National School Memories

FFS Tinnion I had repressed that memory.

As for the remidial classes as Bart said “let me get this straight we’re going to catch up to the rest of them by going slower?”

Anyone any tales on corporal punishment in their national school?

I had two old female teachers who used to give the odd whack on the back of the head. One of them used to whack the knuckles off me with a red pen they carried around.

But there was one teacher who died just before I was due to go into his class. My brothers were taught by him. He was an awful cunt by the sounds of it but it was accepted, as he was a ‘good teacher’ but ‘had a bit of a drink problem’. He used to give unmerciful beatings, things like beating lads out of their desk and punching them when they were on the ground and stuff. A man in his 60s doing that to 10 or 11 year old kids is a fucking disgrace but no one said anything. What a cunt.

On an unrelated topic, he was from Cork.

We had “the leather” in our school-there were a few raps of that going around. Bandage’s school had “the rubber”, I think, mostly dished out by Father Fortune. :unsure:

When I was in 4th class one of the lads in class was talking too much and the teacher flipped. Grabbed him, chair and all, and held him out the window, 3 storeys up. Teacher roaring at him asking if he was going to be quiet. The young lad shouts yes and the teacher calmly brought him back inside, placed the pupil back at his desk and continued the lesson.

KIB - any chance you can tell that lollipop story again? It’s a belter.

Another great moment in school was where the principal, who was fond of giving the odd whack every now and again, asked one of the lads to stop talking and threatened that if he didn’t ‘he would put him through the wall’.

Yer man replies calmly - ‘I’ll get my father in here and he’ll put you through the fucking wall!!’

The principal didnt give him any more grief after that.

We had a real old school lad in secondary school. I know two different lads he flaked with the back of the hand accross the face. He laid a mate of mines brother out one day with a punch aswell but that was a good few years back. He was some man to throw the duster aswell the cunt. Deadly accurate.

In fairness he was a great teacher. Serious control over the classroom.

Any of ye drink that horrible shite… Benny Bunny or Cool Crocker?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

We had a principal who was alright sort but also the posh, golfing type who never really came to terms with the general roughness of us country children. He decided to partake in a game of soccer one day and my older brother ended up shouldering him into a wall. He cut his finger in the exchange and proceeded to go into hysterics about it. He was convinced he could see the bone and ran inside to get something to stop the bleeding. The next day he came into school with his arm in a sling. We never really knew what to make of it.

Had a lucky escape going into 6th class as the principal who taught it was retiring. He used to wield a blackthorn stick for order/punishment. A mad Kerryman. So we went into 6th with the same teacher as in 5th who brought with him his stick “Larry”. Larry was used fairly often. Teacher went apeshit one day when someone stole Larry. There was hell to pay. Best teacher we had in fairness, he used Larry not just for punishment but for motivation, if you failed to answer a question that in the teacher’s opinion you should have known, you got a few slaps.

Just had a flashback there of a gymnastics exhibition we gave in the school hall there in fifth class. William Walker was a head strong chap and an awful fucking eejit with it. A bad mix. He fucking badgered poor ould Brother Prunty to let him do a somersault over 5 chairs but the Brother wasn’t having any of it. So William goes to Brother Roche (aka Tojo after his striking resemblance to the Japanese general). Anyway he does a practice run of the Evel Knievelesque routine for Tojo and aces it. He gets Tojo to have a word with Brother Prunty and sadly the brother relents.

Anyway the parents are all in the hall for the big show and it’s all going great until William sprints onto the springboard,slips and lands face down in the middle of the chairs, legs and arms akimbo, squealing like a stuck pig. Pandemonium ensued as his father was roaring at Brother Prunty for being so reckless and Brother Prunty went haring after Tojo

[QUOTE=“Fagan ODowd, post: 1086838, member: 706”]Just had a flashback there of a gymnastics exhibition we gave in the school hall there in fifth class. William Walker was a head strong chap and an awful fucking eejit with it. A bad mix. He fucking badgered poor ould Brother Prunty to let him do a somersault over 5 chairs but the Brother wasn’t having any of it. So William goes to Brother Roche (aka Tojo after his striking resemblance to the Japanese general). Anyway he does a practice run of the Evel Knievelesque routine for Tojo and aces it. He gets Tojo to have a word with Brother Prunty and sadly the brother relents.

Anyway the parents are all in the hall for the big show and it’s all going great until William sprints onto the springboard,slips and lands face down in the middle of the chairs, legs and arms akimbo, squealing like a stuck pig. Pandemonium ensued as his father was roaring at Brother Prunty for being so reckless and Brother Prunty went haring after Tojo[/QUOTE]
Toe-jooooooooooo :mad:

Our old head, a wino now by all accounts, was a scary fucker with a nasty wooden spoon, an even nastier stick he called “the tickler”, the cunt of a man, with which he used to hit seven year olds hard enough you could hear it through the wall.
The thick cunt bought this kind of old school copier called a gestetner, which was his pride and joy, and involved writing an original note on some kind of blotting paper, which you clipped into the machine and turned a handle and the machine spewed out some illegible ghost copy which vaguely resembled the original. He would then pass these out and read out the original message, and we would have to fill in the gaps ready for distribution. He loved this machine like a daughter.
Anyhow, the original plate could be written just by pressing on it with anything. He had this “gestetner pen”, which was basically just a piece of pointy plastic, and he lost it. He was practically hysterical. In order to try and calm him, I told him that I’d managed to write on it fine with an empty biro.
“What colour?”
“'twas empty sir”
“What colour?” He asked again, looking riled.
“Er, black” I replied.
Turning to the class, he asked
“Does anyone have an empty black biro?”
I’d have laughed at the time but was busy shitting myself.

[QUOTE=“Fagan ODowd, post: 1086838, member: 706”]Just had a flashback there of a gymnastics exhibition we gave in the school hall there in fifth class. William Walker was a head strong chap and an awful fucking eejit with it. A bad mix. He fucking badgered poor ould Brother Prunty to let him do a somersault over 5 chairs but the Brother wasn’t having any of it. So William goes to Brother Roche (aka Tojo after his striking resemblance to the Japanese general). Anyway he does a practice run of the Evel Knievelesque routine for Tojo and aces it. He gets Tojo to have a word with Brother Prunty and sadly the brother relents.

Anyway the parents are all in the hall for the big show and it’s all going great until William sprints onto the springboard,slips and lands face down in the middle of the chairs, legs and arms akimbo, squealing like a stuck pig. Pandemonium ensued as his father was roaring at Brother Prunty for being so reckless and Brother Prunty went haring after Tojo[/QUOTE]
:D:D:D
I have this vision of a Fr Jack type announcing to the assembled parents:
“And now, ladies and gentlemen, for the main event, one of the boys is going to jump over five chairs”

Corporal punishment was outlawed when I was in fifth class, I have to say, I never really suffered or saw much of it being carried out where I went to school. My mother (a teacher at the school, who needs corporal punishment when your mother’s a teacher and anyone who gets in trouble can take it out on her son?) was a primary school teacher for 35 years and she never hit or slapped a child. She thought it was counter productive and she said to me she was there to teach children, not hit other peoples children. Her best friend was another teacher at the school, both of them thought corporal punishment was disgusting and would let any other teacher indulging in it know their thoughts, for which they were sanctioned and got in trouble for on more than one ocassion. Unsurprisingly, they were the two best teachers in the school by a mile and it’s funny now listening to some of the lads who were troublemakers then talk with incredible respect about them. No such respect for any teacher that hit them. The hardest lad I knew in school, who came from a frankly horrible family situation, a guy you would think would end up in prison (members of his family have, some have committed suicide) reckons he was scared shitless of both of them and would do anything they asked. He can’t explain it except to say he thinks he respected them (he’s an incredibly successful bloke now). Liam Mulvihill was a school inspector when I was in primary school and Mam told me once that he would come down like a tonne of bricks on any teacher / principal he found hitting kids. So there were those in the system who had no time for it or anyone using it to discipline kids. Not enough of them apparently.
Slapping children in school has to be one of the most stupid things teachers could do.
I still can’t remember any nurse ever looking at my todger either (until I went to college in Waterford).

[QUOTE=“Fitzy, post: 1087036, member: 236”]Corporal punishment was outlawed when I was in fifth class, I have to say, I never really suffered or saw much of it being carried out where I went to school. My mother (a teacher at the school, who needs corporal punishment when your mother’s a teacher and anyone who gets in trouble can take it out on her son?) was a primary school teacher for 35 years and she never hit or slapped a child. She thought it was counter productive and she said to me she was there to teach children, not hit other peoples children. Her best friend was another teacher at the school, both of them thought corporal punishment was disgusting and would let any other teacher indulging in it know their thoughts, for which they were sanctioned and got in trouble for on more than one ocassion. Unsurprisingly, they were the two best teachers in the school by a mile and it’s funny now listening to some of the lads who were troublemakers then talk with incredible respect about them. No such respect for any teacher that hit them. The hardest lad I knew in school, who came from a frankly horrible family situation, a guy you would think would end up in prison (members of his family have, some have committed suicide) reckons he was scared shitless of both of them and would do anything they asked. He can’t explain it except to say he thinks he respected them (he’s an incredibly successful bloke now). Liam Mulvihill was a school inspector when I was in primary school and Mam told me once that he would come down like a tonne of bricks on any teacher / principal he found hitting kids. So there were those in the system who had no time for it or anyone using it to discipline kids. Not enough of them apparently.
Slapping children in school has to be one of the most stupid things teachers could do.
I still can’t remember any nurse ever looking at my todger either (until I went to college in Waterford).[/QUOTE]
Yeah, of course, you lived in never never land while everyone else was getting rode… Pull the other one, mate. Can you explain to me then how there has been an explosion of homosexuality since the end of corporal punishment? It shows that it was beat out of a good few lads back in the day and all a few of them need now is a good kicking.

Teachers kids were always cunts.

It makes so much more sense now.

The teachers who didn’t use corporal punishment were generally the worst in my experience as they developed methods of psychological bullying and torture that would scar chaps for life. We had far more time for the teacher who’d give you a quick ten belts across the hand with the leather and get on with life than some cunt who’d give you the whole "come up here now ODowd tell we get a look at you " routine. “Tell us all the joke”. “There was no joke sir” “Nooo jooooke - well what was the the big laugh for so” “I wasn’t laughing sir”. “Well I’ll tell you what ODowd why don’t you kneel down there until you can think of the joke”.
Six weeks later I was still kneeling all day every day in school. No wonder my knees are fucked.

[QUOTE=“Fagan ODowd, post: 1087051, member: 706”]The teachers who didn’t use corporal punishment were generally the worst in my experience as they developed methods of psychological bullying and torture that would scar chaps for life. We had far more time for the teacher who’d give you a quick ten belts across the hand with the leather and get on with life than some cunt who’d give you the whole "come up here now ODowd tell we get a look at you " routine. “Tell us all the joke”. “There was no joke sir” “Nooo jooooke - well what was the the big laugh for so” “I wasn’t laughing sir”. “Well I’ll tell you what ODowd why don’t you kneel down there until you can think of the joke”.
Six weeks later I was still kneeling all day every day in school. No wonder my knees are fucked.[/QUOTE]
Pure cunts… The kind of cunts that would let you out into the yard for play time but had you stood against a wall with your back turned to everyone. You’d hear all the screams and laughter but if you even went to move an inch they were there waiting to scold you. It was psychological warfare at its worst. Fitzy’s ma is a proper, proper cunt, that’s for sure.