I wouldnât worry about Cork or Linerick until ye deal with Clare at the weekend.
Not an argument at all, itâs my opinion that a hungry Clare side beat a woeful Waterford side with Tony Kelly leading the charge.
Every team that loses is woeful.
Clare could and should have won by 20 points. Theyâre young aggressive and hungry.
Everything Tipp arent.
Like Limerick v Kilkenny in 2019?
Thats fair enough but people need to be reminded how that All Ireland was won.
I can see articles being written about that team in 10 years time wondering âWhatever became of these lads?â as its hard to see many of that team featuring much at Senior in the next decade.
Focus on Clare.
The 2019 team was a better team and I expect a better return at Senior level from this team.
The 2016 minors had alot to do with that 2018 win.
Sure laois played with two sweepers and hit 1-22 while being dominated for the full game. 21 points is not a match winning score and a modest total in todayâs game.
Tipp may well win the weekend and win well but the confidence in Clare isnât built on sand, they are a team which has fresh blood and has very much rounded into form throughout the league and those players brought that form to championship last week. They utterly ate Waterford in the first 20 minutes with a snarling defensive performance and were very comfortable defending the lead without giving Waterford much of a goal chance. The forwards misfiring kept Waterford in it but that is something which can be easily rectified in a week
Clare have 7 or 8 lads bang on form who are delivering game in game out throughout the league and last week and aside from the Galvins arenât waiting for lads to play themselves into form.
They will be primed and ready to go. There is no guarantee that Tipp will be though
Maybe but it was a real pity there wasnât an under 21 championship in 2019 as it would have brought the 2016 minors on a tonne.
Ultimately though the under 21 teams from 2012-2014 were better than 2018/19 but were just unlucky to run into the great Clare team who were absolutely savage in their pomp.
Iâd say 10 of them played senior intercounty, 4 (I think) played in the AI Final 1997
Agreed in all of that.
I think the Clare FB line can be exposed. I think Conlon had an absolute armchair ride and again itâs up for debate how he goes against better opposition.
Waterford trying to play out from the back suites Clare as it gave them an extra layer of protection for the FB line. When Waterford pucked the ball out long it definitely unnerved the Clare defence imo and I canât fathom why Cahill didnât persist.
All throughout the game when Waterford got the ball in their own half you could hear Cahill & Bevans roaring to go with the ball. It was supper for Clare as they stood their ground and hit their runners.
I donât think Sheedy & Co will be as lenient on the line.
How did that go?
The step up is only for the extremely talented and bar a team like 2010 youâll always struggle to get much more than 4 or 5 to see the Senior panel never mind backbone it 2 years later.
2012 maybe, 2016 minors were excellent. Rare to get more than 2 or 3 from specific years bar the obvious ones for Tipp
In the past decade Tipp 2010, Clare 2013, Waterford 2017 and Limerick 2018 all reached All Ireland Finals backboned by an Under 21 All Ireland winning team either the same year or the year previous.
Special players arriving at the same time but unfortunately it doesnât work like that every time.
Itâs starting.
He didnât though. Clare dropped him deep in the second half as they had a cushion and were playing into the breeze. He played as an orthodox centre back first half and absolutely lorded it. Within the first quarter alone he attacked half a dozen balls or ball carriers in and around the 65 and won or turned the ball over Waterford clearly wanted to attack than channel early.
Having watched it back I canât agree with that. First half every time a Waterford man looked up to go long there simply wasnât space or a Waterford player with a run on his man. The Clare backs ate the starting Waterford forwards, five of them were held scoreless and had no impact, they managed three shots between the six of them in 35 minutes . They couldnât go long as the odd time they did they lost it or were hounded out of it.
There is no guarantee that the Clare backs will do the same v Tipp but as a unit they are improving and since the second half v Dublin look very sharp and aggressive. They are not the porous outfit they were last year. They will take a lot of confidence from the last three games.
Talking about puck outs, my bad for not being clearer on that.
Clare were impressive, but Waterford were fucking horrendous regardless of missing players.
If Clare win theyâll have earned it as I donât buy the line that Dads army canât perform. I think Tipp will be as eager to win as ever, if thatâs not good enough Iâll gladly tip my hat to Clare.
Agreed but Cummins and Tommy Dunne were absolute stalwarts. Shelly if heâd have looked after himself had it, Eddie Enright won an AI in 2001, Brian Flannery had a good career with Waterford, injuries done Adrian Butler and Brian Horgan. Liam McGrath played the AI in 97 They all progressed, might not have had longevity but not bad for a team that âlowered the bladeâ because they couldnât possibly have won the AI otherwise.