Lonely hearts club

Ok i know i am opening the door here to a world of ridicule and “ball hopping” but i’m hoping some genuine and mature advice will be dispensed in between.

Basically i am looking for an alternative way to meet a nice lady rather than the conventional pub / club scene.

I’ve been single now for a couple of years after being in a 5 year relationship and although i have met some really nice women, the majority you meet out are worse than guys for wanting their end away at thats it.

Now i’m in no way having a go at such antics as i have enjoyed the fruit of such labour but it gets boring after a while and it would be nice to sustain something a little more meaningful.

Basically, the question is, has anyone here (or their friends :rolleyes: ) ever tried an alternative way of meeting women (or men for the ladies) Such as a answering a personal ad, speed dating or any of those internet dating sites? I know dan has suggested tag rugby but thats a no go.

I’m ready for the abuse but i mean if you cant open up to a bunch of strange people on an internet forum who can you open up to?

If a single fella in Mary I is posting this, then what hope is there for the rest of us :stuck_out_tongue:

Chin up Chocolate Mice…There someone out there for everyone…

Have you tried Perry’s square, heard there is teh finest of women up there

Must of them would be grand for the night runt but a little too young for anything else… Gotta love the ad on this thread.

Using internet dating sites is no different to meeting girls on the pub/club scene in my opinion. For example;

You can’t see your potential date on an internet site.
You forget what your potential date looks like after meeting her in Coppers at 3am.

Go for it CM, the worst that can happen is marriage and two children.

Just lie and say that you are a doctor, lawyer or an accountant. Oh wait, the last one doesn’t work.

Wouldn’t mind going speed dating for the craic, I’d say it would be a good laugh…just wander round talking shite to as many women as possible, twould be the same as most nights…

[quote=“ChocolateMice”]Ok i know i am opening the door here to a world of ridicule and “ball hopping” but i’m hoping some genuine and mature advice will be dispensed in between.

Basically i am looking for an alternative way to meet a nice lady rather than the conventional pub / club scene.

I’ve been single now for a couple of years after being in a 5 year relationship and although i have met some really nice women, the majority you meet out are worse than guys for wanting their end away at thats it.

Now i’m in no way having a go at such antics as i have enjoyed the fruit of such labour but it gets boring after a while and it would be nice to sustain something a little more meaningful.

Basically, the question is, has anyone here (or their friends :rolleyes: ) ever tried an alternative way of meeting women (or men for the ladies) Such as a answering a personal ad, speed dating or any of those internet dating sites? I know dan has suggested tag rugby but thats a no go.

I’m ready for the abuse but i mean if you cant open up to a bunch of strange people on an internet forum who can you open up to?[/quote]

Come up to Dublin and head out to Noctors in Sheriff Street or the Jobstown Inn. You won’t be long finding a bird. Failing that just gatecrash a random wedding and look for the bird there who couldnt find someone to bring. You’ll be up to your neck in it before you know it.

Is speed dating still popular? It seemed to be all the rage a couple of years back.

That’s sound advice, I’ll also suggest Chasers in Ballyfermot.

Couldn’t tell you…

I know the brother’s girlfriend has a friend who met an Egyptian lad over the internet by the name of Curly and she is currently pregnant with his love child(i shit you not) and they are engaged to be married…

The same girl’s mother is recently married to an Egyptian she met over the internet also…

id imagine the likes of speed dating and internet dating would be full of similar sad cunts chocomice.:stuck_out_tongue:

go for it to fcuk, keep us updated

Its taking the plunge thats the problem, tis all well and good behind a screen mailing away but then the big meet face to face is a different story… speed dating could be good craic alright but you’d need a wing man for sure.

Any time brother, drop me a PM;)…

Once again I’ll have to suggest The Swallows in Bawnogue, I wonder why they called it that name.

Here’s one I’ve heard of before. Grow a pair of balls, go out and enjoy your life and you’ll eventually meet some poor munter who’ll take pity on you.

[quote=“The Puke”]Couldn’t tell you…

I know the brother’s girlfriend has a friend who met an Egyptian lad over the internet by the name of Curly and she is currently pregnant with his love child(i shit you not) and they are engaged to be married…

The same girl’s mother is recently married to an Egyptian she met over the internet also…[/quote]

Well i look like an egyptian if that helps!?!

think sledge or someone was talking about going on a speed dating thing a few weeks back. friend of the birds goes on them the whole time, and she wouldnt be the best. think she pays €40 or €50 a ‘session’. she started seeing one lad from them, and he was a right weirdo. she loves going out and getting absolutely hammered, and he has never touched a drop of drink in his life. made for each other! needless to say it didnt last long, but she still goes to the things.

gatecrashing a wedding is a right idea. everyone is in right form at them and looking well. and sure you only have to look at the same named film to get inspiration.

guy from my area is after moving to leeds to live with some wan he met over the internet and is supposidley engaged to him and all now…

so there is hope for ya cm

[quote=“cailinlochgarman”]guy from my area is after moving to leeds to live with some wan he met over the internet and is supposidley engaged to him and all now…

so there is hope for ya cm[/quote]
You mentioned Leeds and hope in the same post, something wrong there!