Michelle Smith

I know its a old story etc but Im just curious as to what everyone here thinks about Michelle Smith…do you think she was on drugs in the olympics a few years back?. I was watching a reply of the top 20 moments that shook Irish Sport so thats why im curious so dont give me abuse for setting up the thread!!

A trained and qualified solicitor now, and a very litigious one at that I believe.

Nuff said.

I’m with Gary O Toole and Bill O Herlihy on this one. If it looks like a duck, walks like a duck, and fucking quacks like a duck, its a fucking duck.

you’d have to respect a woman who pisses pure bourbon

[quote=“myboyblue”]A trained and qualified solicitor now, and a very litigious one at that I believe.

Nuff said.

I’m with Gary O Toole and Bill O Herlihy on this one. If it looks like a duck, walks like a duck, and fucking quacks like a duck, its a fucking duck.[/quote]

she was quacking alright. that kind of form from no where and her husbands past record. hard to think otherwise

I think she was clean for the duration of the olympics, as I suppose is obvious as she was being tested 2-3 tiems a day at on stage. What happened in the lead up to the olympics is anybodies guess.

However, the one thing that she has going for her is that her times inany of the four finals that she swam in would not have got her withing an asses roar of a medal in Bejing let alone even into the finals. The times from the womens swimming that year were stink.

Some quailty lines coming out here lads.

I am with Cathal Dervan and Jimmy Magee on this and believe she is innocent, if for no other reason that both of them are such pillars of sense.

No seriously.

In the words of Tommy Tiernan, she was so drugged up that Cian O’Connor could have got up on her and still would have won gold.

[quote=“HangBlaa”]I think she was clean for the duration of the olympics, as I suppose is obvious as she was being tested 2-3 tiems a day at on stage. What happened in the lead up to the olympics is anybodies guess.

I watched her in Barcelona when it was like watching a person drown she was that far off the pace.

O Toole says she disappeared for months on end, turned up at a meet then, and took off like a powerboat. He said her physique had changed immeasurably in a matter of months, all during a period when she wasn’t competing, and as a result, wasn’t being tested. He said these changes were impossible then, now and even in the future for a woman of her age.

Whether she was clean or not for the Olympics is not the point. All that happened at the Olympics was that she didnt test positive for what they were testing her for.

I’m with O Toole on this one.

She wasn’t caught so she won those medals fair and square, it’s only a foul if the ref blows the whistle, just cause she was caught afterwards doesn’t mean that she was doing it before or she was doing anything different to the rest of the swimmers out there

A bit like the way Tipp are munster U21 champions this year.

innocent untill proven guilty. I agree with O Toole in the way he says she couldnt possibly have improved so much, but then again she was never proven during the olympics so nobody knows except the woman herself.

Was a bit disappointed in O’Toole that he didn’t have the guts to say this at the time and more disppointed in RT that they instructed him to keep quiet.

Her whole training programme was a cheat but I wouldn’t be too quick to claim she was clean for the duration the Olympics either. There’s massive amounts of evidence to support the view that you can be on plenty of stuff and not get caught when you’re tested. Riccardo Ricco conceded this after he was caught during the Tour de France this year and said he should have tested positive after every stage so it was odd that he didn’t.

Jimmy Magee should be put down and Cathal Dervan should be killed more painfully for continuing to push the notion that this woman did anything positive for sport in Ireland. Since doping was made illegal Ireland has won 5 gold medals at the Olympics - before disqualifications. Of those 4 were won illegaly. I wonder can any other country match our 80% shame rate. Fucking disgrace.

She did like fuck win them fair and square. They’re tainted, she’s tainted, Irish sport is forever tainted.

Fair and square my arse. Ask Allison Wagner how fair and square she thought it was.

Ireland is becoming known as a country of cheats now since smith,cian o connor now denis lynch-even if he didnt do it on purpose he should have had the cop on to realise the horse would be tested till the cows came home. The boxers have brought some integrity back to irish olympians.

Lady Swimmer: Doctor Doctor, my medication seems to be having some side effects

Doctor: Lets have a look, yes some chest hair is a common side effect, you’ll just have to wax

Lady Swimmer: Yeah but its growing all over my balls as well

Exactly, when you are looking at the results in a few years back there won’t be a * or a little note saying Clare were robbed, it’ll just say that Tipp won, some people may bring up the facf of the events that took place, but they still won it

Back around 10 years ago I was working in a bank in Dublin: Michelle Smiths younger sister came in on work experience. Think around the time Michelle was caught with the whiskey in the jar and we were all hauled in before her sis started and told that we couldn’t bring it up with her. What followed was 2 months of the girl being shunned in fear of bringing it up. I felt for her at the time.

Met Michelle Smith last year through work, I was contracting with the court service at the time. Found her to be very nice, had a 2 minute chat with her over a matter and had a couple of giggles with her.

Was she guilty, fook yeah, but never caught. As was said earlier, you play the whistle.

Eh she was caught though. She wasn’t caught during the Olympics but if she takes any pleasure form those medals now that the world knows what was going on then she’s a fucked up egomaniac. And if anyone else takes any sort of pride in it they’re deluded.

I find it astonishing that Irish people are still content to celebrate these medals. Dont they know how the outisde world looks at us now? How we’ve been tainted forever as a result of these peoples actions? We are now a Country who cheats,and cheats badly, these people have sullied our good sporting name, yet some people are content to ignore this, and stick their heads in the sand. Dervan and Magee should be ashamed of themselves.

Are Stephen Roche’s victories tainted? Is the gold that the Romanian that beat Sonia O’Sullivan taineted? Are Lance Armstrong’s victories tainted? 50 years ago there proberly wasn’t any such thing as sports psycology, now it’s the bees knees, do sports people now have an unfair advantage? How about improved technologies?

As far as I can see it, you play the rules, all the best sports people in every sport bend the rules as far as they can. The guy who won the first marathon had brandy and amphetamines while taking part in the race, is his medal tainted?

Think us Irish are being hard on ourselves (and rightly so). Look at the olympic medals tally thoughout the years and how many should/could you take away from the likes of China, USSR, East/West Germany, Finland, USA, Canada etc etc etc. This was, and still is, going on. Lads on here putting Smith down are right in one way, but so to should, say for instance, the three Chinese “chicks” that beat Sonia O’Sullivan into 4th place back in Barca; they had to be on something…