More Things That Are Wrong, just plain wrong

You need to talk to Bressie

Go on to the tales from the brothel thread. Might ease the tension

Bressie is a scumbag exploiting people once again with this show.

Mario Rosenstock just interviewed Keith Duffy as miriam o callaghan. That was one of the less horrific moments of the show.

Bressie had another show on RTE last year manipulating vulnerable kids in Limerick. His a disgrace, and a sickening individual.

Going back to work tomorrow after three weeks off.

The Big Bang Theory

Itā€™s very popular wuth the kids. It probably just flies way under your head.

There are far worse shows out there

Watched the first episode. Was worth sitting through just for his Ray Dā€™Arcy evisceration

So as soon as you get some criticism, you make changes to appease your critics. The ultimate conformist.

That doesnā€™t make it good though? Whatever it had is long gone now. Thereā€™s not a decent sitcom out there really at present, even Modern Family appears on the wane. Mom is quite edgy for what it is, but itā€™s very female oriented.

A fella I used to work with a few years ago will this Thursday be handing himself in to a prison to start a six year jail term. What would ye do on Wednesday if that was any of ye, on your last day of freedom? Iā€™ve been thinking of that this evening.

He pleaded guilty to some charge along the lines of grevious bodily harm with a foreign object or something like that. I think they were going to charge him with attempted murder and he was looking at a stretch of 15-20yrs had he pleaded not guilty and lost. So this was the deal with the six years, put your hand up and take your medicine.

Now for those who are still reading ye are probably wondering why I seem to feel sorry for someone who tried to murder someone else. Well here is the background. On the night in question my buddy (letā€™s call him Paddy) had been drinking all day at a pub with friends and was bollixed from drink. He left on his own about 9pm. He ran into some other punter in the street (it was a quiet village) and whatever happened there was some argument. The story Paddy told was your man was arguing with his girlfriend, possibly jostling with her in the street but certainly shouting and swearing at her. Your one storms off and whatever happens then the two boys are getting into it. I suppose Paddy didnā€™t like the way your man treated a woman and your man was riled up and needed no invitation to fight.

Now Paddy is harmless and the last chap you would expect to start a fight. Hes only a small fella too. A few years before this he was actually assaulted himself in the street on a night out and was hammered. His friends used to tell me he was seriously never right in the head after it and Iā€™d believe it. He wasnā€™t all there but really he was harmless. He had a distrust of strangers after and became fairly reclusive preferring his own company. He was always sound to me, I travelled in a car with him a few times and drank in a small group of work colleagues with him a few times.

So heā€™s in the street now and he has your man down and he has a brick in his hand and has hit him in the head, maybe more than once. Your mans girlfriend has run back and intervened. Ambulance called, guards called. Thereā€™s more than one witness seeing Paddy hammering your man into the head with the brick. Your man had some facial injury but lived to tell the tale.

Whatever way Paddy snapped I have no doubt he was remembering the situation where he was the victim in the assault and decided fuck this I could be killed here and I wonā€™t let that happen, or I wonā€™t let this fella hammer me like the last guy did. Im not going to be the victim again. I have no doubt he was terrified and also wary of his own physical limitations in a fight. And then with the brick he obviously went too far. He had no previous convictions for anything. He had a good job, really lucky in his job because he had recently been promoted to a very handy number with good money and I think it was to do with his loyalty as much as anything as he had been with the same company all his adult life. He had a mortgage on an apartment on the outskirts of the city. All that is gone now and he is facing into six years of jail time from Thursday. I know he shouldnā€™t have had a brick beating a fella but I just think heā€™s incredibly unlucky and his life circumstances have conspired against him in the most unfortunate way possible. Six years! He didnā€™t kill or rape anyone, no previous convictionsā€¦

Could happen to anyone. The lesson is to not get shitfaced on your own out in public. Bad things can happen and you have no ability to control the outcome. If he were reasonably sober, unless the other guy was beating up the girl, he would have walked on by. Itā€™s a really tough life lesson but never interfere in a domestic dispute unless itā€™s literally to save a life. Men in particular completely lose their ability to reason when arguing with a woman.

To be honest if you hit a lad over the head with a brick a few times you are doing well to get just a grievous bodily harm conviction. I donā€™t care how pissed you are.

Agreed though you can be awful unlucky with a few on you. This guy murdered was a few years ahead of me in school. http://www.irishtimes.com/news/man-22-jailed-for-life-for-dublin-murder-1.831941

A custodial sentence is used as a detterent or if someone is likely to commit the crime again.

If this lad has no previous, hasnā€™t been in trouble since and unlikely to repeat it then what good is putting him away. A detterent?

Madness what he did, crazy, but heā€™s probably regretting it every hour he is alive. Itā€™s probably eating him up.

Suspended sentence for me. Fuck up again and your gone!

Put him away and the state is ruining a life. Give him a chance and he will probably repay it ten fold by coercing every young fella in the town to calm down and go home when there is a hint of a row at the chipper.

We have all old heads now.

Who hasnā€™t thrown a box in their life. Imagine the lad falls back, hits his head, dies and youā€™re locked upā€¦not worth thinking about.

In fairness, thereā€™s miles of difference between a slap and a fella falls backwards and cracks his skull and holding a fella down on the ground and bashing his face with a brick.
Suspended sentence for that level of aggressive behavior is a bit mild.

Last Man on Earth is worth a watch. And what about Silicon Valley? Thatā€™s very excellent.

Cyber Monday. As if the Brack Friday Bunduru wasnā€™t bad enough.

Yes, Iā€™d forgotten about Silicon Valley, that is very good tbf. Is LMOE the one with Rob Lowe? Iā€™ve been meaning to give that a go.