Doubt Bradley would take a secondary position at Munster but think that might be the best move for him. McGahan has done very well alright - still a bit of a risk because he doesnāt have much head coach pedigree behind him but he seems talented at any rate.
Dunno if a backs coach with someone like Musnter would be a step down from Connacht though would it? I think Bradley would be a fool not to take such an offer if it came along. Heās obviously going nowhere with Connacht, the Munster job has come and gone twice, and Leinster and Ulster once each, and heās got none of them. Time to try something different. Could do worse than to make a name for himself as a backs coach at Munster, worked ok for Gaffers at Leinster.
pride is the only thing that would stop him taking the backs coach job. Asst manager at Man U or manager at Norwich. I know what id pick
Exactly Gaffney and McGahan have shown that the best way forward on the coaching ladder is to get involved with a successful province. Achieving moderate results at a substandard team doesnāt hold water when the bigger provinces are appointing someone, unless you make a real difference like Gatland did.
Right thats solved it then, someone get onto Bradley and get the ol Con connections going for him and get him into Munster.
Big rumours doing the rounds on the tour down under that Fast Eddie is going to Leicester, bet Geordan would have loved to hear thatā¦
bradley could well become oart of the irish set up yetā¦but i wouldnt mind seeing him come in to the munster back teamā¦interesting to see who takes over the forwardsā¦seamus will be a huge loss herā¦
Axel would be ideal for the forwards, but its too soon for him yet, he needs to serve his time with the U20ās.
[quote=āmyboyblueā]Right thats solved it then, someone get onto Bradley and get the ol Con connections going for him and get him into Munster.
Big rumours doing the rounds on the tour down under that Fast Eddie is going to Leicester, bet Geordan would have loved to hear thatā¦[/quote]
Mark my words and I am on the records on AFR as saying this, despite all the shite talking about Eddie (and I acknowledge he outstayed his welcome in the irish job) he is a good coach and he will do a good job iin his next job.
Not sure tigers would be the right fit for him but Id like to see him back at the top level again. he lost touch with the coaching thing a little bit by being away from the coalface a bit too long and only coaching for a limited number of days a year, he is an innovator though and a battler and that will take hiom a long way.
Depsite all the criticism driven by the media namely Ciaran Cronin et al I have yet to hear any of the players come out criticising him, maybe I missed it but I am not aware of it. he stayed too long and he didnt give everyone a fair crack of the whip but I dont think he lost the dressing room despite what some would have you beleive.
And I will still defend the IRFU decision to extend his contract pre world cup.
heard that he is taking on a bit of coaching with shannon for the coming seasonā¦
What about Galwey? Looks like a decent coach and seems motivated enough. Heās based in Leinster though isnāt he?
[quote=ādancarterā]Mark my words and I am on the records on AFR as saying this, despite all the shite talking about Eddie (and I acknowledge he outstayed his welcome in the irish job) he is a good coach and he will do a good job iin his next job.
Not sure tigers would be the right fit for him but Id like to see him back at the top level again. he lost touch with the coaching thing a little bit by being away from the coalface a bit too long and only coaching for a limited number of days a year, he is an innovator though and a battler and that will take hiom a long way.
Depsite all the criticism driven by the media namely Ciaran Cronin et al I have yet to hear any of the players come out criticising him, maybe I missed it but I am not aware of it. he stayed too long and he didnt give everyone a fair crack of the whip but I dont think he lost the dressing room despite what some would have you beleive.
And I will still defend the IRFU decision to extend his contract pre world cup.[/quote]
I agree with every word of that Dan.
Cronin was wrong for 90% of Eddieās tenure. He was going to fail eventually and he did, it was just a pity that he didnāt try anything else when things were going badly, he seemed too stubborn near the end and that won him few friends in the media.
But until then he had done very well and brought a real level of belief and expectation to this Irish team that was lacking before. I thought Gatland was harshly treated but thereās no doubt that Eddie believed that the group of players was better than Gatland did and that ambition is what got him the job.
`
galway was over shannon last year but wasnt a hands on coach in the training ground more of a figure headā¦i would say he would make a good team manager etcā¦
He done a bit with them last season also, he has the U20 job for next season, thatāll give him a bit of a lead in to the forwards job.
As regards EOS, I said all along Dan that Eddie done a good job, he just got power hungry. I blame the IRFU for giving him too much rope which he eventually hung himself with. He was a great organiser but when he started to micromanage, he was doomed. The IRFU should never have let him go so far down that line, no backs coach, no manager, it was crazy stuff really.
I would argue the new contract was too soon and too much, but I do see your point on it and respect that. But I think players get sick listening to the same voice, it was time for Eddie to move on, or at least wait until after the WC.
As regards Galwey, yea, its well acknowledge that Gallimh will make an ideal manager but not a coach as such. Axel is the opposite, no interest in talking to the media, he is happier working at the coalface.
manager maybe not a coach, wouldnt be seen as coaching material and dont think it interests him hugely. he did his stint with Shannon and think thats his level.
[quote=ātherock67ā]he seemed too stubborn near the end and that won him few friends in the media.
Cork people are notorius stubborn coontz rocko http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/cool.gif
Gert Smal named as new Irish forwards coach, good to see Kidney willing to bring in a bit of outside support. Know fook all about him but I have sent a text message to everyone I know from South Africa (2 fellas only) looking for the beef. You guys will be the first to know.
AFR refugees, maybe we should invite over John Holmes and handyscore and a few more some good knowledagable rugby punters seem to be posting now.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JwvkJLRF5Uo
Nice punch Gert, maybe you can have a chat with the leinster pack and let them know this is the correct reaction when someone does this to your teammate!! http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/wink.gif
Mick Jones-
I see nenagh have got Colm Mcmahon in as player coach next season. Great move for them, hes still a class act. Unlucky to be āmid-sizedā, he would have been an international otherwise. If I were him I would have concentrated on playing in the centre, at a time when Munster were average at best in the backs he could have made a good stab at a regular place there though.
On the former Nenagh men turned good rugby pros from the other thread add John Muldoon to the list, thought of him randomly whilst in the can just there, no reflcetion on the player!
Ahoy there Dan!! David Delaney coming back for next season too by all accounts, capt and OH. Quick glimpse of Churchill cup this evening, Bob Casey (uncles hurled for Toomevera) replaced by Nenagh man Trevor Hogan, in 2nd row along side Nenagh man Donncha Ryan. Sporting Limerick me hole!!! Up fuckin Naynaghā¦
ya not sure if you saw my post in other thread I had Hogan and Ryan as good pros from nenagh, barry Everett and Ray Hogan are others along with Muldoon i think. Are those boys inside in the cookies actually nenagh boys as well tyhe centres, cant think of there namesā¦maybe Corcoran and Carey?? two good lads as well in fainress.
Is Dave Delany a bro of Liam ya? Liam is burning it up down in crosshaven at the moment, class act as well.
[quote=ādancarterā]ya not sure if you saw my post in other thread I had Hogan and Ryan as good pros from nenagh, barry Everett and Ray Hogan are others along with Muldoon i think. Are those boys inside in the cookies actually nenagh boys as well tyhe centres, cant think of there namesā¦maybe Corcoran and Carey?? two good lads as well in fainress.
Is Dave Delany a bro of Liam ya? Liam is burning it up down in crosshaven at the moment, class act as well.[/quote]
Yes Dan, David is Liamās brother but has a lot more class, won a few AILs with Shannon and then went to Bristol I think. They both won a junior cup or 2 with Nenagh before they moved on, Liam certainly won a 2nd after the '00 triumph but I think Dave had gone onto Shannon. Derek Corcoran and Liam Carey both from Nenagh, Derek was with Young Munsters but Iām not sure now. For a town in the heart of a hurling stronghold, a very strong rugby tradition, and 2 junior soccer clubs also, Nenagh AFC having contested the Munster junior cup semi in the season just gone, and theyāve a huge juvenile set up too, itās with these kids that the rugby club will be competing for in the seasons ahead.