Losing My Religion

You have to manage the players in front of you.

One of my sons needs an arm around the shoulder to perform and the other needs a kick In the arse. I’d model my parenting style on whatever EPL manager is currently en vogue. At the moment I would emphasise hugs and smiles but with a steely determination.

Someone posted on here years ago about their approach to raising kids.

It was something along the lines of never, ever put your kid down - there are plenty of people in the world who can do that for him/her.

I thought it well put. I think it was said by @balbec

There he is, screaming again.

That was my mother’s philosophy on parenting summed up neatly, something she never tired of saying and her first advice to all new parents, it was mentioned a few times from the altar at her funeral as @Fat_Pox will testify (lest anybody thinks I’m making it up :grinning:)

Thanks for that post. I’m a bit lax about what school Rascal goes to when he starts in Sep. He seems bright unlike his dad so I think he’ll be fine wherever he goes. We’re thinking of either ET which I had worries about re teachers teaching English to foreign kids. The other option is the Church of Ireland which has a great rep. My main worry is he’ll be labelled a prod in secondary school. The local RC is single sex so isn’t an option for Mrs Hunt.

I admire your honesty mate.

It was me. I basically said there will be enough people outside the house to knock them so no need to add to it.

All you can do with kids and education and life is give them the best platform and environment you can and then encourage them to do their best. Whatever their best may be. Some may be academic some not. Some may be sporty others not. The worst thing you can do is try to live your life, career, aspirations, dreams etc through your kids. They will find their own way. Just support them.

And give them the odd belt in the head.

You can do a lot more damage with words.

Agreed - that’s why you should knock the snot out of them instead of telling them they are horrible, useless cunts.

I believe the children are our are future
Teach them well and let them lead the way
Show them all the beauty they possess inside
Give them a sense of pride to make it easier
Let the children’s laughter remind us how we used to be

Whitney Houston

Jordon Peterson had some practical guiding principles for rearing children in 12 rules for life which aren’t too far off the mark.

You are traumatised

You were sent away to boarding school you cunt. No wonder you ended up on a swan farm in Poland.

Keep them fed, warm, happy, loved and out of trouble… and don’t be a cunt.

They’re each people in themselves. With their own characters and personalities… let them be themselves.

After that it’s a lottery

TFK

One of the most important things you can teach a kid today seems to be resilience – the youngsters cant handle set backs or curve balls these days …

you can’t teach resilience.

You know what I mean you little bollix — you push them to learn it.

Not sure about this. I’ve another cousin, the younger brother of the atheist I mentioned above, whose parents wanted him to be a performer and express himself and such shite. They told him he was class and his songs were brilliant even though they were all shite. Anytime we went over to their house or there was and family gathering everything would stop so this wanker could hammer on his acoustic guitar. His parents would fucking lap it up. He thought he’d become a rock star but never did because he sucked so now he’s miserable angry, noone can stand him and he can’t stand anyone.

I think it’s probably important to put your kids down sometimes.