Lockdown Drinking Thread - obsolete

You can still get Harp on tap in a lot of places in North Kerry for some reason

Everyone drinks it around there. I’d say it’s the most bought pint in those villages around that area. I could never understand it.

North Kerry and Louth the only places they deliver Kegs of Harp to a fella told me one day. I think it’s still big in the North though

The pint bottles come out of Belfast now.

The Kegs come out St James Gate, but were brewed in Dundalk up until 5 years ago

Parts of West Limerick too

Ive been drinking a lot around there over the last six months minus the last two obviously and it’s extremely popular.

They’re following Trump’s directives/suggestions re: ingesting dangerous cleaning products.
Harp is a liquid concoction of bleach, dettol and washing up liquid with a faintish taste of lager off it. Laugh at DJT all you like but the C-19 figures for North Kerry are zero.

Do you think the Healy-Raes are stupid, allowing their voters to poison themselves?

I’d never drank in my life until recently but on tap it wasn’t bad. All the locals were drinking it as well which usually is a pointer as to whats good.

Is there a correlation between stuffing chips and pints of harp I wonder

Lads will do serious damage today with that weather

In the early 70’s there were 3 taps, Guinness, Smithwicks and eventually Harp. The “cooler” dudes would force down the Harp for the sake of looking trendy. Despite the efforts of Sally O’Brien, other forces entered the lager segment and Harp became un-cool.

It has survived in the 06 which in itself begs a question. Is it the ingestion of Harp that gives the Nordies that manic aggression for which they’re gaining notoriety?.

Harp would be ideal as a drench for ticks on sheep, other than that it’s utter piss.

I was told by a man who used to drink gallons of Harp that there was “old harp” which was a noble drink and “new harp” where they changed the recipe and was pure stink.

Loads of Harp taps in NYC the last time I was there.

I think Budweiser came in and replaced Harp as lads liked all things American then.

Budweiser is worse than Dutch Gold

Lads

Will ye for fucks sakes give up that dirty bastard of a habit?

Diago used to brew Budweiser over here and pushed pubs into it. They lost the contract last year afaik hence the push for rockshore over last 2 years

the Irish are obsessed with drink. Ireland could be a world leader only for it

A cold pint of Budweiser is grand, a bad pint is woeful though.