agreed, but yeâll win one before 10 years
Nevermind him, the Wexford lads adore Kilkenny hurling, the sad cunts.
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=190400
Daly calls for a return to the old style league. The top 8 would be Kilkenny, Galway, Tipp, Waterford, Clare, Limerick, Dublin, Cork. Nothing wrong with what Dalo is saying but cue the crying, whinging from the relegated counties after year one. Daloâs format is good and if it came about counties should just make sure they win a few games and donât get relegated rather than crying about the format when they do get relegated. I think the 2012 format was okay but Daloâs proposal is good too.
Michael Fennelly stated during the week that the present format is great because it adds real cut to the games. He seemed to love the extra competitiveness to the games in the league. Counties need to produce a few Fennellyâs and then the league format wont be an issue for them
Produce a few Fennellyâs! Why didnât anyone think of this sooner?! Hurling is saved guys!
Hurling is saved? I didnât realise that it was in that much danger because of a league format. Hurling is no more danger now than it was in the past. You seem to be of a school of thought that the present league format is going to kill hurling? Linking the league format debate to some greater cause of saving the game of hurling is a bit ott.
And the fact of the matter is if these counties who believe they should be in the top tier but are not would be where they want to be if they had a few better players. You donât see Kilkenny having a civil war over who should be minor hurling manager or senior hurling manager like Limerick and Cork have done. No strikes either. Is it any surprise Limerick and Cork are where they are bearing in mind what happened within those counties. Maybe avoiding this shite is why Kilkenny produce the likes of Fennelly and are in division 1A. My Fennelly analogy isnât as hilarious as you make it out to be.
Limerick got a raw deal when the format was changed a few years back but there are always going to be victims when people are constantly calling for change to the league format. The constant tinkering leads to this. They had two opportunities to get back up and couldnât so hankering back to the year they lost out when the format changed is getting a bit pointless.
He is making the obvious and entirely correct point that producing players - not pissing about with the league every year - is what matters for development.
JBM and Cork generally didnât do too much moaning about relegation or the format Turenne in fairness. I suppose any reasonable Cork man knows exactly why Cork are where they are and its not the league format.
I hope ye are getting yere house in order Turenne. I enjoy watching good Cork hurling teams.
Never mind
Poor JBM will be thanked for his efforts and quietly fucked out the door at the end of the season. Will Cunningham get the job?
[quote=âPiles Hussain, post: 761688, member: 363â]Kilkenny team for Sunday
Eoin Murphy
Paul Murphy
JJ
Jackie
Tommy
B Hogan
Joyce
Ryan
Rice
Wally
Power
Larkin
C Fennelly
R Hogan
Taggy[/quote]
Shame to see Conor Fogarty dropped. We could do with a bit of speed in the backs. Canât accuse the daddy of nepotism anyway.
Cody could have a tough call to make on all time legend Tommy Walsh over the next 12 months.
Havenât a notion how this will go which is par for the course with Galway matches. Herity seems to be finished
[quote=âcorner back, post: 762133, member: 1572â]Shame to see Conor Fogarty dropped. We could do with a bit of speed in the backs. Canât accuse the daddy of nepotism anyway.
Cody could have a tough call to make on all time legend Tommy Walsh over the next 12 months.
Havenât a notion how this will go which is par for the course with Galway matches. Herity seems to be finished[/quote]
As long as Walsh has 2 legs under him heâll be picked as long as Cody is there.
Thatâs the problem, his legs are gone
Shefflins are gone with 3 years, heâd still be picked for a championship match if fit.
Shefflin is a different story entirely. Walsh isnât too far from being an outright liability.
[quote=âkerry1891, post: 762031, member: 1379â]
I hope ye are getting yere house in order Turenne. I enjoy watching good Cork hurling teams.[/quote]
All down to underage/schools. Pretty decent crops in the development squads right now but schools is evidently permanently fucked.
Bar Midleton CBS. Won Rice Cup last year, won White Cup this year. Very good chance of winning Rice Cup this year. Midleton CBS are benefitting from the great work being done in the feeder clubs.
If you look at this yearâs minors, I think the starting 15 came from 15 different clubs. You wont get a school contending for a Harty Cup in those circumstances. If you look at each time a Cork School won a Harty Cup, there was a a good representative on the County minor team, which coincided with pretty successful minor teams. These lads would be great friends and would know each otherâs game inside out from playing and training together for 6 years at school. I think waterfordâs increase standing at minor is reflective in the performance of DLS, Blackwater and Waterford Colleges.
It is hard for development squads, no matter how well run, to replicate what happens when a group of talented players come together at once at school level. The lost of the North Mon, Farna and St. Colmans as hurling academies have really resulted in the poor performance of Cork teams at minor level. Its not to say that we are not still producing good minors, we are. Its that these lads are only getting exposed to a higher standard at the intercounty stage and are lacking the synergy Clare (Flannans, Caimins, ASL), Waterford (DLS, Blackwater, Waterford Colleges), Limerick (ASL) and Tipperary (Thurles CBS, Nenagh CBS, Templemore CBS) have from clusters of lads playing together at a much higher level at post primary level.
It shouldnât take much to fix the schools. Look what Waterford schools achieved in a few years.
Read an interview in the Echo a couple of years back from someone high up in Cork underage hurling. Basically stated that he was dead set against amalgamations both for practical geographical reasons and because it limited player participation. Stated improving the game in individual schools was the main focus, not amalgamating.
Personally Iâd be in favour of amalgamations both in the southside and northside of Cork city. Alternatively it could be done in places like Glanmire or Bandon. If there is no amalgamation then only Midleton CBS will be competitive. Looking at Cork colleges results, the likes of Colmans and CCR are miles off Midleton CBS. Not sure if Hamilton or Charleville are even playing at the top level. Brogans donât field hurling teams anymore. The Gaelscoil (Mon) are supposed to have a decent team in the Harty next year and Christians have a couple of decent sides underage. Thats about it, everything is on Midleton otherwise.
Blackrock/Na Piarsigh are the strongest underage clubs in Cork hurling year in year outâŚand most of those lads are either not playing Harty or getting hammered in it.
[quote=âfenwaypark, post: 762175, member: 276â]Bar Midleton CBS. Won Rice Cup last year, won White Cup this year. Very good chance of winning Rice Cup this year. Midleton CBS are benefitting from the great work being done in the feeder clubs.
If you look at this yearâs minors, I think the starting 15 came from 15 different clubs. You wont get a school contending for a Harty Cup in those circumstances. If you look at each time a Cork School won a Harty Cup, there was a a good representative on the County minor team, which coincided with pretty successful minor teams. These lads would be great friends and would know each otherâs game inside out from playing and training together for 6 years at school. I think waterfordâs increase standing at minor is reflective in the performance of DLS, Blackwater and Waterford Colleges.
It is hard for development squads, no matter how well run, to replicate what happens when a group of talented players come together at once at school level. The lost of the North Mon, Farna and St. Colmans as hurling academies have really resulted in the poor performance of Cork teams at minor level. Its not to say that we are not still producing good minors, we are. Its that these lads are only getting exposed to a higher standard at the intercounty stage and are lacking the synergy Clare (Flannans, Caimins, ASL), Waterford (DLS, Blackwater, Waterford Colleges), Limerick (ASL) and Tipperary (Thurles CBS, Nenagh CBS, Templemore CBS) have from clusters of lads playing together at a much higher level at post primary level.[/quote]
ironically it`s the decline in flannans fortunes that has paved the way for clare to compete at minor level in a lot of ways. in my time flannans would have interfered with the preparation of the minor team
[quote=âPiles Hussain, post: 761741, member: 363â]It isnât. Too many miles on the clock, too slow at the back, donât like to be ran at, there for the taking if turned.
The writing is on the wall.[/quote]
even though you are being sarcastic all of this has a ring of truth to it