Míchaél Ó Muircheartaigh

I’m absolutely charmed to hear that the great man is doing so well and overcome the theft of his gimmick by Francis Brennan.

Head out to tps or krugers in dunquin.

Lovely to listen to micheal o muircheartaigh and con houlihan talk about what made Gaelic games so special.

They both agreed it was the long anticipation for games that made it special. Weeks and weeks of a run in to the game.

Thankfully we have that now as well with a five day turn around usually between games.

Was Micheal originally a Dun Sion or a Dunquin man?

Thought he was from somewhere near Lispole or Annascaul?

Lispole I think but technically he was part of dingle town. Possible it’s different for church purposes and gaa purposes.

I have his book at home and its called from Dun Sion to Croke Park or something similar.

@Big_Dan_Campbell is Joe O’Muireataigh of Clare People and Kieran Devitt infamy a son or a nephew?

Nephew I’m pretty sure

Joe has put a few noses out of joint at the top table of Clare Gaa recently

Possibly not unrelated to Joe getting a suspension last year for barracking a ref

The Eire of delegate stood up and asked for it to be put on record that he was not a member of their club. Things must be frosty

Pretty mad how someone born in Dublin but of Kerry would have had such a grievance with Newmarket but such is life.

Joe doesn’t really cover or involve himself with the hurling, he’d fall out with lads over big ball stuff a lot more. Yer man Devitt wasn’t blameless either

Ah come on, you cant legislate for what is said outside Enzo’s chipper at 2am on a Bank Holiday Sunday morning to be quoted in print in the following weeks Clare People.

If you’re roaring it like an ass there’s a chance it might come back on you

It was gutter journalism.

The Clare People didn’t endure that long after it regardless. There’s a fella likely to do worse in the new paper.

Nephew

I’ve always found the listening to the radio at the match types odd myself. But handy if there’s a fella near you to lean over and say. What do they reckon? Was it a penalty?

Or what’s the score in the other game

He never really did it for me.

Michael O’Hehir was the maestro.