Lads, I propose we all have a minutes applause in the 7th minute as a mark of respect for Ronaldo and his recent loss?
Fair play. That’s very classy.
Jesus, pure class pal
Class act. What a bond with the fans.
turn on the radio
turn to am
turn the dial to 5 live
Fergie was just Sam Allardyce with cash. Manchester United short on the intensity the modern game demands | Manchester United | The Guardian
Perhaps the best way of registering this altered physicality is via the change in what tackling signifies, also the keenest measure of Guardiola’s influence. Twenty years ago the best teams made the most tackles. The top two tacklers in the league were Arsenal and Manchester United. Fast forward to Guardiola’s first season at City and this was still the case: five of the top six also ended up in the top 10 tacklers.
The following year this trend was simply dynamited out of existence. City racked up 100 points and won the league by a mile, while also finishing 18th on the tackle table. It is now a total inversion: the better you are the fewer tackles you make. Currently City, Liverpool, Arsenal, West Ham and Chelsea are the bottom five in tackles made. Liverpool are 88th for tackles in Europe’s top five leagues. City, spectacularly, are 98th (ie, last).
This is modern physicality: keep the ball, steal the ball, press the ball, move constantly. “What is tackles?” Guardiola famously asked. Tackles are how you know you’re losing, that control has been lost, that you’re leaving a gap for the counter thrust.
One league title in 30 years for Liverpool with a big asterisk beside it and no European cup for city despite a few billion spent and they’ve convinced each other they are great teams.
Liverpool haven’t achieved anything more than ranieris Leicester.
when did ranieri’s leicester win the european cup, or the league cup for that matter
The one unbelievable thing about klopps Liverpool is their ability to out run opponents in every game no matter what. It really is unbelievable.
What’s ye’re favourite victory over Yanited over the years? The recent 5-0 and the 4-1 at Old Trafford in 2009 have to be standouts. In terms of Anfield victories the 2-0 in January 2020 in the title winning season would probably be the best. Although the 2-0 victory in the 2016 Europa League clash was special too as it was the sides first meeting in Europe.
Honourable mention for the 3 times in the early 00’s when Danny Murphy went to OT and sent them home with their tae in a mug.
The 2-0 where Ian Rush finally scored against them. They’d lost the league earlier that day too. While stopping them winning the league was how low we had stooped the stars aligned beautifully that day.
Did Mark Walters get the second one?
A quick google search confirms it was indeed. We were blessed to have Nicky Tanner and David Burrows in the team.
He scored the winner around January 2003 maybe in Old Trafford. Van Nistlerooy was going for a record of consecutive scoring matches and United for consecutive wins. He popped up with a free kick around the 84th minute. It was sweet.
slabhead to get the winner tonight
I was at that match actually. Hard work keeping quiet when the goal went in.
That was the 2001-02 season I’m fairly sure. Early in 2002 around January or February. Flicked one over Barthez from a Steven Gerrard pass. They battered us 4-0 in 2003. Houllier had lost momentum as Liverpool manager by that stage. Everything went south around Halloween 2002 when we lost 1-0 to Middlesbrough away.
Although we did have a great 2-0 victory against Man Utd in the 2003 league cup final.