Marine le Pen

Unbelievable victory from a standing start. The likes of that ape Stephen Donnelly should take note of what can be achieved if you try.

Has she not tripled her vote and quadrupled the number of seats?

Looks like you’re in ignore land of facts sid

The thick oirish micks would never have enough balls to vote for a new party like that.

They might if they got the option.

What is it about my post that is not factual?

8 seats out of 577. Wow. They’re surely on the verge of taking power.

Since last November, right-wing parties in Europe have consistently under-performed their polls and have lost significant amounts of support.

We were promised a “right-wing populist Spring” in Europe in 2017.

It has failed miserably because people have seen from the US what it means in practice - corruption, deeply regressive policies, spectacular idiocy on a grand scale and total incompetence in all areas.

Britain is proving exactly the same thing.

Ignore the facts.

[quote=“Sidney, post:265, topic:23384”]

Since last November, right-wing parties in Europe have consistently under-performed their polls and have lost significant amounts of support. [/quote]

she’s quadrupled the representation and trebled the vote, not losing support

[quote=“Sidney, post:265, topic:23384”]
We were promised a “right-wing populist Spring” in Europe in 2017. [/quote]
by who?

yeah, cos there’s no corruption with lefties :rollseyes:

Politics is a game of expectations, mate.

Ms. Le Pen was expected by many to be French president right now. You know, the third leg of the Brexit-Trump-Le Pen treble. That didn’t quite work out, did it?

Now she can console herself with a grand total of 8 seats out of 577.

Yes, a truly stunning success.

By themselves and their followers.

https://www.ft.com/content/287fefe8-e098-11e6-8405-9e5580d6e5fb

No argument with my assertion that the Trump is a cesspit of corruption, deeply regressive policies, spectacular idiocy on a grand scale and total incompetence in all areas, so.

Thanks.

you have that on both sides in all fairness

In fairness Europe appears to be revulsed by what has happened in the States and has reacted accordingly.

Don’t disagree with that Fagan. le pen has still significantly increased her support. Macron needs to get his house in order early doors or it’ll increase againj.

There has been numerous political parties started in Ireland over the years. Plenty of options.

The thick micks get confused if there is anyone other than Fine Dum and Fianna Dee on the ballot paper.

The French National Front’s vote in the first round of the legislative elections was nearly 2 million votes down on what it got in the 2014 European elections.

It also got 538,000 less votes than it did in the first round of the 2012 legislative elections.

Irish politics summed up

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cjl8OIZijjY

feck all decided in the first round and you know it.

The first round is where actual levels of support are proven.

How else would you go about ascertaining levels of support?

By the end result.

To ascertain support levels, you look at the actual numbers of votes, which is also the end result and the more pertinent one, rather than at seat numbers. And the French National Front’s vote numbers have declined significantly from 2012 and 2014.

UKIP got nearly 4 million votes in the 2015 UK general election and won one seat.

Despite them only getting one seat, it would have been foolish to say they did not attract a significant level of support.

Seat numbers hide the reality - you have to look deeper and look at the actual numbers of votes.

UKIP’s collapse in 2017 to 1/7th of its 2015 level, incidentally, is the classic example of the collapse of the far-right vote across Europe.

Has it collapsed or have center parties drifted right in some cases?

2017 has seen the French political order reshaped. It looks nice and fuzzy that Macron is in charge, but the two others movements who had ruled France both missed the run off for President which consolidated his support. We still saw that the young in France moved substantially to the far left and the far right.

LePen increased her first round of vote numbers from 2012, that doesn’t fit the narrative being put forward here but she did.

UKIP losing votes to both the Tories and the Labour Party proves that it wasn’t just a right wing party in terms of appeal. There are plenty of the left who are frightened of immigration. It is correct to point out that the majority of the parties in 2017 supported Brexit, and controlling immigration. You can hide behind the decline of UKIP, but their policies simply are now the mainstream.