Memorable Performances

I have been attending Croke Park since 1956, on the day Purcell destroyed Paddy (Pádraigs father)
Paddy Harrington, enabling Frankie Stockwell amass 2-05 from play. This was the era of teak-tough
full-backs, Mattie Mac & Frank Eivers at midfield, Purcell and Stockwell up front…

I’ve seen them all, Tub McCartan, Sean O’Neill, Tony McTague, Mikey Sheehy, Colm O’Rourke and the rest.

Yesterday Diarmuid Connolly gave a performance that ranks with any of the above. When the need was greatest he delivered. Points off either side, crucial goais, ball-winning, distribution…and held the head.

Outstanding in my book.

[QUOTE=“Boxtyeater, post: 918184, member: 246”]I have been attending Croke Park since 1956, on the day Purcell destroyed Paddy (Pádraigs father)
Paddy Harrington, enabling Frankie Stockwell amass 2-05 from play. This was the era of teak-tough
full-backs, Mattie Mac & Frank Eivers at midfield, Purcell and Stockwell up front…

I’ve seen them all, Tub McCartan, Sean O’Neill, Tony McTague, Mikey Sheehy, Colm O’Rourke and the rest.

Yesterday Diarmuid Connolly gave a performance that ranks with any of the above. When the need was greatest he delivered. Points off either side, crucial goais, ball-winning, distribution…and held the head.

Outstanding in my book.[/QUOTE]
Good to hear, he has immense talent.

[QUOTE=“Boxtyeater, post: 918184, member: 246”]I have been attending Croke Park since 1956, on the day Purcell destroyed Paddy (Pádraigs father)

An outstanding performance, however it will have an asterisk beside it because we are talking about a Mayo team in an All Ireland Final.

When Laois get to an All Ireland come back to us.

Typical snobbery of the landed gentry, pointing to the roll of honour as if it tempers the ability of one person to comment on a matter. My opinion is as valid as that of the next man and you or any other will not shout me down.