Munster Rugby - We DID start the fire (Part 1)

All hurling and Soccer strong holds, mate.

This flute also said the following

I think now the European elections are over and our MEPs are elected for the area, with the politicians we have, there must be a campaign to connect the last two cities in the country that are not connected by motorway,” Mr Fitzgerald said.

Cork is not connected to Waterford by motorway. Galway is not connected to Limerick. Waterford is not connected to Galway. Cork is not connected to Galway. Waterford is not connected to Limerick.

Why stop at a motorway. Why not build a high speed rail link so that the brave and the faithful could get sozzled in Thomond park and stagger back on the train with their foam fingers.

The people who stood strong against Munster rugby football in their prime as they were winning Beer Cups and who railed against this sham franchise, this sham stadium and the sham “support base” are being slowly vindicated.

We will win the war, pal.

A quote from Billy “Shur I’m gas” Keane on Munster’s world renowned die hard supporters : “If Munster were drawn against Crimea they’d still make their way to the game.”

There’s a fine motorway from Munster to Crimea though in fairness

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T1XwDd9Bwdg

[QUOTE=“RustCohle, post: 959502, member: 2635”]A quote from Billy “Shur I’m gas” Keane on Munster’s world renowned die hard supporters : “If Munster were drawn against Crimea they’d still make their way to the game.”

There’s a fine motorway from Munster to Crimea though in fairness[/QUOTE]

Billy is from the world renowned rugby stronghold that is Listowel, of course.

in the city of the shams. isnt that right sham.

Strangely enough, it only became a rugby stronghold in 2006

[QUOTE=“RustCohle, post: 959502, member: 2635”]A quote from Billy “Shur I’m gas” Keane on Munster’s world renowned die hard supporters : “If Munster were drawn against Crimea they’d still make their way to the game.”

There’s a fine motorway from Munster to Crimea though in fairness[/QUOTE]

I think he meant Clarina

Sure the soccer lads only need to drag themselves to the pub on a Sunday and the hurling is about 3 games a year for most lads. No need for season tickets for either of those.

That’s irrelevant, neither of them want to waste money on rugger and that’s the crux of it. The big games are attended by all corporate shite and jerseys girls.

No. And no need to make a bollix of yourself like the Munster fans either.

It was a genuine point. I think people are cutting back on a lot of stuff like sport. I’m no fan of Munster Rugby supporters and their obsession with declaring themselves the best supporters in the world and their triumphing of boozy trips to France. However I think lots of sporting occasions have had reduced turnouts due to people’s wallets rather than caused by diminished support . Much reduced crowd at Semple or Croker on Sun compared to similar occasion 10 years ago I’d say. Not because of reduced support - just normal people having to make economic choices and stay at home and watch it on tv. Which is fair enough in my opinion.

Fair enough

First thing that struck me too.

[QUOTE=“redman, post: 959509, member: 1731”]in the city of the shams. isnt that right sham.

:D[/QUOTE]

You still on the piss with your Monday Club buddies?

Actually the situation 10-15 years ago was the outlier. Low attendances in provincial matches was the norm until the Celtic Tiger. The notion of having to get a ticket in advance for a Munster final that didn’t involve Cork and Tipp would have been strange. I would have walked up to the 76 and 77 Munster hurling finals and got into the Kinane stand no problem. I paid cash into the terrace for the 79 All Ireland Hurling final and the 82 and 83 football finals. When Offaly beat Kilkenny in the Leinster Final in 1980 there were 8000 people in Croke Park. Waterford played Cork in the Munster Final in Limerick in 1983 in front of 17,000 people and played Tipp in Cork in a Munster Final in 1989 in front of 19,000 people. And finally here is a graph of attendances at Leinster Hurling Finals from 1957 to 1970 - a supposed golden age, from the McNamee report of 1970.

[ATTACH=full]1354[/ATTACH]

Hurling and football finals 1952 to 1970. [ATTACH=full]1355[/ATTACH]

I presumed this thread was bumped because of the deathknell that was dealt to Ulster and Munster today. Disappointing to see people don’t want a road built.