Lou Macari

This lad is an utter idiot. He was co-commentating on Arsenal-Burnley on Setanta earlier when Samir Nasri and the Burnley 'keeper collided and both needed treatment. He spent the next ten minutes complaining about Nasri having to leave the field of play before returning and that the 'keeper was allowed to stay on. He thought it was ridiculous and unprecedented that the 'keeper didnā€™t have to go off too and was completely oblivious to the fact that the rule in relation to leaving the field before resuming doesnā€™t apply to 'keepers. He kept bringing it up afterwards in reference to other decisionsā€¦ā€˜well thatā€™s a poor decision but weā€™ve seen what this referee is like with the Nasri/Jensen incident earlierā€™. Dolan and Dempsey were laughing at half time and Pat said Lou must have been sampling the wine at The Emirates before the game. Macari didnā€™t seem to take the banter too well and was still going on about it in the second half. The tard seriously expects teams to play on for a minute or two without a keeper.

Italy had beaten Germany 4-1 in couple of days earlier in a friendly in Florence in March 2006 and Paul Dempsey asks Pat Dolan who he thinks will win the World Cup. ā€œItalyā€, the not such a friend of the forum replies. ā€œItaly canā€™t win the World Cup, Patā€, replies Luigi. ā€œItaly CANā€™T win the World Cupā€. Might have been a Kerry-style cute hoor tactic or something. Doubt it though.

The Lou Macari on Setanta isnt afraid of having at go at United players but the one on Mutv cant praise them enough. Strange that. :smiley:

Absolute cunt of the worst kind, going betting against his own team back in the day, imagine betting against your own team and then sending them out to play a game, wanker

Great to have Sledge back.

In other news, big Pat Dolan was taking the piss out of himself earlier while talking about Aaron Ramsey. He said he visited the Highbury fish shop recently, which is where he spent most of his rehabilitation time seemingly. I presume they sell chips too. Pat is an alright sort.

Commentating was shocking on Arsenal v Burnley yesterday, no research done whatsoever by Macari or whoever the main commentator was.

They were complaining that there was no atmpsphere and perhaps the reason was that Arsenal have never really been in the title race, I think youā€™ll find they were top in January after back to back wins over Bolton.

Not on the scale of the mutterings highlighted by Bandage but annoying all the same. It was funny straight after half time Lou got annoyed ith Pat taking the piss out of him and said he didnā€™t have Wikipedia to check the rules, what a tool.

What do people think of his chips?

Theyā€™re decent enough but he has one of them on his shoulder when it comes to talking about football.

Lou cuts his chips in the image of his brain - thick.

Another thing about him is that heā€™s got this habit of deciding in the first ten minutes that a player is performing badly. And heā€™ll keep making the point throughout the rest of the game to show that his initial impression was correct, even if the player has improved markedly. So heā€™ll just keep blaming the player for things that blatantly werenā€™t his fault.

Heā€™d spoil your Saturday, he really would.

Heā€™s caused me upset in the past all right.

Heā€™s often mean to Des as well. And I like Des.

The gravy makes them.

Lou has made his way into Tv3 tonight for the Fiorentina vs Bayern game.

Macari is bad but surely noone can reach the heights of complete and utter idiocy that Craig Burley does. The cunt never lets his ā€œco-commentatorā€ talk heā€™s so busy spouting rubbish; Iā€™ve had to watch a game with mute on manys the time cos of the prick. He makes Jamie Redknapp look like a genius.

You make a good point about Burley - heā€™s an odious prick. Christ, it seems nearly every ex-Celtic player in the media is. Still, I think Macariā€™s even worse than Burley.

I think Burley is the bigger prick, marginally, but Macari is the bigger incompetent.

In recent weeks Burley keeps saying ā€œIā€™m not a betting man butā€¦ā€ and then giving obscure odds.

e.g. ā€œIā€™m not a betting man but Robbie Keane was 33/1 to score a hat-trick against Falkirk and that tells its own story about whatā€™s going wrong at Celtic.ā€

Lou Macari whoa no say a we gotta go, ya ya ya ya ya ya, a Lou Macariā€¦

I thought we were rid of Burley when Setanta went tits up. In fact, it was one of the few positives I was taking from the situation. At least heā€™s confined to the studio on ESPN. I very rarely watch the panels on any station now, most of them are boring or talk utter shite or both. So I can pretty much avoid Burley now. However, you canā€™t ignore the co-commentator, so Macari continues to irritate. Not much to add on him to what has already been said here. He might be the thickest man on television (any subject, not just sport).