Motorways driving

Probably got done at the bend in Banogue.

Yep, think that was it mate.

He was in the back seat (my life partner was up front) and he was annoying me with some waffle about the 18th century or something and I was distracted. In fairness, he should have paid the fine alright, but I’m not sure if I ever told him.

I wouldn’t mention it now mate.

Don’t say a word to him, would cause ructions if he ever found out

Speed Van was in it the usual spot in Feohanagh as I was passing through Saturday morning.

Grrrr

In fairness, he was in the middle of a PhD and probably couldn’t even afford the bus down. He probably told Mrs O’Sullivan he was getting a chauffeur down

Katie Boveniser’s gate. ‘Someone’ may or may not have tipped a trailer load of rubble there, you know, not on purpose or anything like that.

Didn’t the same happen on the Mitchelstown side of Galbally? A popular speed van location suddenly had a round bale landed in it

I was tipping down the M7 on a misty mid-week morning about a fortnight ago, going a handy 125-130ish westbound through the Nenagh junction, when I noticed in my wing mirror a white and orange blob coming down the slip-road to my left. I eased off to sit at a highly pedantic 119kph, and watched contentedly as a Cór Tráchta SUV passed me by and returned back into the slow lane ahead.

We continued in this formation on towards Birdhill. With the Silvermines looming in the murk to my left, I noticed another whitish blob in my wing-mirror, sitting in the fast lane and rapidly gaining on me from behind. Seconds later a silver BMW X-something whizzed past, lurching from side to side in the lane in a manner that suggested the driver was otherwise engaged - perhaps on their cellular device, perhaps even enjoying that morning’s terrific banter on the Rugby World Cup Thread on TFK, for all I know.

I waited for him to cop the cops just ahead on the road and for the the spray to turn red with the glow of his brake lights… I waited… and waited… but there was no reaction. At the very last minute, the indicator on the Cór Tráchta SUV starts flashing and the guards just glide languidly across into the fast lane, into the path of the oncoming BMW.

Yer man slams on the brakes - I didn’t hear it, but I’d like to imagine he gave them a little dart of the horn as well - before the blue flashers come on and both coppers and coppees slide into the hard-shoulder, into my rear-view mirror and into the mist.

Hopefully he let you off with a warning @FatChops.

There’s checkpoints all over the place

1. confirm the true speed against that shown on the dash for 100km, 120km and 125km against a phone app.

2. use cruise control

3. drive smugly and boringly as you listen to joe Duffy on the wireless

That was very well told. It was like we were there on the motorway with you

Aren’t they all👍

Big one on the M7 North just past Roscrea yesterday. A fucker with a speed camera just past the M7/M8 merge about 15 minutes further on.

There’s been 3 on the n25 in Cork the last 3 days. They were there this morning and last night, pulling in the same place. Impounded one of the lads cars coz his tax was out 3 months

17 or 18, not sure of the exits, the one for O’Moore Park

The one that has the hotel?

No, that’s still there and has a petrol station gone in. Pat is building a monster the south side of the junction.

+1. The sweat was rowling out of me here with my toes curled up. The mists on the Silvermines had the touch of the Donal Ryan’s to it.