Missing People In Ireland

It was the absolute first thing that entered everyone’s head was poor Tina Satchwell when they heard the news I’d say. Must have been the first thing the gardai thought as well. They must be playing mind games.
Even if it’s her, it’s hard to see how there’s enough evidence to convict.
From the pulp fiction I’ve read, it can be very hard to tell a female skeleton from a male, but they must have suspected right at the start that it might be her.

Hopefully whoever did it will mentally crack or be caught via DNA etc, but if its a close relative DNA is out the window

On a separate note her own family are loopers, we ran ( bouncers) a club in Fermoy(SG1) and some of her male relations were absolute toerags

Just read jewellery also found with clothing

Not sure if serious :thinking: :confused: :neutral_face:

They’re fuckin around with the chief suspects head I think, police forces all over regularly give out false information

Another wonderful result for the gardai missing persons bureau :roll_eyes:

Family told missing son's remains found 25 years ago

Slightly misleading headline there. John Doe scooped outta the ocean after 3 weeks with DNA testing unable to find a match. Not the guards’ fault it took 25 years for technology to confirm an identity.

First DNA conviction in Ireland was nearly 25 years ago. Methinks they could’ve gone back a long time before now

According to the article they tested a few times and as recently as the 2010s I think.

Correct. On the face of it, AGS can be cleared of any negligence here.

Some closure for the family at least

Drew Harris 1
Foley 0

:roll_eyes:

Gardai reveal man missing for 25 years was actually found weeks after his disappearance
Denis Walsh was 23 when he vanished after walking out of his home in Caherdavin, Co Limerick

BY DAVID RALEIGH
17:52, 8 FEB 2021
0_I210208_144706_390516oTextTRMRMMGLPICT000228189902o.jpg
A file photograph of Mary and Denis Walsh from Caherdavin, Limerick holding a photo of their son Denis who at the age of 23 went missing in1996. (Image: Liam Burke Press 22)
Sign up to FREE email alerts from Irish Mirror - The Top Stories Daily From Across Ireland
Enter email
When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.
The heartbroken family of a man missing for the past 25 years have been told by gardai his now-identified remains were found in 1996 – a few weeks after he disappeared.

Denis Walsh was 23 when he vanished after walking out of his home in Caherdavin, Co Limerick, for what was the final time on March 9 that year.

For the past quarter of a century, Mr Walsh’s parents, Denis Snr and Mary, have made appeals for information and even travelled abroad to follow up on a number of reported sightings.

But Mr and Mrs Walsh said they were visited by two members of An Garda Siochana over the weekend who informed them detectives had received confirmation that human remains found in 1996 belong to their son.

When members of the family went to visit their local Garda station on Saturday, they were told there was no further information at that time.

I210208_144706_390516oTextTRMRMMGLPICT000228189904o.jpg
8/2/2021 Story David Raleigh. A file photo of Limerick man Denis Walsh jr(23), Caherdavin, Limerick who had been missing since 1996. A body found over 25 years ago has been identified recently as Denis Walsh jr. Photograph Copied Liam Burke Press 22(Image: Liam Burke Press 22)
RELATED ARTICLES
Gardai investigate as bodies of man and woman found at house in Co Cavan
Ireland weather: Met Eireann forecast snow as warnings issued and dangerous conditions set to hit
A Garda spokesman said: “On March 9, 1996, Mr Denis Walsh, Caherdavin, Limerick, was reported missing to gardai at Mayorstone Park Garda station in Limerick. The missing person investigation file remained open until now.

“In April 1996, an unidentified body was recovered off Inis Mor, Aran Islands, Co Galway. This unidentified body was taken to the Mortuary in UCHG.

“Bodily samples were taken and forwarded to the forensic science laboratory in an effort to identify the deceased.

“These samples were examined in July 2008, March 2011 & June 2017, with negative results for a match.

“On February 5, 2021, gardai in Mayorstone were notified of a positive match following advances in DNA.

“The remains were positively identified from reference samples from both parents as that of Mr Walsh. The family have been notified.”

A file photograph of Mary and Denis Walsh from Caherdavin, Limerick holding a photo of their son Denis who at the age of 23 went missing in1996. (Image: Liam Burke Press 22)
Mr Walsh’s heartbroken parents said they have further questions as they try to come to terms with the news.

They are awaiting information on the whereabouts of their son’s remains and whether they are full or partial.

Mr Walsh was remembered at his local church over the weekend and his parents are continuing to pray for his body to be returned to them as soon as possible to allow them to organise a funeral service and finally lay him to rest.

Speaking yesterday Denis Walsh Snr said he and his wife have been left “shocked” by the news, but they were “also happy” their son had been found.

DON’T MISS

Gardai suspect man and woman found dead at Cavan house may have been accidentally poisoned

9 items that might be laying around your house that could make you a fortune

Met Eireann issues immediate 24-hour snow warning to six counties with up to 5cm forecast
He added: “We’re bewildered by the whole thing; we have suffered enormously for the past 25 years and I haven’t slept over the past three nights.

“We still don’t know where his remains are.

“If Denis was found in April 1996, that’s only a month after he went missing, so were the dental records checked?

“We have been going around for 25 years looking for Denis. We went to Cork, Kerry, Dublin, Fermanagh, England. I’m happy Denis has been found.”

Mike Walsh, a brother of the deceased, said the family were “trying to process all of this information”.

He added: “I’m a bit numb. We are definitely pleased Denis’s body was found; now the constant thinking and wondering is over, and we have something [tangible] to work with.”

Gardai have been asked for further comment surrounding Mr Walsh’s remains.

Follow @irishmirror

Garda made a right fuck up of it

I remember this fella. We’d play football at the side of caherdavin school and you’d see him pacing past. The talk at the time was he’d gone off to Amsterdam and taken everything he could lay hand on. Came back and wasnt fully right again from it including one side of his face, the muscles giving way.

Glad his poor old parents have closure and can bring his remains to a family grave.

I’m not so sure about that mate, and I’d be wary of making a comment like that without knowing the case in detail. They tested the DNA a number of times over the years, and didn’t give up on it.

My auld lad would know the family and case very well. I texted him last night about it. He said he will “fill me in some day”. All he could say for the moment was that it was very sad, but he was glad they got some closure.

Lads remarking about the technology. It was the same for Gussie Shanahan. They’d his hip bone 20 odd years too but whatever tech advancement only came in the last couple of years and so was able to identify it as him.

Both Gussie and this lad from about 500m apart. Mad two families so close pining for so long only for this tech to bring some closure for both

Maybe I’m wrong but let’s be honest not many went missing within that time frame of him missing and the body being found in our small country, smacks of nothing being joined up at the time, irrespective of DNA then or now.
Gardai didn’t do much investigation obviously, we’re a small nation and at that time surely not many ppl went missing so feck it I just find it amazing that the law didn’t contact family at the time ref identification etc etc, something lacking

Do you know that was the case or are you only guessing?