Liverpool 2008/09

Most of the Shed and the Matthew Harding Stands were standing for the 90 minutes singing on and off, and I couldn’t hear a peep out of the Liverpool fans until they got the first goal. The celebrations for each of the two Lampard goals were fairly loud and messy with bodies flying everywhere etc (forgive them for not marching onto the pitch and cuffing the opposition keeper), and then by the end most of the ground was standing and singing.

It’s worth bearing in mind that Chelsea fans aren’t sewer dwelling unemployed peasants like a lot of United, Liverpool, and Celtic fans. Chelsea has no Munich disaster, no Hillsborough disaster, none of that shite. Most of the fans have jobs and other things going on in their lives apart from football, which is why you see the odd lad at the game in a suit, something you wouldn’t see in the northern hovels.

I’m sure farmer will come on saying the same thing as the rest of you, but he should admit that the Liverpool fans didn’t get going until they scored the first goal, and didn’t really get going until they got the second. Last Wednesday night it was all about Chelsea fans singing “where’s your famous atmosphere?”, so not a lot can have changed in the meantime. Everyone knows the atmosphere is always better when you’re away from home, and anyway Anfield has better acoustics than SB. I’ve been at 2 United home games in the league this season, and one European away, and I’ve been to 2 Chelsea home league games. Atmosphere was definitely better in SB.

Again, don’t tell me how you “would feel”, and how you “would celebrate” if you took the 90 minute emotional battering that the fans did last night. Just come back when you’ve actually done it.

Memorials live here all evening for Liverpool fans.

http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N164030090415-1421.htm

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]Most of the Shed and the Matthew Harding Stands were standing for the 90 minutes singing on and off, and I couldn’t hear a peep out of the Liverpool fans until they got the first goal. The celebrations for each of the two Lampard goals were fairly loud and messy with bodies flying everywhere etc (forgive them for not marching onto the pitch and cuffing the opposition keeper), and then by the end most of the ground was standing and singing.

It’s worth bearing in mind that Chelsea fans aren’t sewer dwelling unemployed peasants like a lot of United, Liverpool, and Celtic fans. Chelsea has no Munich disaster, no Hillsborough disaster, none of that shite. Most of the fans have jobs and other things going on in their lives apart from football, which is why you see the odd lad at the game in a suit, something you wouldn’t see in the northern hovels.

I’m sure farmer will come on saying the same thing as the rest of you, but he should admit that the Liverpool fans didn’t get going until they scored the first goal, and didn’t really get going until they got the second. Last Wednesday night it was all about Chelsea fans singing “where’s your famous atmosphere?”, so not a lot can have changed in the meantime. Everyone knows the atmosphere is always better when you’re away from home, and anyway Anfield has better acoustics than SB. I’ve been at 2 United home games in the league this season, and one European away, and I’ve been to 2 Chelsea home league games. Atmosphere was definitely better in SB.

Again, don’t tell me how you “would feel”, and how you “would celebrate” if you took the 90 minute emotional battering that the fans did last night. Just come back when you’ve actually done it.[/quote]

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]Most of the Shed and the Matthew Harding Stands were standing for the 90 minutes singing on and off, and I couldn’t hear a peep out of the Liverpool fans until they got the first goal. The celebrations for each of the two Lampard goals were fairly loud and messy with bodies flying everywhere etc (forgive them for not marching onto the pitch and cuffing the opposition keeper), and then by the end most of the ground was standing and singing.

Again, don’t tell me how you “would feel”, and how you “would celebrate” if you took the 90 minute emotional battering that the fans did last night. Just come back when you’ve actually done it.[/quote]

Agree with some of that but a lot of Chelsea fans are complete scumbags too. The suit brigade following them is a recent phenomen I’d say.

Was at Anfield last season for the Villa game and the place was like of morgue apart from home fans giving their own players abuse. Shit loads left with ten mins to go which I was surprised with.

Is that post a joke or are you serious? Blaming acoustics in the ground. Heard it all now. That was a shocking atmosphere last night without a doubt and the fact they couldn’t even sell out their 50,000 ground or whatever speaks volumes (pun intended)

Not just acoustics larry, occupations as well. They were both crucial.

Chelsea have a core element who wear suits to games so the atmosphere is never going to compete with other teams? Sure thing. My posts do generally tend to express how I feel as they’re my opinions. In short, Chelsea couldn’t sell out their Champions League Final allocation last year so it’s unsurprising that there wasn’t a raucous outpuring of emotion and unadulterated joy at the end. They appear to have a large element of consumers rather than supporters but I’m sure they were happy to have received value for money last night. Again, my opinion but I felt the ‘fan’ reaction summed up how sanitised the game in England has become bar a few exceptions.

A ridiculous point also about being too drained to celebrate - I’ve both attended and watched on TV plenty of dramatic matches in a wide range of sports where supporters have went apeshit at the end. I know you’d rather I didn’t tell you how I feel but you’re speaking on behalf of the entire Chelsea support and who the fook are you to to conclude with certainty how they were all feeling? By the way, Wexford defeating Kilkenny at the death in 2004, Celtic beating the Huns in the 94th minute last season and The Undertaker getting the better of Shawn Michaels after an epic Wrestlemania showdown are three examples of emotionally draining matches where I have done it, as you put it.

It’s my contention that a supporter reaction to incredible games like the 3 mentioned above would usually involve some combination of pitch invasion, carnage in the stands, rousing reception given to the team/combatants and a prolonged ovation/singsong after the final whistle. You disagree but you’re assuming incorrectly that I’ve never witnessed drama at a sport event. Perhaps it can be summed up by the fact that Chelsea’s fans being more professionally successful than opposing teams didn’t want to risk a tear in their suits and so settled instead for polite applause, akin to their witnessing of an above average show in the theatre.

The game was a sell-out, and the ground doesn’t hold anywhere close to 50,000. It holds around 41,000 for domestic games, less for European games. There was a strange looking block of empty seats near the front of the Matthew Harding Lower - I can’t explain it (could have been lads standing on steps), but I do know that the game was a sell-out.

Maybe there’s a better blackberry signal in the jacks?

If you don’t think acoustics of a ground help carry the noise of singing fans then you are just wrong because it does. It’s a factor - I’m not blaming any lack of atmosphere on it, but it’s a factor.

ill remind you of this post;)

So the words "sell-out" are a bit meaningless then, if half the lads who got season tickets for presents at Christmas can’t even be bothered to go to the games. Still, when the Big Club roll into town on May 16th, that’s when you’ll see a proper sell out.

You just worry about your little self-pity city mourning mass WTB, leave the football to the rest of us.

odd to see the murdoch run sky take ownership of the occasion & not much backlash

Course they do but some clubs create an atmosphere no matter where they go. Chelsea fans probably need to be each holding a mic to create a bit of atmosphere in the ground. They should also put dummy’s in the empty seats also. Maybe it was just the suits needed a bit of extra leg room or something last night?

You clearly weren’t at the game so I would have serious doubts as to how much you can make out on the tv - no more than me, I would say.

You are probably subconsciously comparing everything to a big European night at Celtic Park. Every European night at Celtic Park is like a cup final because the team is shite and they can’t win an away game to save their lives meaning every home game has double the importance.

Chelsea does have one of these epic tragedies of their own. It involved the death of some posh public schoolboy millionaire in a helicopter crash. The Chelsea fans hold regular memorials for and named a stand after a lad whose main contribution was to give them loads of money.
Cunt of a club.

No bother sledge. You carry on desperately trying to explain why the chelsea fans couldn’t make enough noise to wake a small child last night.

Course not, they’ve short memories in Liverpool. Short enough to forget about injuring their own fans in Athens in a stampede less than 2 years ago.

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]You clearly weren’t at the game so I would have serious doubts as to how much you can make out on the tv - no more than me, I would say.

You are probably subconsciously comparing everything to a big European night at Celtic Park. Every European night at Celtic Park is like a cup final because the team is shite and they can’t win an away game to save their lives meaning every home game has double the importance.[/quote]

Is a Champions League group stage game a big European night? Big in the sense of creating revenue that keeps Glasgow Celtic alive no doubt. Interesting debate Sledge

[quote=“KIB man”]Agree with some of that but a lot of Chelsea fans are complete scumbags too. The suit brigade following them is a recent phenomen I’d say.

Was at Anfield last season for the Villa game and the place was like of morgue apart from home fans giving their own players abuse. Shit loads left with ten mins to go which I was surprised with.[/quote]

Most English clubs have plenty of scumbags running around after them, I can’t think of any that don’t.

I don’t know if the suits thing is a recent phenomenon, you tell me if you know better than I do. It may or may not be a new thing. The Taylor Report and Euro 96 changed the face of English football, along came a lot of new types, but there is also a simple possible explanation for the suits (I only saw one on the TV last night, don’t know how many anyone else spotted), which is that people were going to the game straight from work. It was a Tuesday night after all.