I’d agree with all of that
There’s a quite competitive club championship in Tipp. However, there’s a real lack of success when Tipp teams get into the Munster of AI series (the latter happens very rarely) . Six different teams have won county championship over the past seven years.
Sure cork are back to replace tipp. Maybe going forward one of them will always be shite. We could live with that.
Thats what i was thinking alright, there is some fierce rivalry and passion in the club game
Its competitive but the standard isn’t good.
Sars came back to the pack rather than teams reaching their 2014-2017 levels. Sars back then had a peak Padraic Maher, Michael Cahill, Pa Bourke, Billy McCarthy plus Steven Lilis and Lar who were still effective to that point.
They are still very close to winning County Final’s without most of those players, who haven’t really been replaced.
Tipp could still end up winning the Minor and U20 All Ireland’s this year and Hurling still is the only show in town when it comes to conversation within the county (no other county would dedicate two hours of their Current Affairs show on a Monday morning to a Round Robin defeat like Tipp FM did this morning) but there is a huge disconnect there between what modern hurling has become and what Tipp are trying to do.
An interesting day of hurling yesterday.
Huge win for Clare because I didn’t think they played particularly well but still eked out the win in the end. Now, they probably could have had another few goals and it wouldn’t have been as tight but some of the goals they did get, Waterford will be absolutely fuming about. Hard to win matches when you cough up 4 goals. I was actually very impressed with the way Waterford responded to all the setbacks; in previous years, you could see them crumbling in similar scenarios. But they got caught by runners from deep not being tracked too many times. I’d have no qualms with the '65, it obviously was, but, again, timekeeping would have been my issue. Think it was already mentioned in this thread but there was basically no hurling done in the last 90 seconds or so of the match, both placed balls took an awful long time to take. Waterford are pacy & have scoring forwards though, they’ll be a massive threat to Limerick next week but they’ll obviously need to sort out the defensive organisation.
As for the Cork-Tipp game; Tipp probably needed everything to go their way and although they got the good start and were economical in the first half, they were just opened up with direct running. But, even in the first half, Cork were eating up all the breaks. It would appear as if Cork have put serious emphasis on winning breaking ball, it’s such a huge thing in the game, and they are getting great joy out of it. Barrett, Meade, Coleman in particular seemed to always be in the right place to pick them up and they do seem to be a very coherent unit in what they’re going to do under the dropping ball.
Tipp were living off scraps in the first half but took some nice scores to go into the lead but that miss by Forde from the free and Connolly going right down the other end for a goal was a killer. I presume Cork would have won in the end anyway but Tipp really crumbled in the end, there was none of the resilience that Waterford showed, for example. They didn’t make life easy for themselves though, their first touch was appalling and they kept delivering awful ball into the Tipp forwards and the Cork backs were able to defend on the front foot.
I know a few people here are saying the Cork pace thing is overstated and perhaps it is but even a few fliers makes a difference if you can get them on the ball in space. And even a couple who aren’t lightning but can still move are very direct- Brian Hayes a perfect example. He’s not as quick as Barrett or Fitzgibbon but he’s quick enough and he’s worked on the hurling element, he’s winning a lot of contested ball on the ground with a decent first touch and then he’s putting the head down. Connolly is electric, a proper goalscorer. Rob Downey was very strong again, he presumably stays at 6 now and maybe free Joyce to go to 5? Coleman hurled a lot of ball yesterday, Meade was unbelievable off the bench, Fitzgibbon was walking through the Tipp defence and I thought Barrett was superb again.
The key to beating Cork will be denying them primary possession but, at the moment, they’re the best team on puckouts in the country. They should be through now (I know Waterford & Limerick could end up a draw but it’s unlikely) and teams will have to stop their puckout dominance if they want to beat them.
Sets up an interesting last game anyway, like last year. Tipp only playing for pride against Clare but it’s hard to see Clare not winning that relatively comfortably?
How is it rapidly shrinking.
I think the third quarter sucked a good bit of life out of Clare. Reidy and Fitzgerald both hit wides from the half way line when they had 25 yards of space in front of them to drive into and tap the ball over. TK had a woeful wide just after the Waterford goal as well - they hit six in the bounce. Waterford went straight down the field to level it and it was there for them but I thought we recovered a bit of composure the last quarter especially down the stretch.
Think Lyons or Fagan landed a big point to level it in the 64th minute and they didn’t score again until the penalty - we wrested back the initiative with a huge score by Duggan, we also crafted three fine scoring opportunities for Galvin down the stretch, the first one was a terrible miss but he redeemed himself with the other two. Rodgers then had a wide when three up in injury time similar to the TK one earlier down the left sideline where he had loads of time and room to carry but somehow put it wide.
The wides gave Waterford plenty of momentum along with three subs coming on and hitting excellent scores out by the sideline. Thought their keeper’s distribution was quite poor, there was a number of poor puckouts by him and one where De Burca hit a free sideways to him and he hit a real low percentage ball to Barron 90 yards up the line when it needed to be popped in front of him.
Agreed. Once the Waterford players starting going ape he really shit himself paused.
He was definitely told via his earpiece to put his paw up and then received the second prompt from Gordon.
Goway you ape of a man
Who have cork to come back in?
Aaron Cunningham and o Flynn maybe?
Joyce will be back.
Clare have Kelly, Taylor and mcinerney.
Limerick have dod and maybe Mike Casey.
Injuries are going to have a huge impact.
Limerick are gone from having their strongest panel yet available coming into the championship to suddenly looking thin in a few places. Especially if one or two players don’t recover form.
Cunningham hadn’t done a lick at senior level. He won’t feature this year
Dunno about that now.
2018 average scoring in the Munster round robin was 50 points or so.
So far in 2024 it’s around 60 points per game. Serious increase.
The simple thing of marking a man seems to have nearly been forgotten by some teams these days. I know the ball going in is better but the amount of times you see a forward running out to a ball and the back standing 5 yards off him is ridiculous. It was about 20 minutes into Tipp Cork yesterday by the time a back won a ball
Not so sure about Cork and the puckouts. Barrett has been immense and once he has a step on you he’ll be the first to the ball every time but Collins has been touch and go with his timing and accuracy and as more teams stop to study Cork I reckon it’ll be found out and stopped handily enough.
Well said. Also, when he is back it’s unlikely he’ll be playing for Cork; more likely it will be Clare.
Joyce is the only likely starter to come back in. ROF has looked fairly fucked physically this year.
How Hoggie at 36 was able to be first to every ball was ridiculous.