@glasagusban sweet talking those 2 very very drunk American girls back to their hotel room is a very very good example of what hook was warning people about.
No surprise really that the likes of @glasagusban would want hook sacked.
No, it’s an admission that there are dangerous people out there and people can take precautions to minimise the chances of such incidents occurring to them.
The rape was secondary to Hook’s point, read what he said, he went off on a stupid tangent which was nonsense to a younger generation but would tally with his own vintage, he repeatedly said that she didn’t deserve what happened to her,
And to address an earlier point you made, there’s fuck all love for George in Cork, more people are probably embarrassed of him if I’m being honest.
I normally have good time for you nembo but when you see @HBV agreeing with you you must know your wrong
One could logically extend that argument to anything.
For instance, if you get mown down by a van driven by an Islamist extremist on a London bridge, those who follow Hook’s line would say “it’s your fault as such incidents have happened before and you should have known not to put yourself in danger”.
If I walked down an interface area in Occupied Ulster with a Celtic jersey on me in the early hours of the morning, I do not deserve to be murdered or assaulted but it would not be wise and I would be potentially putting myself in danger.
There are choices that people make, nobody said the girl deserved what happened to her or that she was to blame what happened to her but I’m sure she’d make different decisions if she had the chance again.
That’s just fucking stupid @Sidney surely you could have come up with something better.
Here is one for ya, I walk down o’connell street and i take out my wallet and start counting my money in the middle of the street, some druggie sees me and the cash and they come along and jump me and take my cash and me with a few bruises. Now whose fault is that?
If a woman walks down the street in hot pants and gets raped, whose fault is that?
This is the logic you are employing here. Get a grip man ffs.
If you went home with a bird and her male housemate came in and raped you after you had sex with her, how much responsibility would you calculate you had for being raped?
Nope they shouldn’t and you are being a fucking gobshite as well. What they should be is aware of their surroundings and take precautions to keep themselves safe. Like me walking down o’connell street should i be robbed because i was counting my cash, no is the answer but i should have the cop on not to out my cash and start counting in the middle of the street.
Its not about condoning rape, its about looking afterself and keeping yourself safe.
And this is comparable to having what you think is a consensual sexual encounter how?
How is it stupid?
I’ve regularly counted money in public in Dublin and nothing has ever happened to me.
The example I gave is on the money, to keep that theme. It’s an example of people doing normal things and having a grotesque crime inflicted on them.
People have one night stands all the time.
Have you ever had a one night stand?
Was the woman involved to drug you, rob you, tie your four limbs to the bedposts and leave you there locked in the room, by your logic, surely it would be your fault, yes?
If you ever have had a one night stand, did you see fit to inform the woman beforehand that she was putting herself in a position of danger where she might be the victim of a serious crime?
If you did not inform her of this, by your logic, why not?
Of course not you fucking idiot. But if i am going home with someone and i am sure as hell going to do my damdest to make sure i am as safe as can be. There have been a few situations that i have walked away from because i didn’t feel safe.
I don’t think anyone is saying the victim is to blame.
You seem to be looking at life from an unrealistic, ideological viewpoint.
To quote Rocky Balboa:
“The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place, and I don’t care how tough you are, it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life.”
As much as you might feel from an ideological viewpoint that there should be a freedom for people to make these choices, the world has it’s fair share of sickos and psychopaths and sometimes life choices can put you at a higher risk of these people.
If you don’t know the person, it’s a risk.
Were you told not to take lifts from strangers when you were young?
George Hook is. Read what he said.
Then stop making excuses for rapists.
Who is making excuses for rapists?
I think he put in a disclaimer that she was not to blame but people should be more cognisant of the potential dangers of life choices.
The world can be quite a nasty place, everyone makes mistakes and bad judgement calls in life, nobody is to say they are the blame for these unilaterally but people should learn from horrific incidents like this and try your best not to put yourself in danger.
It’s a risk to drive a car.
Yes. Does that mean I’d be to blame if it turned out to be a paedophile giving me the lift?
The important thing here, and the red herring you and @tazdedub are introducing, is that your example is in no way comparable to what Hook said.
Hook has clearly implied that a woman who went for what she thought was a consensual sexual encounter is to blame for her rape.
And he uses the word “blame”.
It’s as clear a case of victim blaming as there can be.
If somebody prefaces a racist remark with “I’m not a racist but…” and then goes on to make that racist remark, that’s racism.
If somebody says “I’m not blaming the victim” but then goes on to blame the victim, that’s victim blaming.
That’s exactly what Hook has done.