Manchester United 2022/23 - The Reign of ETH

Pot calling the kettle black mate

It basically seems greenwood was replaced by a similar valued player which is fair enough I guess but Iā€™m still not sold.

Just the two Bundesliga titles pal.

Everyone is small to you Dumbledore

Sure, sure.

And with Liverpool?

Financed through the Ā£142 million sale of Philippe Coutinho which rather amazingly is still a Premier League record sale Iā€™d say, 4 and a half years since itā€™s sanction. Remind me again who did ETH have to part with to fund all these recent splurges? Iā€™d say a few pyjamas was about the height of it.

He won our hearts too mate and the net spend trophy
@mickee321 @padjo @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy

You said he won on a restrictive budget.

Having Ā£142m to spend is not a restrictive budget.

Iā€™d rather a manager who is prepared to put the pressure on himself by spending money than a lad not spending so much so he gets an easier time of it

Paul Pogba? No, waitā€¦

He had to sell his best player to fund those two deals.

Thatā€™s club revenue buddy. Itā€™s his budget.

He spent massively to get them across the line.

Youā€™d wonder if lads on here are a bit bemused when they go to trade in a car and find out they canā€™t keep both cars :man_shrugging:

Well when you turn an ā‚¬8 million player into a ā‚¬150 million+ asset you kind of become self sufficient. It was absolutely exceptional and astute financial management.

Are ye still at it lads?

Donny Van De Beek got married during the season? Surely he could have foreseen upcoming fixtures and aimed for the close season. He must have been engaged a while, had the hotel booked before he realised the Qatar World Cup was in December not June and couldnā€™t get a refund on the price.

Ferguson was some genius to win the EPL with his miniscule budget after selling Ronaldo for Ā£95m then. Didnā€™t even have to break world records to do it.

Heā€™s getting married tonight

Rio Ferdinand was the most expensive defender in the world mate.

He wasnā€™t bought after Ronaldo was sold mate.