Matters regarding Limerick, Limerick Pubs, No Culture allowed

Cals park

Has been a horrible venue for 30 years. Could not park there for a game. Have to walk up from mallow st

:joy: Itā€™s gotten better - At least Hydeā€™s section has with a nice clubhouse and gates etcā€¦ A cunt of a pitch during winter tho.

Soft bogger cunts couldnā€™t handle a few rocks :joy:

@Julio_Geordio, @myboyblue and @TreatyStones eat your heart out.

Donā€™t have the link here but have you seen the gaa history blog piece on the ground being owned by the gaa and known as canon punch park?

I keep meaning to start a TFK mini series ā€œshit Iā€™ve seen happening on Hyde road on my way home from workā€.
Itā€™s a different world there altogether.

The other day for example there was a cop pulled in on the side of the road talking to this fella, you couldnā€™t hear what the conversation was but you could tell the ā€œcivilianā€ (for want of a better word) was absolutely fucking the cop out of it. Roaring like a lunatic in the window at him.

A couple of weeks ago, a kid came across the road in front of me Tayto from into the west style, above on a horse without even looking to see if a car was coming. Couldnā€™t have been more than ten :grin:

Thereā€™s a block of boarded up houseā€™s about halfway down the road and every day thereā€™s three or four lads sitting outside of it drinking cans where theyā€™ve removed one of the boards covering the door, itā€™s obviously their stash house or something. Itā€™s like something from the wire.

Is it true about April Collins and one her watchers?

I havenā€™t but know a man that probably knows quite a bit about the wider area and GAA in the 20s-50sā€¦actually his thesis has just gone up online Iā€™ll post up a link when I get to a compā€¦ Not solely about sport but Limerick society in the wake of independence.

Limerickā€™s Hamsterdamn

Iā€™d say they were townies, us boggers donā€™t play in the Limerick city league.

Weā€™d a young lad in with us picking up the rocks to bring them back home to make a stone wall to stop the cows going onto our home pitch.

Go onā€¦ isnā€™t her current fella one of the worst scumbags to have terrorised Limerick since her last fella?

We even crossed a border for two seasons to bully the softie townies.

@ciarancareyshurlingarmy

https://dspace.mic.ul.ie/bitstream/handle/10395/2067/Keane%2C%20Thomas%20(2016)%20Class%2C%20religion%20and%20society%20in%20Limerick%20City%201922-1939%20Phd.pdf?sequence=2&isAllowed=y

Thatā€™s quite interesting, Iā€™ve read the first 12 pages and could see myself continuing, heā€™s got a nice personal style of writing, almost conversational.(read the bottom of page 9 and page 10)

Yeah, heā€™s a pensionerā€¦returned to education in his 50sā€¦itā€™s a life time work really.

When I was about 12, we played Hyde in a ā€˜pre-season friendlyā€™. Away.

Wasnā€™t the friendliest affair in the world, we didnā€™t know what to make of the place tbh. The players were all grand enough but we had every one of our footballs stolen by the ā€˜supportersā€™.

And they hammered us 7-2.

Big like for that mouse. Will read it all on hols. Picked the piece on the young munster fusiliers and enjoyed it.

There appears to have been huge differences between ira battalions on social grounds

Itā€™s very interesting stuff alright and his own family feature a bitā€¦like I said, itā€™s a lifetimeā€™s work.

Whatā€™s this I hear about the White House converting to a sports bar?
I quite like the White House for an early few pints on a night in town.

FAO of @mickee321 Man shot nand critically injured by a Garda in the Foynes area.