816