Munster Senior Hurling Championship 2018

They need a jolt though and with the lads they have missing they donā€™t have anyone to fulfill that role.

I canā€™t see them changing either but from crisis there is opportunity and they might as well look at where their strengths are now and play to them. Better use the speed they have upfront now that the defensive depth is no longer there.

Jaysus it could get messy.

Left out Colm Roche. Heā€™ll probably be midfield.

In a normal year theyā€™d have 6 weeks to sort themselves out and get 5 or 6 of those guys back but the way its worked out, it couldnā€™t possibly have been worse.

Whatever happened to Martin Oā€™Neill? He looked a decent prospect underage and got gametime under Scully Ryan and in McGrathā€™s early years from what I recall.

I would imagine Moran will be reported for contributing to a melee rather than striking or dangerous play.

He would be wasting his time appealing it. Contributing to a melee is this yearā€™s ā€œStamp it Outā€ offence as evidenced by the ramblings of hair-dye and TomĆ”s Mulcahy enthusiast, Willie Barrett.

He went on a big spiel about it a few weeks ago. One of the Examiner writers who lurk here might post it up.

By the letter of the law, a red card. By the spirit of the Munster Championship, a yellow would have done.

Hitting the ground like youā€™ve been shot to get an opponent sent off is one of the nastier traits of this Clare team though. Kelly can join the ranks of Pat Oā€™Connor and Colm Galvin, amongst others, who have form in this regard.

I think they should have abandoned the sweeper long ago but the extent to which they rely on it is near total. I donā€™t think they can flick a switch and change how they play in a week.

I also have a lot of sympathy for them, even probably couldnā€™t handle the loss of 7 players including most of their best players.

Thereā€™s no county that can rightfully castigate Kelly for going down, he took a fair old dunt, heā€™d have done well to stay on his feet.
Moran is getting (rightfully) great credit here because of his track record and manly style of hurling but the laws have to be enforced, he really had no business getting involved.

Iā€™m speaking on behalf of myself, not any county. Iā€™ve pointed out that Clare are more prominent than most for this type of thing. Granted, itā€™s part of the game but I donā€™t like it.

Agree that Moran shouldnā€™t have gotten involved and under normal circumstances Iā€™d expect that heā€™d take his medicine. Waterford could be severely depleted next week though so an appeal, futile as it would be, could be on the cards.

Itā€™s the inconsistency of enforcing the rules thatā€™s most frustrating. Daithi Burke made an identical charge yesterday but escaped with a yellow card. Why? Is it because the KK player was in possession of the ball? I donā€™t know. Gearoid McInerney was on the point of receiving a second yellow for a similar frontal charge until the referee bottled it and invented a yellow for Joe Canning for a flick that would barely have been blown as a foul otherwise.

The third man in thing is crucial,
Could anybody help me out here in recalling Limerick players making a meal of harmless challenges etc, I heard Dodge mentioned, I also despise that side of the game but Iā€™m not sure if Clare are particularly guilty

Niall Moran

The inconsistency is the killer. As individual incidents, Burkeā€™s was way worse. He hit him in the head with more force. He was lucky that the ref was on the blind side.

Moranā€™s was lower and would normally be a yellow card but for these ā€œthird man inā€ rules. But then David Fitz was third man into the row between the two maor foirne, and cleaned a fella out but didnā€™t even get spoken to.

Kelly got him sent off, fair play to him if that was what he was trying to do. Itā€™s part of the game, I suppose, but itā€™s snaky and I donā€™t respect it.

I may have the incidents mixed up but wasnā€™t it the same fracas?

Out in Canada these last few years, was the standout when Waterford won a Munster minor in 09, lacked a bit of pace and size for inter county senior in my opinion

Youā€™re obviously the village idiot around here.

The GAA Hour podcast got a sponsor I see

It was a shoulder to the chest, donā€™t know how anybody thinks itā€™s a red

Welcome to the forum anyway mate

Iā€™m posting here 2 years you dullard.

:astonished: what the fuck, how could such a hard man go under the radar for so long? You must be rightly harmless
Anyway Iā€™ll see you in the salmon on Saturday night