Nct

Just to let ye both know. If your window washer was out of water and failed all you would have to do is go outside , fill it with a bottle of water or what ever, go to reception and tell them you had rectified the problem . The inspector comes out to the car park and checks it is working. Job done. No queuing, no waiting no extra fee.

Sure taz yeah? That’s what I was afraid of. It’s a 2007. So if I got it done in Feb 15 it’d only last a month? Or what if I was getting it done in May 15 - would it be expired straight away? I’m a bit confused.

Ah farmer come on. They tell you to make sure of about 3 things before the test, one of which is to make sure there’s water in there. If you don’t do it that’s the risk you run.

[QUOTE=“myboyblue, post: 954288, member: 180”]
Also, is it failed or merely a case of a sight check?[/QUOTE]

Thank you for answering my question.

Farmer would no doubt flat out refuse to do so on principal.

The expiry date is the expiry date regardless of when you get the test done. So if you got it tested in Feb 2015 you would have to get it tested again a month later-it is not set by when you got it tested.

If you got it done in May 15 it would last until March 17, next year is the last year you will get 2 years from an NCT though once the car is over the 8 years you it only lasts 12 months.

Mine failed before as one of the water squirters was squirting water straight onto the roof of the car and missing the windscreen. I was told it didn’t need a retest and just had to be presented with that working. I took a thumb tack out of their notice board and wedged it into the yoke and back into place and was then ‘re-examined’. Nothing cuntish about it in my opinion. Don’t think people realise that not every failed test requires a full retest.

Clarkey it is 2 years on cars older than 4 years. If your NCT is out of date then when it is NCT’d, the cert will be back dated to start at when the NCT test should have been done.

Thanks for the info rintintin and taz. Makes sense to me now.

In other news, would anyonw like to buy an unroadworthy car?

[QUOTE=“ClarkeyCat, post: 954335, member: 15”]Thanks for the info rintintin and taz. Makes sense to me now.

In other news, would anyonw like to buy an unroadworthy car?[/QUOTE]
If it has expired by 2 years then you get it started again from the test date. I did that with my last car. It wasover 2 years out of date for the NCT (think it wa sover 4 years too) and because they couldn’t backdate it to the due date they gave me a cert from that test date onwards for 2 years. I was a bit unsure how they’d approach it and I’m not great in human interactions so I sent @Raymond Crotty to the test centre for me on the day in question and that’s how they dealt with it. Helpfully, I didn’t let Raymond know it was so far out of date so he wouldn’t have to lie about anything if such a situation came up.

I just did mine over a week ago in a similar way but the end date was fixed for 2 years from the original date of register of the car. All tests and expiries work off that date. I dunno what scamming Rocko and Crotty were at. It’s very possible Raymond Crotty necer took your car for a test rocko and just printed a made up cert off mspaint to keep you happy.

[QUOTE=“farmerinthecity, post: 954293, member: 24”]The window washer is fully functioning but it is just that there is no water in it.

Yes they ask to present the car in a certain manner and things like hubcaps, seat belts etc they specifically ask for. I am not aware that they specify to have the windscreen washer full with water.

It would be very easy to forget to put water in. In any case, they can judge if the windscreen washer is working even with no water as it would make the noise.

All that would have to be said is ‘your car is fine - just that there was no water in the windscreen washer so obviously rectify that’.

So to fail someone on such a thing is not only cuntish but also technically incorrect as there is no issue as to the roadworthiness of the car which is what the NCT seeks test.[/QUOTE]

Grand I won’t bother putting air in my tyres for the next NCT

Hang on - they would actually let you drive out to the car park with no water for the wipers! :eek:

We’re fucked so.

Have my retest tomorrow lads. Please log all well wishes here.

Go get them, hun. xx

Thinking of you babes

All the best, pal.

You can do it.

I passed guys. Thanks for all your support.