fair play to this lad.
first irish tennis player to qualify for a grand slam since 1985.
juding by the name id say he is about as irish as Lord Clifton Wrottesley but ill be keeping an eye out for him in the first round in melbourne next week like i was with Lord Clifton for an entirely unrelated event during his escapades in Salt Lake City in 2002 on the luge
[quote=āmickee321ā]fair play to this lad.
juding by the name id say he is about as irish as Lord Clifton Wrottesley but ill be keeping an eye out for him in the first round in melbourne next week like i was with Lord Clifton for an entirely unrelated event during his escapades in Salt Lake City in 2002 on the luge[/QUOTE]
How did Conor Niland go? Iām assuming he lost his game?
Just heard a radio report stating Sorensen won and Niland lost - didnāt hear the actual match scores though.
Niland was beaten by some brazilian lad after winning the first set 6-1
was Niland the irish tennis player who battered the shite out of some guy one night in dublin about 5 years ago??
rte say sorensen wonā¦
juding by the name id say he is about as irish as Lord Clifton Wrottesley but ill be keeping an eye out for him in the first round in melbourne next week like i was with Lord Clifton for an entirely unrelated event during his escapades in Salt Lake City in 2002 on the luge[/QUOTE]
I assume heās Sean Sorensenās son? Think he was Irish-American. Represented Ireland in the 90ās. AFAIK heās imvolved in the Irish coaching set-up now.
[quote=āmickee321ā]Niland was beaten by some brazilian lad after winning the first set 6-1
was Niland the irish tennis player who battered the shite out of some guy one night in dublin about 5 years ago??
rte say sorensen wonā¦
http://www.rte.ie/sport/tennis/2010/0116/sorensenl.html[/QUOTE]
No I donāt think so.
Conor Niland is from Limerick so would not have a violent bone in his body.
[quote=āThe Runtā]No I donāt think so.
Conor Niland is from Limerick so would not have a violent bone in his body.[/QUOTE]
obviously,my mistake
it was steven nugent.
He is yeah. Odd name but heās born and bred in Ireland I think. Fair fucks to him.
great win for him. anyone any idea what time his next match is likely to be on?
Louk Sorensen became the first Irishman to win a grand slam match in 25 years when he defeated Yen-Hsun Lu in the first-round of the Australian Open.
Sorensen reached the main draw of a major for the first time in qualifying last week and continued his dream run in Melbourne by beating a player ranked almost 200 places higher 6-4 3-6 6-2 6-1.
Ireland had not produced a player that had won a match at a grand slam since the Californian-born Matt Doyle won through to the round of 32 at the 1985 Australian Open.
But Sorensen, ranked 287 in the world, defied the odds to bring that record to an end.
The 25-year-oldās match had been postponed after yesterdayās rain with the players assigned to arguably the least glamorous court at the Melbourne Park complex - Court 14 where the shunting trams just metres away are more audible than the cheers from the other courts.
Regardless, the court will long live in the memory of Sorensen who, with only five players ranked below than him in the whole main draw, was expected to come unstuck against world number 101 Lu.
But the Irishman, whose father Sean coaches the Davis Cup team, showed his gritty resolve early as he broke in the opening set which he took out, with his third set point, by firing a forehand down the line.
There was little between the players and when Lu levelled the match at one set apiece the contest had already lasted more than an hour and a half.
But from there Sorensen took control as he raced through the next two sets in an hour to claim his historic win.
Sorensen has spent most of his career on the Challenger tour while also playing for third division Bundesliga tennis club TC Doggenburg to earn enough money to continue to play.
āItās the biggest achievement of my career so far,ā said Sorensen, who grew up in Germany but his parents live in Dublin.
'I got through the first round now so Iām very happy.
āI donāt know what it will be like in Ireland. I donāt want to know until after the tournament.ā
Sorensen will next play 6ft 9ins American John Isner on Wednesday and after revealing his coach had been unable to travel with him to Australia, said he was likely to prepare for the match by watching YouTube highlights.
āHe (coach) had to go back to Germany, he has an important meeting so he couldnāt come to Australia,ā he added.
'But I will call my coach in Germany definitely.
'Isner is a big server. I have never played anyone that tall. He is huge.
'I am maybe going to watch a few points on YouTube
Isner of the US, all 6ā9 of him is up next. Heās ranked #28 in the world so will be a different kettle of fish for Sorensen.
Interestingly though Isner failed to progress past round 1 on his previous two attempts so this is new ground for him as well, though he did win a warm-up event in Auckland recently.
Well if his Da is Mark Sorenson (former tennis pro himself) then heās definately a Paddy and from solid Langer Stock too
The building people Maire is it? A few of those kids play GAA with us, and they are all good too.
I was at school with his sister and I think the Dad was a Dentist.
If you know where Regina is youāll know their house.
Anyway Mark was a very good tennis player himself, and if he played his tennis in Dublin he would be more of a household name now.
His da is Sean Sorenson, former Davis cup player for Ireland and current Davis cup captain. Thought he was Irish-American but Louk was born and raised in Germany so Iād assume the da was from those parts too.
Could be; but until proven that Sean is not Markās brother/ cousin (there was loads ofāem) then heās a Langer : Loud and proud baby.
There is a large enough community of them alright in Cork.
I can now officially confirm that Louk is a direct decendent of the Douglas Road Sorensons
Doubtāja Kid
[quote=āMairegangaireā]I can now officially confirm that Louk is a direct decendent of the Douglas Road Sorensons
Doubtāja Kid[/QUOTE]
You posh bitch Maire, is that where your from?
Was Urselines (sp.?) your school?
[quote=ācaoimhaoinā]You posh bitch Maire, is that where your from?
Was Urselines (sp.?) your school?[/QUOTE]
no nuns for me
I was a Regina girl
[quote=āMairegangaireā]no nuns for me
I was a Regina girl[/QUOTE]
Know Mrs. Brosnan?