Farmer he is well known for throwing tantrums and question managers selections. He also was prone to days (mostly with Ireland mind you) where he would completely switch off and not make much of an effort. This usually went hand and hand with giving out to team mates.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 855818, member: 273”]Farmer he is well known for throwing tantrums and question managers selections. He also was prone to days (mostly with Ireland mind you) where he would completely switch off and not make much of an effort. This usually went hand and hand with giving out to team mates.
We’ve been thru this before.[/quote]
Can you give me evidence of him throwing tantrums and questioning managers selections? I have honestly never heard of anything like that in any of his clubs or with Ireland. In fact many of the managers have spoken of him as being a terrific person around the dressing room. I’m not saying you’re wrong but I certainly have never heard of it.
With Ireland he can be annoying in terms of blaming team mates or blaming the referee but I have never seen him ‘completely switch off’. Never.
[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 855822, member: 24”]Can you give me evidence of him throwing tantrums and questioning managers selections? I have honestly never heard of anything like that in any of his clubs or with Ireland. In fact many of the managers have spoken of him as being a terrific person around the dressing room. I’m not saying you’re wrong but I certainly have never heard of it.
With Ireland he can be annoying in terms of blaming team mates or blaming the referee but I have never seen him ‘completely switch off’. Never.[/quote]
Ah look farmer I can’t recall exactly the games but I clearly remember being disgusted with him and his lack of effort for Ireland.
As for the tantrums, good source from Liverpool and Spurs. You may not believe that and I won’t be putting up any names, but I believe it for what it’s worth.
What managers say publicly really has to be taken with a pinch of salt.
Kev came up with this nonsense about Keane being disruptive in the dressing room before. He had no examples to back it up then and has none now. It’s an invention. Keane wasn’t popular with the national media for a long time. Ludicrous as it sounds, much of that was to do with his accent and background. Well-groomed Damien Duff was never subject to anything like the same criticism for some reason.
We’ve all had a right laugh with the “people Kev knows” thing over the year but pretending to know a dressing room source in Liverpool and Spurs is fantastical.
[quote=“Rocko, post: 855825, member: 1”]Kev came up with this nonsense about Keane being disruptive in the dressing room before. He had no examples to back it up then and has none now. It’s an invention. Keane wasn’t popular with the national media for a long time. Ludicrous as it sounds, much of that was to do with his accent and background. Well-groomed Damien Duff was never subject to anything like the same criticism for some reason.
We’ve all had a right laugh with the “people Kev knows” thing over the year but pretending to know a dressing room source in Liverpool and Spurs is fantastical.[/quote]
It’s not really. Regular people work in these places too. People from Cork and Dublin even.
[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 855844, member: 24”]
The only thing more ridiculous than saying Damien Duff got preferential treatment from the media is that Damien Duff is ‘well groomed’.[/quote]
I don’t think it is a case that Duff got preferencial treatment but there were a few performances when he was quite poor or disinterested yet very little was made of it in the media, yet Robbie would be pillared for similar poor showings.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 855880, member: 273”]So at last, a Robbie fan who admits to poor performances. Plural being important.
I was starting to think ye dick heads believed he never had a bad game.[/quote]
That’s not what anyone is saying. But saying he is ‘difficult’ or a bad influence in the dressing room as well as saying he ‘completely switched off’ for Ireland is complete horseshit.
Robbie Keane is an Irish legend. Naturally he wasn’t going to be excellent in every game he lined out in, not even Diego could do that, but he gives his all in the Irish jersey, and has a goalscoring record not likely to be matched in our lifetime. He always turned up to wear the shirt and never disrespected it. An earlier sullen attitude to the media has also improved immensely, more so since the captaincy went to him, even the most grissled hack will agree with that. He’ll not be replaced, and those that are content to criticise him now and take cheap shots will miss him when he’s gone.
[quote=“Rocko, post: 855825, member: 1”] Keane wasn’t popular with the national media for a long time. Ludicrous as it sounds, much of that was to do with his accent and background. Well-groomed Damien Duff was never subject to anything like the same criticism for some reason.
.[/quote]
what a complete load of bollox… Duff went to school in De La sale churchtown which is far from a snobby school…he lived in moyville in ballyboden which is not a snobby area…he was terrible at interviews for most of his career…jesus you’re some man for trying to turn everything in to a social injustice and aligning yourself with the perceived down trodden…
Rocko has been going off on one about Damien Duff being vastly overrated for the last few days now and he is only making a bigger fool out of himself each time.