Manchester United vs Chelsea - Champions League Final

Well that descended into a poor enough game. Wanted everyone to miss in the shootout but that wasn’t going to happen. Hoped Chelsea would sneak it but at the same time I’m happy enough to see Terry fuck it up for them and fuck them loyalist loving pricks anyway.

Fucking fireworks going off in Dublin 5. Only 5 seconds’ worth but still enough to make me cringe.

Dunphy - “Ronaldo bottled it again Bill” - What the fuck??

United sneak a European title again having been the 2nd best in the final. Hate seen Ferdinand win anything but I’d prefer it than Chelsea winning. Also now that chancer of a footballer John O’Shea has a European medal for himself!

Don’t know what to say really only to say that I feel like throwing up…

absolutely sickened…must say the sending off of drogba was a joke(and not a very funny one at that)…

Very weird game as i kept changing my mind over who I wanted to win. In the end when I realised Peter Kenyon was leading Chelsea up the steps I thought to myself that maybe it was the right result.

Better game than I expected though with Chelsea being the better team. I think most neutrals will at least be happy with the two players that missed in each teams first five.
Terry is just scum and I just get the impression that Ronaldo thinks it is all about him now rather than the team. Most of his interviews now seem to be about how he considers himself the best player in the world instead of talking about United being the best team. Even after the final penalty he was lying on his own while the rest of the team celebrated. If United go through a bad patch next season I can see him causing a split in the camp. Maybe that is just wishful thinking though as it’s probably the only thing that can halt Uniteds progression.

Watched a bit of Sky Sports afterwards and they are blaming the nasty foreigners for not being brave enough to take the last penalty, forcing John Terry to step up. Ridiculous stuff.

Also, on RTE durin extra time Ray Houghton came out with “even the crowd don’t know which way this will go”. Do the crowd normally know the outcome of the match before it is finished?

European Champions. Thats what its all about. You dont always get what you deserve but United have won a first competitive penalty shootout and thats all that mattered. Ronaldo was superb. He was always causing problems. His best performance in a big game by far. The penalty he just stopped a second too long and Cech read where he was hitting it. Van der Sar was superb in the shootout. Really unlucky not to have saved Cashleys peno. Class act at the end the United players giving Chelsea a guard of honour while they got their Medals. :wink:

Watch out for the haters Shan. But christ that was amazing. I thought I was going to have a heart attack during it. Fook me. Jaysus. I’m just delighted.

Hate all they want. The history books show that United won the Champions League in 2008. I also was on the verge of death. I have all summer to recover. In work we have to tape the big games. I know what will be going on in the morning. :wink:

I had the option of getting up at 4:30 in the mornin to watch this and decided to get some extra sleep as the thought of either of these teams winning just sickened me. I was up for Chelsea (even though I despise the likes of Ashley and Joe Cole, cheating fooker Drogba and downright dishonest sly coont Lampard) and woke up just in time for the peno shootout. My delight at seeing Ronaldo missing soon turned to despair as the txt messages started to roll in from all the utd supporters.

Anyway, my mate watched the game and said that Ronaldo was outstanding and proved himself to be the best player in the world at the moment(I did point out that Messi looked 10 times better than him on the same pitch a couple of weeks ago but this seemed to go over his head). Also reading on the bbc website he was voted man of the match. However, Craig foster, an SBS analyst, said that Ronaldo had another average game and also Dunphy critised him. I dont really trust any of the above media when it comes to analysis of Ronaldo so can any neutral person here give their views?

GET IN THERE!!! What a night. Beautiful result. Fook Farmer and the rest of the blegrudgers. United were superb in the first half and should have been a couple up. Instead it was one all with the unluckiest, kick in the nads, goal ever. Chelsea were all over us in the second half, but our defending was immense. For all their possession they didn’t create many chances and shot from long range most of the time. Thought we were back in it more in extra time and was delighted to see Drogba sent off for being a wanker. Dunphy is up his hole if he was criticising Ronaldo. He had a fine game and scored a super goal. The penalties were nuts. Can’t believe Ronaldo missed. It was a poor, poor peno. Delighted that Terry missed. Couldn’t have planned it better. And Anelka looked freaked even before he missed. What a beautiful night!

Man Utd- BEST TEAM IN EUROPE. Fact.

was an alright game. Would have preferred Chelsea to win as didnt want to see either club win a double, but in fairness, Utd were the form team all year. Chelsea really should have won it, with Drogba and Lampard hitting the woodwork, and then having the penalty to win it outright. But it couldnt happen to a bigger prick than Terry anyway. he was doing his usual mouthing again, getting at Ferdianand when he won the toss for the penalties. From what I could make out, the ref tossed the coin twices, for which end, and who went first, and seemed that Rio won both.

As for Ronaldo, he had a good game, dont know if I’d have made him man of the match, but he did well enough without setting the game alight. His penalty was poor, and I know it may be his style to do the run, stop and run again, but a top quality keeper will know his movements and not react. It was a poorly struck shot and to an extent, I’d say he bottled it too. Missed his last 2 penalties in very important games. Great header for the goal tho, and showed an aspect of his game that is very underrated. He is very dangerous from crosses and has a good header of a ball.

George Hamilton couldnt tell the time either out there. At one stage he said it was after 4am and then within 5 minutes he said it was after 1am. What the hell was Terry doing taking that penalty anyway, did he just want to be the hero or what? Grant shouldnt have let him near it.

That penalty shootout really could not have gone any better. Ronaldo fooked up and to be honest I wasnt surprised. But then Terry… I left a puddle on the ground I was laughing so hard. He’s a thug, idiot, scumbag, moron, arse wipe of a human being and when he missed, everything in the world seemed right.

http://forums.di.fm/images/smilies/laughing-smiley-004.gifhttp://forums.di.fm/images/smilies/laughing-smiley-004.gifhttp://forums.di.fm/images/smilies/laughing-smiley-004.gifhttp://forums.di.fm/images/smilies/laughing-smiley-004.gifhttp://forums.di.fm/images/smilies/laughing-smiley-004.gifhttp://forums.di.fm/images/smilies/laughing-smiley-004.gifhttp://forums.di.fm/images/smilies/laughing-smiley-004.gifhttp://forums.di.fm/images/smilies/laughing-smiley-004.gifhttp://forums.di.fm/images/smilies/laughing-smiley-004.gif

Terry took the defeat very hard, he refused to believe they had lost and ended up getting violent and then had to be removed by force from the stadium.

http://cache2.asset-cache.net/xc/81191597.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF1933F549535AE5A47FCB6CED7EEDE3457CCE30A760B0D811297

Gerry: Ronaldo was decent but nothing extraordinary or anything. He took his goal well but Essien was sleeping - still a smashing header though. He got past Essien a couple more times and put in one fine cross that Tevez should have buried. He went out of it a bit as the game went on and became more individualistic. He had good legs towards the end but didn’t look like he was interested in creating anything. One unforgivable piece of petulance where he lay on the turf after losing the ball and stayed there after United attacked and only got up when the ball broke to him. Arsehole. Decent game from him but it was no more or no less than that.

His penalty was pure muck too. Shan called it right - he delayed about a second too long which is far too long in the run-up to a penalty kick obviously. Thought he sold where he was putting it completely. Didn’t think Van der Saar was great on the spot kicks at all - should have saved at least one before he got to Anelka’s one.

Terry missing was great craic altogether.

Oh and by the way I thought Drogba could have no complaints about being sent off. Stupid thing to do and while there was no real malice or aggression in the slap he knew he’d get sent off if it was seen.

Sorta felt sorry for Grant as he was walking back down after getting his medal. Doubt he’ll be in charge next season but he did so well this year to haul Chelski back into the title race and get them to the final. True, he looks like a weirdo but maybe he’s not as bad a manager as we all thought he was.

They hit the fucking crossbar and the post.

Ronaldo is some wankstain. I loved the way he didnt run forward to celebrate with Van Der Sar like the rest of the team but intead lay down on the pitch to grab all the limelight himself. This despite the fact that he missed the penalty and was it not for Terry fooking up then he would have been the cause of United losing. Fucking charlatan…

Then I get a text off a bird mate saying how much she loooooooooooves Ronaldo. I hate the media driven hype that surrounds that cunt of a team that is Manchester United…

PS The guy is not fit to lace Messi’s boots…

Looks like a wind up job won’t be too difficult to do on Farmer today.

http://cache2.asset-cache.net/xc/81191334.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF1933F549535AE5A47FC1A3403394B4A396BE30A760B0D811297

I am avoiding all types of media after this post such is my disgust…

Except to say Liverpool have 5 European Cups and 18 leagues

Thank you all…