National Gaelic Football League 2018

I was poached.

Monaghan has 50 clubs with a population of 60,000, making 1 club per 1,200 people. Absolutely nuts.

Cork has 259 clubs for a population of 542,000, 1 club per 2,092 people, far behind.

Leitrim comes in at one club per 1,320 people.

Fermanagh though has 50 clubs with a population of 61,000, but a far smaller Catholic population. I would say that has to be the most clubs per Catholic population in the country, probably by some way.

Tis half lakes, and half Protestant - as the old saying goes.
Monaghan must have a decent proportion from the other faith do they?

Does Fermanagh really have 50 clubs?

I thought their senior football championship was an 8-team straight knock out competition with only 4 or 8 or similarly small numbers in intermediate and junior competitions.

As far as I know, Monaghan is about 20% Protestant, Fermanagh about twice that. I was using the figures in that nice infographic up above @Bandage.

The affiliated clubs figure is known to be wrong and by a considerable distance. The real figure is something like 23 clubs in Fermanagh and 34 in Monaghan.

Thanks, pal. I fucking well knew it.

Itā€™s alright for pricks from Fermanagh, Cavan and Monaghan where thereā€™s no pressure from having competitive championships in both codes with a significant crossover of players and only a small number of clubs to begin with - not referring to Paraic/Padhraic/Pauric Duffy and yer man Aogain Oā€™Fearghail/Farrell obviously - saying they want to make things better for clubs and finish the club championships in the calendar year.

A load of sound bites about the club, how they love the club, how important they see the club but nothing, absolutely nothing of any use to club players or any meaningful interaction with the CPA. And then they extend the inter-county season and offer no practical guidance or make no attempt to develop a calendar for club championships around the country (whether universal or county specific) other than ā€œWeā€™ll keep April free, lads. Go and fucking figure it out yourselves.ā€

Easy finish county championships and get access to county players for all games in Fermanagh with an 8-team straight knock-out football championship.

What about Wexford with 5 group games in hurling, 5 group games in football followed by quarter finals, semi-finals and finals in both codes?

The GGA needs some real hurling men at the top table now and less of these football fannies and their mealy mouthed words. I actually think Liam Sheedy would be a great candidate to lead a committee to pick the next Director General (cc @Smark). Iā€™d be very satisfied if this committee then recommended somebody like Liam Sheedy to become the next DG.

Can you name the 50 clubs in Monaghan?*

*Thereā€™s a reason you canā€™t.

Was talking to a kerry player today. Ye gave them an awful pasting apparently :joy::joy::joy:

In a malicious sense? Any culprits named? The red card for Kerr seemed innocuous enough.

In a general sense. Found them extremely physical and in their faces more than normal. And normal was bad enough :joy:

Cunts are well able just cranky when things likes refs go able gains them. Was against a few home towners last day for sure

itā€™s surprising. The general word was that they were ready for relegation this year. Unlike the last few where theyā€™ve emptied the tank to stay in Div 1, Feb - April was supposed to be all conditioning.

If they werenā€™t in the Bould Mood in a must win game youā€™d be slating the fuckers tbf.

Exactly

Kerry are limited with that team out though

Am I right in thinking ye have Tyrone first up in Ulster chucks ?

Should be a cracker.

134 clubs in Dublin is bullshit too. Thereā€™s around 90.

Lee Keegan is a surprise last minute addition to the Mayo team, replacing Gibbons

Mannion rattles the back of the net for the Dubs within 90 seconds.