Motorways driving

Work took me up and down Phibsborough Rd there for a while and I’d say three Bank Holiday Fridays in a row they were there just below McGowans stopping traffic heading northbound, I was heading southbound (sober as a judge anyway) each time.

Did a year off it after I was diagnosed with the haemo and another 6 months after that. But life is too short in fairness

I fell foul of a very stringent Garda recently at a checkpoint and was not happy at all. They may be under some pressure to get stats up in the face of all the publicity about lads getting chopped up and nobody getting done for it…

I’d nearly expect them to be stringent when it comes to fellas chopping up other fellas.

I had a car impounded because the tax was 3 months out of date. Just 3. I had a post half-written to upload to the seething thread but deleted it because of how angry the replies might have made me. It was a tough night but I’m Zen now.

Don’t read the Travellers thread tonight or it might tip you over the edge.

Drove from Dublin to Tralee in the teeming rain yesterday and from Tralee to Waterford today with a stop off in Killarney to visit a relative. Adare is a no-no until after the Ryder Cup and I diverted to Rourkes Cross and then over to Newcastle West. It was nice seeing places that I only ever heard about on tfk but I forget all the names. I can only remember Feohanagh. In fairness rural Limerick has some of the ugliest bungalows in the country. I passed a cluster of 4 or 5 of them in some place called something like Rathfredagh that made me laugh they were so bad.

Other than that the Sourhern ring road and Jack Lynch tunnel and then the East Cork parkway must be the best piece of road infrastructure in the country.

You must have took a wrong turn at Lees Cross and ended up in Rathkeale.

I’m struggling to understand this route.

Yeah. He put at least 30km onto himself

He’s usual struggles with technology. I’m sure he re-adjusted the settings in the sat nav as he knows better.

This is the route in broad brush

In the context of your post it sounded like that was the route you took from Killarney to Waterford.

Its was still a wicked long detour. You’d have been as well going out the N69.

I might be wrong here, but I’m wondering how you’d end up in Feoghanagh from O’Rourkes cross to NCW, wouldn’t you have to go through Drom? The Bruff line seems more direct

You wouldnt go through feonagh or drom coming from the cross.

If you came by buttevant you would

This was the diversion route that the Council signposted. It would have been grand if I hadn’t got stuck behind first a tractor and then a creamery lorry

Ah yes, there are road works in Adare at the moment I think.

You can still go through Adare but you’d want your head examined to be doing that.

Did you go by NewcastleWest on the way down or the way back?

I got a call from a relative who was ahead of me on the road to avoid it at all costs.

Down.