National Hurling League 2012

Limerick were robbed yesterday. Scandalous decision by the referee to give a penalty. The shoulder/side to side challenge appears to have been out lawed.

It was a dreadful call, perfectly timed challenge, and it may well have a huge cost

The mushrooms are popping up

Christ this is the kind of shite a Kerry man would come up with. Are you still living around C’Martyr or have you moved on yet? Locke Jnr should be on a pretty decent Kiltha Og side?

Come on turenne, ye’ll win Munster and you know it, this talk is only heightening our awareness, man up and go for it, the ambush isn’t an option, ye’ve been well signalled now

Clare lads already covering both bases for the Munster final, no respect for the Deise.

They already have, multiple times.

[left]
I wasn’t able to deliver expertise players wanted, admits Br Ryan

By John Fogarty
Tuesday, March 27, 2012
Brother Philip Ryan has admitted he stepped down as Waterford selector after realising players wanted a change in coaching.
In a candid reflection of his five months under Michael Ryan, the Mount Sion man insisted he retained the respect of the players but came to the conclusion he had brought the panel as far as he could as coach.

Ryan, whose exit came just three days after Nicky Cashin’s exit as selector, made his decision after training on Friday but only informed the Waterford manager following Sunday’s game against Galway in Salthill.

“My decision is for the best interest of the Waterford senior hurling team,” said Ryan. "I realised over the last two weeks that a change needed to be made in relation to the coaching set-up, which I had been delivering since I came on board with Michael Ryan.

"My contribution to the coaching needed to change so that the players could step up to a different level.

"I recognised that the players were looking for further coaching expertise within the set-up that I wasn’t able to deliver.

“I had looked at how the team had been moving in the last two weeks. I saw the writing on the wall and looked at my situation.”

Ryan delayed announcing his decision until after Sunday’s game so as the players could focus on it.

He said his namesake Michael accepted his reasons for stepping down.

"He understood my reasons perfectly when I pointed out to him with (newly appointed selectors) Ken McGrath and Sean Cullinane that this was the new dynamism and freshness that was needed.

"There was no animosity, no aggro within the management. I felt it was the right thing to do.

“I recognised on Friday on training that I hadn’t lost the respect of the players but they needed the coaching to be more dynamic than what it was.”

Ryan worked with the backs under Davy Fitzgerald last year but this season took over the bigger brief of team coach.

"We have a large panel, somewhere between 32 and 48 over the last three and a half months and to manage that amount of players on your own is quite a daunting task.

"I have expertise in different areas but when you’re in charge of the whole thing it’s very hard to get around to certain executions.

"When you work with the backs, you can execute things in a way that’s more forensic.

“I’m around a long time, hurling is my game but you know when it’s time, you know when the players are with you. I didn’t lose their respect but I knew the zip in the training work wasn’t where it should have been.”

Ryan appreciates there is a perception outside the camp that there have been difficulties within it after both his and Cashin’s departures.

However, the former Laois coach stated: "This management team have gone through a fairly tough time since it has come together.

“It has had to deal with a lot of stuff outside of its control. It can look like there is divisive factions but it is anything but. It’s just everybody pushing each other to the limit to produce the best we can and in this case I’ve fallen victim to that and rightfully so because I evaluated what I delivered with the players. I wouldn’t like to stay in a set-up where the players are not getting the best out of themselves.”

Read more: http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/i-wasnt-able-to-deliver-expertise-players-wanted-admits-br-ryan-188510.html#ixzz1qIgoyv1f[/left][/left]

At least he was man enough to admit he wasn’t up to it and walk away, saving the team any further division.

He was the backs coach under Davy? That’s some fucking entry to have on your CV.

I think it’s pleasing to see how Waterford standards have risen such that the current squad is deemed to be shit despite being the third most consistent team in the country under Davy Fitz, only losing to KK and Tipp in the championship. Of course 2 of these defeats were hammerings but overall Waterford were organised, fit and very hard to beat.

And Davy also managed to freshen up the team significantly.

yes the ref should definitely have cleared that ball that bobbled around in the square and the way he allowed the offaly man to run into the square in the last minute before condon tackle him when offaly desperatley needed a goal was outrageous. he should be dropped for the next day. wasn`t it he was on the offaly player that toddled in behind the limerick defence with no one within a mile of him as well

absolutely scandalous stuff

[quote=“twiceasnice97, post: 662615”]

yes the ref should definitely have cleared that ball that bobbled around in the square and the way he allowed the offaly man to run into the square in the last minute before condon tackle him when offaly desperatley needed a goal was outrageous. he should be dropped for the next day. wasn`t it he was on the offaly player that toddled in behind the limerick defence with no one within a mile of him as well

absolutely scandalous stuff[/quote]

[quote=“Appendage, post: 662614”]I think it’s pleasing to see how Waterford standards have risen such that the current squad is deemed to be shit despite being the third most consistent team in the country under Davy Fitz, only losing to KK and Tipp in the championship. Of course 2 of these defeats were hammerings but overall Waterford were organised, fit and very hard to beat.

Yes Waterford consistently lost heavily to Tipp and Kilkenny under Davy. That is true.

limerick failed to win that game because their defending was atrocious. now i assume that they will beat antrim but up there if they defend like that liam watson will beat them on his own (i am assuming he wont let this chance slip without playing. if we beat offaly and antrim beat limerick (a shock of course but not impossible) antrim will be in the final

Fool.

I made no reference to their defending. MacAllister made a really bad call that cost them the match. Clearly they made mistakes but then who doesn’t except for maybe you and TTK.

Very ungrateful Fagan ODowd

moron i did make reference to their defending. if they did it properly they would have won the game easily. they didnt.

thats as valid a comment as your own drivel

Perhaps but true all the same. If Davy was managing Waterford for a decade they wouldn’t get within an asses roar of Kilkenny or Tipp because of the way he had the team set up. In the end he was focussing on damage limitation and he couldn’t even get that right.

They have never beaten them in a championship game