Munster Under-21 Hurling

3 of that Tipp team go or went to Mary I.
2 more go or went to TIT/St.Pats.
1 or 2 more are probaly starting college this year, not sure
there was also a fair few lads on the LIT panel who didnt make the Tipp u21s or were overage for it.
theres more Tipp lads playing college hurling than you would think
there was a rake of Tipp hurlers on the UL and Mary I freshers there the year that just finished

UCC and CIT are full of Tipp freshers, goo players too.

Don’t mind WTB noddy, if it comes to education he’s a desperate snob, he’s grand otherwise.

Shame all of these schools are shit.

Yeah but off the U21 team are they the only four? I’m talking about the significance of Fitzgibbon hurling experience.

Clare had a massive presence on the two best teams on the competition. It will be interesting to see how that translates to this.

at the end of the day, the Fitzgibbon is only a winter hurling tournament and means fuck all really in relation to u21 county hurling

It will make no differnece what so ever

You would be surprised, Fitzgibbon has gone to such a high standard in terms of intensity and preparation these days it is a huge help in developing players…It is far more physical than under 21 level which is normally far more open free flowing and more often than not if you can do well at Fitz level then you wouldn’t be too far off I/C standard…Although it does suit certain players over others…

Think the Clare management seem to have given the nod to a few more physical hurlers in the
marginal calls for tomorrow night…Nash would be a more specialised corner back than McInerney while Markham has lost out to Morey, Golden and Vaughan the latter two being both well over 6 feet while Markham is 5’8 at best…Eoin Hayes has lost out to Heagney/Kennedy, heagney would be far more solid while Kennedy would be a more athletic type of a hurler, although Hayes has frightening pace…

D

Eamon O’Shea would give you a kick in the hole if you said that.

Personally I think it’s far more relevant than club championships regardless of when they are played. Yes, certain players will do well in it who might not be cut out for the dry sod (Wayne Mac), but in terms of technical levels, preparation, physicality, and calibre of player it’s as close to inter-county as it gets.

Shane McGrath wouldn’t be the player he is if it wasn’t for Fitzgibbon hurling, and there are countless others you could tell the same story about. In fact, Shane McGrath wouldn’t be playing for Tipp at all if it wasn’t for it.

If I could only watch two hurling championships they’d be the U21 competition and the Fitzgibbon.

The Fitzgibbon Cup is the most entertaining competition there is. It has it all.

Yeah it is full of drama alright, the quality of hurling in it for the time of year is exceptional in fairness, especially when you see some of the league matches at that time of the year…

Having seen Wayne Mac hurl numerous times at Fitz level i can tell you he did not stand out and looked distinctly average…No con-incedence that the likes of Conor O’Mahoney and subsequently Shane Maher both went on and nailed starting spots for tipp after performing well at Fitzgibbon level…Alan Byrne is another Tip man that got a go on the Tipp team due to Fitz form as well, as have Boggy and Hammersley this year…

Agreed on what Puke says there. Fitz is a great barometer as to weather a guy is up to IC or not.

That he played at all is noteworthy

Sometimes though it can make the odd fella look better than he is, Wayne Mac is one, but i think Conor O’ Mahoney is the most over rated hurler there is. Tipp need to replace him to be sure of a couple of All-Irelands.

He is a good solid hurler IMO…Considering that tipp had been crying out for someone to nail down the centre back for the bones of a decade before he came along…Having a poor year of it this year though…He didn’t bother hurling for his first few years of third level and as soon as he did he nailed his place on the Tipp team, gave an interview a year or two ago in which he said Davy Fitz/fitzgibbon hurling was the reason he is now an I/C hurler

Think he’s been poor for a while to be honest, very easy to drag out, and has no pace.

Maher could be the answer

Maher looks like the long term successor alright, just needs to stop skying his clearances…Although Brendan Maher has really looked like the real deal this year…some engine on him

Midfield for Brendan though i’d be thinking, himself and McGrath (Shane).

Is there any county as bad a Tipp for the fuckers all having the same names.

says your man from Clare