Munster SHC Final 2017 - Clare v Cork

Clare hit some awful wides yesterday but was there inside forwards to hit it to? Hard to tell from TV but there seemed to be a lack of options up there for a lot of the wides.

I counted him hitting 5 wides from Hail Mary/Ozzie Gleeson positions.

They asked the half forwards to do too much and invariably were too deep and then the ball in was too slow and the inside forwards had to make 3 or 4 runs on the occasional time it came in which was polar opposite to the Cork inside line who were getting good early ball into space. When we did actually get the wing forwards up the field and run at Cork or send it in early we caused them problems and had 3 decent goal chances and a missed penalty

Can I make an old fashioned suggestion. For the warm ups hit a few balls over the fuckin bar. Clare are at these little 3v3 type games hand passing balls and shit with Donal Og a facsimile of the chancer we have at the moment Kinnerk. Only Tony Kelly hit a few frees for the warm up.

Surely this is what Clare were up to yesterday and they were just fucked with long balls from Cahalane?

cork will need a different strategy to beat Galway
Galway just need to push up
Galway half back line will eat up long ball.

But they left an acre of space in front of Cadogan and Horgan.

Clare left Nash the pick of his full back line all day long yesterday. The result being that Cork were able to by pass the half back line. They must have got at least seven scores off it in the first half.
The sideline were too blind to counteract ir by telling the full forward line to push up and drop back midfield thus forcing Nash to go long

Da fuq?

The likes of Kelly killed your inside forwards yesterday with awful shot selection. Despite everything that went wrong, if they had put a handful more balls in front of the full-forward line, ye could have got a few more scores to close the gap.

I rate Morrissey quite highly, I couldnā€™t understand how he allowed them to continue that. If that happened with a team I was involved in, Iā€™d be embarrassed. Iā€™d be doing everything to ensure that it changed. And itā€™s not as if all the balls were panicky clearances or anything. These are top players in space delivering absolute shite.

Canā€™t close down the space everywhere lad. You specifically mentioned the half-back line (I assume Corks) and midfield, looked like Clare went out of there way to crowd out both.

You understand that pushing the full-forward up and the midfield back is giving space for puck-outs to Lehane/Meade/Cooper ala Cork vs Waterford/Tipp?

Agreed. Relatively decent is far from best though. A class act

I realise that but at least forcing Nash to go long was always going to give Clare a chance to win the puck out. Iā€™m not saying it was perfect. But allowing any of the full back line to solo 20 yards up the pitch and then bypass the clustered area means that Cork are running onto a ball and Clare are obviously facing their own goal.

Clareā€™s initial plan kinda made sense. But they didnā€™t adapt to the game in front of them at all. I know it can be hard to think on your feet on the sideline, sometimes managers get so wrapped up in particular things that they miss something obvious. But thatā€™s why you have a backroom team.

They had to change it up because the initial plan failed. If they left 2 forwards up front between the 3 full-backs, they would at least be able to hassle them as they moved the ball on.

Backs have to be a little cuter too, when Nash goes long, he puts it in front of the runner coming out. Have to put in those sly obstructions to the run, little pull backs. And communication is key.

It is a successful puckout plan and it clearly got into the Clare managementā€™s head. Iā€™d say Cusack thought about nothing else between the semi-final and final.

this has been Corks route to success this year. Lehane improvement/better use of him. Clares response was to deny Lehane space yesterday. His jersey must be a XXXL size this morning it was been constantly pulled and dragged to avoid him making runs. Cahalanes deliveries to the full line by passing the half back line was crucial. Even though it was a bit windy the real test will be Croke park on a wet and windy day up against Tipp/Galway who will back themselves on a man to man marking job.

Galway will be happy to go man to man and back themselves to win the majority.

You have to laugh at the Limerick lads like @glasagusban, @Julio_Geordio, @Aristotle and @Esso_Oil - giving it big licks about Clare, calling them the worst AL winners in 30 years yet they have hired the architect of that win as their coach and are currently trying to implement that same Clare formula :rofl: :rofl:

They were at it all day but Cork were up to it with players acting as screens to help the likes of Lehane and Cadogan make runs. BTW Cork backs were at it as well. Not picking on Clare players.

As the Clare posters have said, their players will need more time to be de-programmed after many years of programming. But it appears that the new management had them very programmed to defend Corkā€™s puck outs and didnā€™t adapt once their programme was being bypassed by Cork. It was like an ad blocker programme that didnā€™t stop ads. A series of programming breakdowns over the last few years really. Overall, itā€™s too early to judge on Moloney and the other chap.