I was surprised at first glance to see Roberto Martinez turn down the former European Champions. But when you delve a bit deeper it’s difficult not to conclude that Wigan to Aston Villa is a bit of sideways move - they’re both selling clubs that flirted with relegation last year - and I think Martinez probably feels that he could get a top 8 club next summer if he can have a solid mid table season with Wigan in 2011/12. Aston Villa look ever more daft to have forced Martin O’Neill out of the club though.
Ye should try reading up on things before ye post lads. Martinez was never offered the job infact he was never even interviewed. The last time there was contact between Wigan Villa and Martinez was nearly a week ago.
Owen Coyle will probably take this job. According to my sources, he has a template of where he wants to get to - Burnley (got promotion) -> Bolton (kept them up and established himself as an EPL manager) -> Villa (consolidate in EPL) -> someone like Everton (push for Europe) -> Big Club (challenge for honours and play in Europe). He would ultimately be looking to manage somebody with a global reach like Celtic if a European League is created over the next 5-7 years. Villa would be a nice stepping stone along the way where he wouldn’t have the pressure of being expected to win every week.
What’s Kent Nielsen up to these days? I know he was voted Danish coach of the Year in 2006 but I’ve lost track of his career since. He was a big favourite with the fans in his time at Villa Park and I’m sure they’d welcome the appointment of somebody “Villa-minded” like him.
I still can’t figure it out to be quite honest my hunch is that Billy was safe in thge job until McLaren expressed some kind of interest and the board,inc the TAP(KIB pls explain) got some stardust in their eyes. The thing is McLaren probably costs twice as much as Davies ever did, if they’d spent some money like the whiney cunt but canny Davies was always pleading for them to do on rock solid Prem standard players then they wouldn’t ever need to forking out on a new manager. Plus Steve McLaren has always struck me a complete fucking dipstick,a proper knob jockey. Maybe there’s more to it but frankly I didn’t see this coming and these are my initial thoughts and I reserve the right to change them as time and results progress. I would also like to take this opportunity to express my profound gratitude to Billy Davies and extend my best wishes to him and his next borderline playoff/relegation team.
Agreed on McLaren. A good yes man and nothing else.
You have just articulated the stupidity of present day Football Clubs there. Getting rid of guys too easily. Forrest had a very decent season last year in the grand scheme of things. Add a few players and they’d probably push on.