Hang on now…what exactly is your problem? Is there a particular need for the insults? The only ‘people’ Louis got to the ‘root’ of was an obese drug dealer who talked nothing but bullshit for a quarter of an hour. The few minutes that he spent talking to the grandmother was easily the most poignant part of the documentary.
There is little doubt that after watching it people will end up with an overly pessimistic view of the city and its people, which isn’t fair.
Of course I never said I like long winded inteviewers, but nice strawman. I don’t particurly mind Louis, but repeatedly asking a griefing sister ‘What happenend? Did anyone see what happened?’ over and over again, or asking people ‘Why they won’t talk to the cops?’, even after they repeatedly answered him, is more then a bit retarded.
[quote=“Turenne”]Hang on now…what exactly is your problem? Is there a particular need for the insults? The only ‘people’ Louis got to the ‘root’ of was an obese drug dealer who talked nothing but bullshit for a quarter of an hour. The few minutes that he spent talking to the grandmother was easily the most poignant part of the documentary.
There is always need for insults around here. The whole point of Louis Theroux’s approach is completely disarming the people he talks to with his seemingly ridiculous level of naivety and all-round gormlessness. By doing so he avoids triggering the defences of his subjects with loaded questions. The subjects tend to relax, let their guards down and you find out twice as much about what they really believe or how they justify their way of life. There’s never any obvious agenda, so you don’t end up with the Sky-style ‘look what a pack of cunts these are’ theme to the whole thing.
WTB
Agree he does that lets keep an open mind thing. It can be effective.
He is however a real bleeding heart liberal though. The one where he couldn’t shoot the deer when he was hunting, might have been funny if it was the first time you had seen one of his programmes. I like him but do think he overeggs it sometimes.
christ but the saddest of bastards go looking for those thai brides, that british creep last night telling the wan he loved her after 5 minutes was cringe tv.
i always thought of those lads as a bit sad and lonely but having seen that they are no different to the bloke who hits bangkok for a fortnight every year and hires a yoke to walk hand in hand with.
Grim as fuck. Hard to watch. The one with the mother who had the young kid was the worst. Can’t imagine how tough it must be to live through something like that.
The carers are the forgotten ones in all of this.Often the burden falls on one person as the rest of the family might seek to distance themselves.
Some extraordinary moments in the documentary.The wife of the dentist walking behind her husband as he unknowningly held hands with another woman.
The 88 year old man looking after his wife who didn’t know who he was.
The young mother, who the husband will be compelled to divorce in order to award her to the state, as a means of trying to mitigate the financial burden of paying for 24 hour supervision.€4,000 a month to stay in one of these resorts/institutions.
Alzheimers/dementia really is the long goodbye.A dreadful disease.My grandmother makes the same wise crack everyday before she takes her tablets.You laugh and go along with it.Sometimes I’d imagine its like living through a game of charades for some people.
I’m gagging to go there. Have heard really good reports from people who’ve been. Thinking I’ll volunteer in Tanzania for a bit and then head to SA for the World Cup. That’d be sensational.[/quote]