Munster Semi-final Clare Vs Cork

[quote=ā€œmickee321, post: 790678, member: 367ā€]JBM is an allright sort, i still remember when the Barrs beat us by about 20 goals in an U-14 challenge game he came in to give us a talk afterwards and took us to their clubhouse in togher for a drink, that was before we were due to play against glanmire in the east cork final, they had beaten barrs in the feile final earlier in the year, whatever he said to us we ended up beating Glanmire the next night , despite having 2 players sent off.
Himself and ger canning signed my programme for me before the 1993 munster semi vs clare in some hotel we were getting a cup of tea in before the game, he was slagging the ould fella about some FAI cup match he remembered him playing in Flower Lodge back in the day, likes a punt as well, by all accounts the weather today is similar to what it was that day in 1993
thatā€™s shit from sean og if he meant that, there is more to Cork hurling then glen/barrs/piarsaigh, i presume the article is a dig at young harnedy from Gortroe, i know that club well, as would Turenne id imagine and a more decent bunch of hurling people you wouldnt find anywhereā€¦ christ its articles like this that really make you want to be there.

Fuck Sean og, fuck clare, fuck davy fitz the horrible inbred cunt, fuck loughnane , fuck that streak of piss betimberin who only posts on here only when clare are winning, fuck TAN and his obesession with the physicality of minor hurlers.
Cork will win this match today[/quote]

A lovely JBM tale Mickee. I have heard many similar.

[quote=ā€œkerry1891, post: 790680, member: 1379ā€]This is just disgusting by Oā€™Hailpin. I donā€™t care if Cork are beaten by 45 pts today - it still doesnā€™t make it right. JBM is the boss and picks the team - end of story. The man has 6 All Ireland medals across two codes, All Stars in both codes, managed Cork and Oā€™Hailpin to All Ireland minor and Senior titles when they were in the doldrums, has All Ireland club medals in both codes. OHailpin wouldnā€™t lace his boots as a footballer, hurler, manager or doggy man

JBM is respected and maybe even loved outside his own county amongst the GAA rank and file. Is their a man in the GAA that has won so much that is as liked outside his own county? He should not have to put up with this shite.[/quote]

Great post.

What JBM has won during his career both as a player and manager is what you would call ā€œridiculousā€. Not dropping a lad who hasnā€™t played well for a couple of years and whose legs have gone.

Even if he is good enough to be on the panel it is the managers call. Would there be a public vote to pick the team otherwise? Incredibly insulting to those lads from the lesser clubs.

Iā€™d actually like to see Cork win today to ram it down his throat.

[quote=ā€œdodgy-keeper, post: 790658, member: 1552ā€]Sean Og Oā€™hAilpin has slaughtered JBM in the Sunday Indo today.

Says it is ā€œridiculousā€ his mate Gardiner is not on the panel while ā€œthere are guys being called in there from places Iā€™ve never even heard of. John has played club senior hurling for yearsā€[/quote]

Dickhead. Link?

Wind could have a big impact what with Clare being slow starters and strong finishers. If they have the gale in the second half theyā€™ll win pulling up. Cork should be about level at half time, if they have the wind to come its game on.

[quote=ā€œmickee321, post: 790678, member: 367ā€]JBM is an allright sort, i still remember when the Barrs beat us by about 20 goals in an U-14 challenge game he came in to give us a talk afterwards and took us to their clubhouse in togher for a drink, that was before we were due to play against glanmire in the east cork final, they had beaten barrs in the feile final earlier in the year, whatever he said to us we ended up beating Glanmire the next night , despite having 2 players sent off.
Himself and ger canning signed my programme for me before the 1993 munster semi vs clare in some hotel we were getting a cup of tea in before the game, he was slagging the ould fella about some FAI cup match he remembered him playing in Flower Lodge back in the day, likes a punt as well, by all accounts the weather today is similar to what it was that day in 1993
thatā€™s shit from sean og if he meant that, there is more to Cork hurling then glen/barrs/piarsaigh, i presume the article is a dig at young harnedy from Gortroe, i know that club well, as would Turenne id imagine and a more decent bunch of hurling people you wouldnt find anywhereā€¦ christ its articles like this that really make you want to be there.

Fuck Sean og, fuck clare, fuck davy fitz the horrible inbred cunt, fuck loughnane , fuck that streak of piss betimberin who only posts on here only when clare are winning, fuck TAN and his obesession with the physicality of minor hurlers.

Whatever about your made up story about the Feile, I agree with much if what you say.

Up to now Iā€™ve been embarrassed for Sean Og and his clear psychological issues with retirement and not being a sports star anymore (this is very common and the GPA should be on this) but now Iā€™m actually starting to really dislike him as a person. This is someone who I greatly admired for some of the barriers he broke. I played against him and on him and was proud of that. Now heā€™s just a bitter fucking idiot who used to be good at hurling.

Nickey Oā€™Connell and Podge Collins named to start ahead of Morey and Oā€™Donnell

i wouldnt say he gives a fk TBH

Whatever about your made up story about the Feile, I agree with much if what you say.

Up to now Iā€™ve been embarrassed for Sean Og and his clear psychological issues with retirement and not being a sports star anymore (this is very common and the GPA should be on this) but now Iā€™m actually starting to really dislike him as a person. This is someone who I greatly admired for some of the barriers he broke. I played against him and on him and was proud of that. Now heā€™s just a bitter fucking idiot who used to be good at hurling.

[quote=ā€œcaoimhaoin, post: 790692, member: 273ā€]Whatever about your made up story about the Feile, I agree with much if what you say.

Up to now Iā€™ve been embarrassed for Sean Og and his clear psychological issues with retirement and not being a sports star anymore (this is very common and the GPA should be on this) but now Iā€™m actually starting to really dislike him as a person. This is someone who I greatly admired for some of the barriers he broke. I played against him and on him and was proud of that. Now heā€™s just a bitter fucking idiot who used to be good at hurling.[/quote]

1993 Feile peil na nog?

resting them ahead of the Munster final?

you could argue that gardiner just hasnĀ“t the pace for inter county hurling but if ever there was a match made for him it was the second half of last yearĀ“s semi final against galwayā€¦he would have cleaned up when galway had retreated back into their own halfā€¦cork dropped high ball after high ball harmlessly into galway box ā€¦iĀ“d say gardiner would have picked off a load of points with his long range free taking aswell as making better use of the ballā€¦ instead they brought on sweetman who just ran up his own hole and played straight into galways tacticsā€¦i think its strange JBM didnĀ“t keep gardiner around the panel as he seems to have a great attitude and commitmentā€¦heĀ“s won the all ƬrelandsĀ“s so knows what it takes and is still only 30ā€¦heĀ“d be good for young lads to learn from regards preparation and attitude if nothing elseā€¦
be interesting to see if JBM tries using any tactics today or will it just be his normal ā€œweĀ“re cork weĀ“re better stickmen than them so weĀ“ll winā€ attitudeā€¦

So your 33 and you won a Feile Peile A grade with Cobh in 1993? Is that what you are telling me?

[quote=ā€œscumpot, post: 790698, member: 182ā€]you could argue that gardiner just hasnĀ“t the pace for inter county hurling but if ever there was a match made for him it was the second half of last yearĀ“s semi final against galwayā€¦he would have cleaned up when galway had retreated back into their own halfā€¦cork dropped high ball after high ball harmlessly into galway box ā€¦iĀ“d say gardiner would have picked off a load of points with his long range free taking aswell as making better use of the ballā€¦ instead they brought on sweetman who just ran up his own hole and played straight into galways tacticsā€¦i think its strange JBM didnĀ“t keep gardiner around the panel as he seems to have a great attitude and commitmentā€¦heĀ“s won the all ƬrelandsĀ“s so knows what it takes and is still only 30ā€¦heĀ“d be good for young lads to learn from regards preparation and attitude if nothing elseā€¦
be interesting to see if JBM tries using any tactics today or will it just be his normal ā€œweĀ“re cork weĀ“re better stickmen than them so weĀ“ll winā€ attitudeā€¦[/quote]

There is merit in your argument, there is no value in Sean Igā€™d attacks on JBM. I think thatā€™s why most people are saying here.

Hopefully someone takes Sean Og to task on those comments publicly.

we didnt win it !!!
we got beat i think by eire og in the first or second round
we beat glanmire uo in caherlag in the east cork final after they had won the feile a few months earlier

It isnā€™t strange Gah was dropped, he has zero pace and apparently his attitude was pretty shit.

But in his defense he isnā€™t acting like a complete twat like Sean Og since being dropped.

[quote=ā€œcaoimhaoin, post: 790695, member: 273ā€]Whatever about your made up story about the Feile, I agree with much if what you say.

Up to now Iā€™ve been embarrassed for Sean Og and his clear psychological issues with retirement and not being a sports star anymore (this is very common and the GPA should be on this) but now Iā€™m actually starting to really dislike him as a person. This is someone who I greatly admired for some of the barriers he broke. I played against him and on him and was proud of that. Now heā€™s just a bitter fucking idiot who used to be good at hurling.[/quote]

[quote=ā€œmickee321, post: 790704, member: 367ā€]we didnt win it !!!
we got beat i think by eire og in the first or second round
we beat glanmire uo in caherlag in the east cork final after they had won the feile a few months earlier[/quote]

Oh right. Must have read it wrong.

Wasnā€™t SOā€™H ā€œforcedā€ to retire by the management last yr despite being their best halfback by a country mile by the All Ire semifinal? Heā€™s every reason to be bitter not that he should be publically airing it. Gardinerā€™s legs were gone 5 yrs ago btw