Motorways driving

I certainly will give out about the cost not to hypothetical about it at all. We all have bad habits, also a lot of people seem not to be aware of some basic rules of the road so would be a good refresher. It wont deter some folk who would blatantly break the law, no tax insurance nct and all that. Garda enforcement definitely required. Its funny when driving in the US, i noticed everyone was driving 80/90 mph on the hiway with a limth of 55mph. I asked the locals what the story was as there was cops parked up on the road and driving among traffic. I was told they only pull you if you are driving like an asshole

What gets me, and I simply cannot understand it, is seat belt wearing, or non-wearing in this case. I’m an old fart and I’m from a generation who absolutely wore seat belts. My auld boy didn’t, but even in the last 20 years he did. And with modern cars beeping at you if you were to forget, or someone clips out by accident, how in the name of Jaysus is this still happening??

There are lads who will cut buckles from old cars to fit into the belt holders.

I couldn’t drive now without one. Habit

yes, why lower speed limits where VRU are

@maurice_brown is such a shill for big auto - maybe just stop killing kids mate & stop victim blaming

The forgotten history of how automakers invented the crime of “jaywalking” - Vox

aT aLL sPEEDS

No one is disputing reductions in urban areas. National roads and motorways are for cars you shouldnt be walking on one them

You have way too much time on your hands mate…really…I make a point based on witnessing people taking dangerous short cuts thru safety barriers put in place for pedestrians safety, avoiding the legal and safe road crossings provided for them where automobiles must stop, for their safety, and you call me a kid killer…
Try something else mate…you are tiresome at this stage.

using a term created by American car companies to victim blame says a lot about your mindset

Calling me a kid killer says a lot about yours too.

a post about reducing speed & you talk about VRU behaviour

30km/h in all urban areas shouldn’t really be argued against

Limerick is unreal for it

In dense urban areas yes, 100%. But suburban roads and even the roads in towns vary massively. Like there are current roads in towns (I’ll use Tipp town as an example as I’m familiar with it) where the limit is 50kph and, to me, driving at 50 on the Main Street would be downright dangerous.

But, other urban areas, like the N3 example I used earlier, would easily take 60kph

Common sense really

People shouldn’t be walking on major roads. Drivers shouldn’t be speeding in built up areas.

What was the story with the car design @carryharry. I found it difficult to listen to the news or read about so I just had to turn off. Were the roads slippy after rain or something?

Finland set their speeding fines based on a percentage of your salary

Was a soft top convertible is what I heard. Can’t confirm that tbh