Munster Senior Hurling Championship 2024…part 2

Tactics to beat Limerick.

1. Win the toss
  2. Play into the wind
  3. Pray

Scant mention of the supposed negative tactics there. Lot of Monday morning QB stuff

We lost the middle eight and our half-back line never had a foothold, with that went the game.

I know every full-back player fouls but Cleary doesn’t really help himself to be honest. He’s not subtle at all. Hogan is much better at the sneaky fouls to give himself a little advantage.

Cleary with a big obvious pull of the jersey for a ball that was probably never even going to get to Gillane. There was another one early on when Gillane was trying to get to the back of a break.

If a referee doesn’t see the jersey stretching back, he probably won’t give a free for an off-the-ball one.

It’s insane how Hego hits from his own 45 and it looks like he is pitching it in golf

Limerick shooting along the sidelines in the best ever. Who would coach that

Random thoughts after watching it in a pub and bypassing 500+ posts here. I will trawl back to get @Aristotle view. Top poster.

• The power cut worked well for Limerick. They had the real Clare team and could set up for TK. More on that later.

• Change keepers and Clare win. Quilligan is bog standard. Hit two clearances if not three over the sideline. For the LK goal he hit the ball on a 2vs1 and then was hesitant of his line. Turned sideways for GH stroke. Contrast that to how Quaid pushed the Rodgers shot off the post. Quick off the line and making himself wide.

• Lohan was too loyal to his starting 15. D Lohan and McCarthy were poor and should have been whipped much earlier. Contrast that with Kiely taking off a 2xhoty.

• If the all stars were picked now Reidy and CON would be certs for me. Essential cogs in the LK wheel. Selfless workers who get little credit in the general scheme of things.

• The elephant in the room, TK. A marvellous hurler but Clare lose all structure with him in his “loose” role. Lk keep their shape and Hannon is the +1. All three of the LK HBL had scored from play in the opening 20 mins. Lk are more than happy let TK off hitting 7/8 shots if they can close down O Donnell et al.The Lk 8-13 work like hell to close TK down. Clares extra man in the middle, be it Malone/Lohan will not punish LK. I dont think Clare had a scoring attempt from their HBL despite having an extra man in that area. Clare were better in the league without Kelly in a defined structure. Kelly needs to be put in a position/defined role going forward.

• Finally a congrats to the @limericks here. The new GOATS of Munster as much as it sickens me to type it. Enjoy these days. Ye might have a 7/8/9 in a row but never 6 again. A great win without Finn, Dod, PC and SF. Ye have a right crew of Hall of Famers. Well done

38 Likes

All the more frustrating is he had a two v one for Clare 30 yards ahead of him in the right wing, with Diarmuid Ryan looking for the ball and David Fitz 20 yards ahead of him. Instead he played the option which wasn’t on. Really poor decision making

That’s an interesting point; the talk in the stands was that it would suit Limerick more than Clare. Based upon nothing really, but I did think that Lohan would be annoyed that Limerick knew Kelly would be starting.

I 100% agree with this. Or at least put Kelly as a traditional midfielder.

Another problem is Clare dropped David Reidy today who, in fairness to him, is a serious worker who can also hurl. They put in Kelly who doesn’t look himself. And Kelly, even at his absolute best, wouldn’t be renowned for his work rate. You also have David Fitzgerald who wouldn’t work to warm himself despite his size. And there are question marks over Aidan McCarthy’s work rate too, so the balance is all over the shop.

You have SOD who is a great worker in a position where that part of his game isn’t effective… which is fine as long as you are feeding him. And up until now, they have been able to get ball inside to him.

I’ve seen the problem at club level loads, you have this really dangerous forward who can hurt teams inside but you aren’t winning enough ball outside to feed him. I wonder would switching SOD & Kelly work? You feed Kelly inside and he could get goals.

I honestly believe Clare have six better individual forwards than Limerick, however the Limerick collective is better.

Too many of those Clare forwards are selfish/individualistic and offer little out of posssession compared to the LK sextet.

There is a plan and cohesion to the LK forward play. Clares is based off pieces of individual brilliance. McCarthys 2nd half point looked so awkward/unorthadox despite it being good play.

I’d put him at 10 and use the sideline as his friend to get shots off. Thats his scoring range

I thought it would suit Limerick more just because they are so experienced and nothing would rattle them or put them off their stride. Knowing Kelly would start, they knew that during the warm up, I don’t think that extra half hour made a difference.

Cleary has been lucky up to now with all the jersey pulling he does on Gillane, so obvious to watch them from the terrace he just never stops doing it even with the ball way up the pitch. Dan Morrissey doesn’t do half of it and is a miles better hurler. Cleary stopped doing it when Gillane moved out around half forward line as he knew he was in line of sight of Lyons, he must hate having to move away from the square,that’s how you need to play against him.

Best hurling analysis I’ve seen in a while.

The best analysis comes from lads supping pints on their own watching a match.

In another life I would have attended both provincial finals and be nowhere as clear in my judgement of proceedings.

True, I never realized the wind was as strong until on the pitch after the game. But in the 1st half Limerick were still making the runs, well O’Brien was, as Gillane was otherwise occupied. Clare didnt make those runs in the 2nd half.

Not sure they’ve six better players but as a set the talent is near equal. But youre right otherwise. Clare seemed to be needing individual brilliance to spark momentum all the time. If they could work together like the tipp team of the last decade they’d be something. EOS might be available.

I’m just in home and haven’t read the 500-odd posts, but, my observations:

As a Limerick man, I hope Clare keep Lohan in charge for the next 10 years. He is utterly inept on the sideline during the heat of championship. He sent out a team with three obviously unfit players and it cost him yet again, He spent 60 minutes looking at Aidan McCarthy who offers nothing from play and had the yips from frees. It was mentioned earlier in the week that Lohan gets a free pass because he was a warrior of a player - he is a piss-poor inter-county manager of a team that has some very good players. When will this be finally called out?

Locally, we we never really in any trouble, and that is a poor indictment of Clare. They didn’t travel in previous numbers and there was an awful lack of belief about them. We played well, not spectacularly, but never really had to. Declan Hannon was my MOTM - flawless.

Semple Stadium, from where I hold magical memories of my youth and adulthood, is unfortunately no longer fit for purpose for big championship games. Like Tipperary in general, it trades on reputation and a bizarre a la recherche de temps perdu but has become a dangerous and highly unpleasant venue.

If Kelly was a traditional 10 against Limerick, he would probably score a good few points alright but you’d think that Kyle would still be able to dictate things the way he was today. Byrnes is probably the more exploitable defensively (hasn’t got the same raw pace). To be fair, I just don’t think Kelly looks match fit.

Fitzgerald has all the talent in the world, he could be so good if he was just a little bit more aggressive. He could really take games by the scruff of the neck but he kinda lets it pass him by at times. A fella of his size and he’s just not a puckout option at all, it’s a shame really.

Should every Munster final be moved to PUC so?

The Mackey stand in GG is as dangerous as anything.

I wouldn’t think so. O Donnells game is beating his man over the first ten yards or beating him to the catch, once he has it he can see where there’s a gap and he charges into it. I think he’d be swallowed up by markers out the field. What’s his 40/50 passes hoping to be like? How much experience has he in looking up calmly and leading a runner. I get he’d know the ball from being in there but executing it…