Missing People In Ireland

Specifying by the road.

Nowt in voicemail. I think he was just returning a missed call to a pal and said talk to you tomorrow or something. Was nothing sinister in the log onto the computer either. Cant remember exactly now but it wasnt of any relevance. He had gone into the office to collect his umbrella and had a cup of tea with a security guard or something while he was there.

Was there something about Trevor Deely meeting a woman In Canada. Did he use phone or computer in office. Surprising they did not use mobile phone to track him/triangulate last moments

If you threw a body into river or canal around that area I imagine it would have been found/washed ashore

Hed gone out there on holiday to meet some girl he had met in ireland. Think cops went over there and covered it off.

Family were v annoyed with cops I think over the phone issue. I think it rang for a few days after he went missing before it died which they dont think it would have done it if was in the water. The Joe O Reilly case was around the same time was it? And cops were able to pinpoint where his phone was at the time of the murder I think then. So unusual if they couldnt have done it in this case.

Alaska

The phone rang for days after, if he went into the water with it, it wouldn’t have rang.

He met your one in Ireland while she was doing a bit of traveling here and they kept in contact after she returned to Alaska. She said all of a shot he either turned up in Alaska unannounced or told her he was coming out of the blue. Either way she told the guards nothing came of it and he seemed to think there was something there, a bit of romance in the air. He returned to Ireland after.

For a fella to just take off on a whim to Alaska like that would tell you he hadn’t much fear of traveling somewhere far flung and it suggests he was very willing to escape his (mundane?) life in Ireland. It would be lovely to think he just disappeared and made his way to Fiji or somewhere where he lives happily operating his beach side coconut bar.

Plenty Irish backpackers travel to Fiji - no matter where you’d go in the world you’ll always meet a Paddy who’d know someone you’d know or a relation etc etc I’d say it’s safe to say Deely is dead

OK Fiji was a bad example. There must be a few places in the world with very few Irish. Guatemala, Suriname, Western Sahara, China to name a few.

You could live away in London and no one would ever spot you if you wanted to, you could live a totally different life and cut yourself off altogether, I often toy wit the idea, only for my parents I would have done it long ago

He would want to have it well planned. To avoid detection probably need a fake passport etc. A nice thought as right compared to the other options.

Iv read a fair bit about it over the years and dont even have a theory as to what might have happened him. Like BT said above, drunk driver who panicked maybe but you need a huge convergence of things to happen for that not to be detected, bad enough luck to be knocked down, but then to be knocked down by someone hard nosed enough to put you in the boot and dispose of the body in such a way there never again to be a trace of you. And even if you accepted that could have happened (which it could) for nobody to see you, for no trace of an accident (blood on a road, broken glass, skid marks etc) is a huge outside shot.

One of the biggest unsolved mysteries of our generation I think. Doubt we will ever know at this stage unfortunately.

No drunk driver would have the presence of mind to dispose of a body and not get caught.

That’s clearly coming from a man touching his mobile phone screen with experience.

Two pints is legally ‘drunk’ but I know lads who’ve played Junior B championship with that in their system.

When i was 15 I took the auld fellas car for a spin to a bush drinking party. Didn’t I clip the sisters cat coming in home and left half of it behind as I tried to hide the evidence.

+1. Walter Mitty stuff from yer man.

Would love to see Austin stack join the missing persons list . His bleating hyena act is beginning to grate, time he took a trip to the boxing maybe

Would Larry Murphy have been at large and operating in the area?

He just vanished into thin air in the middle of a capital city. I wonder did some lunatic just bundle him into a car, take him off somewhere and kill him before disposing of his body. Someone with an insatiable desire to murder someone and Trevor was in the wrong place at the wrong time. Let’s say your man never felt the need to murder again after it and will take it to the grave with him. However grim that reality is there must be a slim chance it is what happened. Still I hold out hope he is alive and well running a coconut bar in a tropical paradise.

Larry Murphy?

Philip Cairns family aren’t very pleased with Gareth