Munster Under-21 Hurling

I’d say he broke even Kid looking back at it he should have been shoved in at 11 for a while

He sured up the middle alright but his man caught three puck outs in a row over his head after Clare had pointed…All three lead to scores as well

Shane OCOnnor from St Josephs should have been on that panel.
I have never seen him at underage, but i have seen him twice this year in senior co champ, v Clonlara he scored 0-3 off Domhnall OD.
He has strength and speed. Kennedy is a lovely player but is physically immature…

Mind you,it seems it was lost at the back, dont have any easy fixes there…Glynn and Doherty were huge gaps from last year and were not filled with similar quality candidates

he wasn’t great all night, he gave a few poor passes too, but I think Morey should have been moved sooner yeara fuck if my aunt had balls

your welcome KID, we face an uphill battle here against ignorance and city slickers and lads who think they are city slickers

I wouldn’t throw the baby out with the bath water all the same lads, this Tipp team are as good as you will encounter at this level in any era…We missed three very good goal chances in the first 10 minutes yet despite being horsed out of it we from there on out we were within 2 points with 7 or 8 minutes to go…It is disappointing to lose but no shame in it…Tipp were far more balanced

It wasn’t a switch at corner forward that was going to turn the match anyyway. Most disheartening thing for me wasn’t the ease with which the Tipp forwards caught ball over their heads (although that was bad enough) but how brutal our distribution of the ball was. When I saw Nicky O’Connell of all people in loads of space lob a ball down on top of Davy O’Halloran (when Conor McGrath had the beating of his man and half the pitch to himself) I knew the game was up. They were doing it against Limerick and got away with it. Were never going to get away with it tonight.

Until Clare teams start using the ball and supporting each other the way Tipp did tonight we are going to win fuck all. We’re playing a game that’s ten years out of date and whatever about this level at senior it will kill us. We had backs being out-muscled by their men and not able to break the tackle and yet never was there a man available to take a handpass. Tipp were physically stronger, winning more primary ball, and still giving each other more options than our lads were. Plenty of good hurlers we had on that team tonight, but our method crucified us. Jesus I don’t even want to talk about the puckouts. Gruesome viewing.

I’d be agreeing with Puke here, don’t be getting too upset about this loss, and systems etc. This is an excellent Tipp team, as good as Cork in 97-98, or that waterford team of '92. It will produce an unusual amount of Seniors.

Cork were similarily beaten in the air alot, but not only have tipp worked very hard on winning ball in the air, they are big men, which is always an advantage. Guys like Tommy Walsh are rare, and to be honest, he’s a freak. If you have big men, they are athletic and you coach them technically to be good in the air there simply isn’t a whole lot you can do.

Cork-Clare had Cork held out would have been an absolute classic i’d say, they seem very similar in hurling ability and size, but it would have been an aberration of the actual standing of teams in Munster at the moment, in an overall sense.

I’m more concerned about what we did when we had the ball. Like you say if the other team have those bigger men it’s hard to do anything about that, but you can control what you do when you have possession. The same problems we have at senior level were plain to be seen last night.

They are athletic though as well wtb. Brendan Maher is one of the best midfielders around now, yet he plays wing back and is awesome in the air, but you’ll not exactly burn him either even if you succeed in dragging him out, the likes of Bonny Maher the same on the other side. Hennessy is the only guy i can see being troubled by a really really fast player, but his reading of the game is as good as i have seen, and he’s able (at this level at least) able to cover for his lack of speed.

Basically they can bring it out high or low or anyway at all.

I didn’t see it, but i’m guessing Clare stuck to their own game, which you must remember won an All-Ireland last year, i wouldn’t be getting on them for that. In an overall sense that may be the way to go, play to your own strengths, and develop them as hurlers, as opposed to a team. Only one team can win the All-Ireland, Clare have started the momentum with one, this year wasn’t as important iMO, but nonetheless reasonably successful in getting to a 3rd Munster final in a row.

I’d be all for sticking to their principals.

Kev and I’m not talking about abandoning any principles. This isn’t some masterplan I’m advocating. This is basic stuff - when you have the ball, give it to another player on your team instead of aimlessly driving it up the field. When your team is in possession - make yourself available to receive the ball.

There’s a weel known video of hurling scores in the mid nineties and if you watch it you’ll notice that at least half the scores come from botched clearances directly to the opposition. Now almost every intercounty team in the country has worked on eradicating this needless transfer of the ball to the opposition, with Cork obviously the forerunners. But we seem to be dedicated to it.

I said it after the Limerick game that the evidence of this was the skying of ball into to our full-forward line, even when the man clearing the ball had time to play a better ball. Last night our backs were under immense pressure when they were on the ball, so the only ball our forwards got were rushed clearances, usually dropping on their heads with the two Mahers and Hennessy under them as well. That’s just plain stupid. And that’s exactly how our seniors play.

Fair enough, i thought it was more a structural problem you were on about. Were they under pressure hitting these balls? Or are you on about guys sking it when in loads of space, which is madness, and its a Junior B attitude “look how hard and high i can hit the ball”.

Both kev. We were at a fair physical disadvantage to Tipp in our full-back line last night and lads were always going to be struggling to break tackles. The only way you’re going to get quality baal to your forwards in that scenario is if you can get your backs hand passing their way out of trouble and working the ball into a man in space who can deliver a ball that you’ve a better than 50-50 chance of winning. That’s the support play side of it. The other element is when guys do have time on the ball that they do deliver a ball that suits the type of forward you have.

On both these fronts I’d put Tipp ahead of most teams in the country and it’s been at the very heart of the changes introduced by Eamon O’Shea and Liam Sheedy. But even against Dublin our seniors were totally outclassed in this regard. There seems to be no emphasis on it whatsoever. We the All-Ireland last year despite the presence of these shortcomings, and because we do have some genuinely outstanding individuals. But it’s all individual when we have the ball. We badly need a senior manager to address these issues or we’ll just fall further behind.

Sean Collins probably had his worst game at this level in three years, should have been moved into th forwards at half time with Golden coming in midfield…It was more application that affected them last night rather than just hitting and hoping, himself and Nickey got on ball and got their heads up looking for the ball inside yet it was the quaility of the delivery that was lacking, this could be down to tiredness and also the pressure they were under, either way it was disappointing to see…In fairness to Collins, Conlon and Nickey they have an unnatural amount of hurling done in the last 18-19 months, pretty much non stop…

We will have a decent side at this level for the next two or three years and hopefully will add another munster title at least in this time…Next year we well be at home in Ennis for every match in Munster…

A team of
Brennan
Nash-O’Loughlan-McInerney
O’Conner-Moynihan-Markham
Chaplin-Golden
Podge Collins-Heagney-O’Conner
O’Halleron-Honan-McGrath

would be a decent side on paper

Tipps team for next year will be very strong.
thel have unreal forwards and midfielders, backs might be average enough though.

tipp won. clare lost. end of story. get over it.

I’d be expecting Cork to be very strong next year, a good lash of this years team and some very good individuals in last 2 Minor teams.

waterford should be very good as well.

Oh it’s a long, long way from Clare to here…

http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF615/446206.jpg

Great win for the Premier last but it was never really in doubt. Clare a decent little outfit but are never likely to win anything unless someone else beats Tipp for them. They battled away well last night, although the decision to take off John Conlon at halftime was a strange one. Senior/u21 double on the cards now. this team won’t be beaten.

Whats yer wan up to behind him?

would you ever fuck off. ye will prob be on strike next year, ye bunch of cry babies.