Matters regarding Limerick, Limerick Pubs, No Culture allowed

Itā€™s needs a chipper walking tour

Between @treatystones and @backinatracksuit we almost know the manā€™s shittinghabits at this stageā€¦be great to see a little icon of him moving about the map alright.

You could go all 1998 and have the website play ā€œYou are my sunshineā€ every time someone opens it

That is fantastic, the crowd over on Boards would probably give you the freedom of the forum for that.
Iā€™ll give that a good once over when Iā€™ve time.
Only trouble is that it doesnā€™t tell you where to get a poncy brunch or an Algerian wheat beer which is what most of the savages who look for info on the city are after.
Kudos to ye.

I posted it on boards if I wasnā€™t bannedā€¦

A page of Tom the Busker jokes would go viral in minutes.

The GlasBrigade would go mad.
Tom doesnā€™t like the gays and some of his jokes might get them riled up.

I saw something amusing the other day, there was a fella who plays the squeezebox very well parked at the corner of Catherine Street and Thomas street, he was banging out a tune that poor old Tom would be 20 years learning the first bar of, who strolled past only the man himself with a face like thunder, I was hoping thereā€™d be a mini turf war but Tom kept going with a sulk up on him.

I genuinely havenā€™t heard Tom play a song in yonks, the last 20+ times Iā€™ve walked past him he was just sitting with the accordion on his knee talking away to someone

Tom is a legend but he is fucking helpless on that yoke.

@ChocolateMice, Iā€™ve just had a good look around that Limerick map, simple but very impressive, Iā€™ll use it some day to have a walk around with my eldest, I hadnt a clue about quite a lot of those places.
I went on a very interesting walk with a historical society that my father in law is half involved with recently. It was led by Liam Irwin whom Iā€™m sure you know and it was along the canal, the Park Danes were an interesting bunch.

Thomond Archaeological Societyā€¦ Yeah Liam is my old mentor, a gas man. Yeah, they were members of the Abbey Fishermen amongst other things.

What was so great about the abbey fisherman ? Was net fishing for salmon in that river not just the equivalent of shooting fish in a barrel.

Well they were around since the 12th century if not earlierā€¦some historians believe they had been fishing the river going all the way back to Celtic Times and their traditions were the last of the Brehon laws to be practiced ā€¦ But yeah, Iā€™m sure they were a shower of cunts.

I saw two of them smoking joints across from the Absolute hotel a couple of weeks back.

They werenā€™t catching much anyway.

You are insulting my in-laws now, watch it Lofty

I believe you would have caught salmon before the likes of Shannon banks was built years ago.

That of course and more importantly Ardnacrusha - that was criminal in ways.

Read about the Battle of the Tailrace, thereā€™s a good article in an old Limerick journal (if youā€™re interested in that kind of thing)

http://www.limerickcity.ie/media/Media,3936,en.pdf

Iā€™d say a decent % of Limerick people were related to them mate.

My in-laws are the same, and possibly my fathers side.

I had a savage meal in Papaā€™z on Denmark street earlier on, spicy brisket sandwich on in house baked ciabatta, and unbelievable sautĆ©ed potatoes,
Iā€™ve eaten from there quite a few times and it never disappoints, great spot if youā€™re a bit hungrier than usual.