Totally
Thatâs the headline alright.
Thatâs exactly what Iâd be wondering, Iâve seen it a few times where someone has gone in the innocently break up something and next thing you have a parent roaring about a child being shoved/assaulted
Like two women bating the shite out of each other after the pubs close on Parnell St. Youâre safer letting someone else sort it out.
Youâre supposed to have a certain amount of adults around so that no child is ever left alone with an adult, youâd hope theyâll get to the bottom quickly
Heard of a situation recently where the fella who coaches in the local club approached a gang of youths who were kicking into a goal but the pitch was closed. Got some cheek so tried to run them, one of the young lads, 15 accused him of squaring up to him and wanting to box him, the fella called the cops straight away to get statements to clear himself.
Any of us going around on the underage circuit for a few years have seen a lot. I know I have anyway. I once witnessed two teams line up to do the hurl tap shite at the end of the game, where one lad popped to the end of the line, waited for the last lad to pass and flaked him across the back with a hurl. I had to hold the victims dad (a fellow coach) back from going after him. Thereâd been aggro between the two lads during the game and the young lad figured he had a bit to give back yet.
Iâm not condoning what went on here, the headline is dreadful to read and you simply cant lay hands on any child.
two teams line up to do the hurl tap shite at the end of the game,
the worst fucking shite that the GGA have brought in. ask the kids why they are doing it and they havent a clue. something being done for the sake of being done for the right reason, but is making it worse. Adding to that then is the elbow and hurl tap since covid just to make a situation even worse. Lads and girls at the end of a game being able to give dunts to their opponents. Fucking ridiculous stuff. Shake fucking hands if ye want to do it, but do it at the start if ye want to make a deal of it. this shite at the end when a team has lost and one has won just gives them a chance to get revenge rather than âgive respectâ.
Aye, weâve gone back to the hand tap. Elbows and hurls, where the fuck would you be going. An abomination. And its going on at U13/15/17 also, jesus its mental shit when you have those sort of hormones going on also.
Rewarding someone for throttling a kid is wrong
Letâs hear just what type of kid weâre dealing with first
Shaking hands, whether win or lose, at the end of the match is a tradition I like and want to see kept.
shaking hands is fine, if the kids know why they are doing it. Problem is, they arent shaking hands, hitting hurls and hitting elbows is not shaking hands, and lining them up to do it and they not knowing why.
Jaysus
Nothing wrong with shaking hands. Shake hands with your opponents.
Lining every player up in a line to shake hands is a recipe for disaster. I shook hands with my direct opponent in nearly every game I played. I didnt need to do it with the other 14-20 lads also.
Hey, just because he plays spud hockey you cant automatically assume the worst
Weâve one lad who uses it to get his final sledging in. âYouâre shit⌠Youâre shit⌠Youâre crapâŚâ you can see it driving the other teams mental. I wouldnt mind but heâs hardly the most effective lad on the pitch. Great fella for disappearing. Its happened a few times and we talk to him but he just cant help himselfâŚ
As a coach isnât it your responsibility to ensure the players know why and how to carry out a pre post game activity if its mandated by the GAA.
Lookit lads, line up tap hurleys and move on. Like this. No messing etc.
Absolutely. Iâm happy any boys or girls I coach know what is going on. But its nearly gone to a chant with them that they just all say âgood game, well doneâ. Which isnt a bad thing, but they are kids too. And like Juhy says above, you can do and say all you want with some kids, but youâll always get some little chap who doesnt give a fuck. And I cant legislate for what some other coach does with their team.
If someone acts the bollox consistently speak to the parents and discipline them by missing matches. None of this is rocket science
Lookit lads, line up tap hurleys and move on. Like this. No messing etc.
Thats a lovely fantasy world you live in.
as I said, Iâm happy enough with kids I coach. Any incident we have had had has been with opponents either hitting or like Juhy said, taunting or giving abuse. I cant do anything about other players or coaches.