New Newstalk line up

Not consensual. She was blackout drunk.

We all have autonomy of our choices in life. I’m sure we’ve all made poor decisions that have put ourselves in danger from time to time. Nobody is blaming the girl or saying it’s her fault.

What I’m saying is that the world can be a cruel and unforgiving place, life choices are there to be made, try to minimise crazy decisions that can put you in peril.

You’re being hysterical here. I don’t even like Hook but all I got from his words are the only control we have in life are the choices we make, we will all make bad judgement calls from time to time but try and be smart about things.

Hopping into bed with a stranger you know little about is a risk you take, the girl did not deserve what happened but I’m sure it’s a choice she will regret for the rest of her life.

Having sex with a woman who isn’t in a fit state to give consent is rape.

It appears from her testimony that the woman was in a state where she had the ability to both give consent and not to give consent, which she did not do with the second man.

I’m merely correcting you on a fact. Hook blamed the victim. Read what he said. It’s black and white.

Maybe i was just lucky. But to answer your questions i would always ask a woman who i was having a one night stand with if she was sure and if she wasn’t we would swap numbers. I would never have a one night stand with any woman who.i thought was too drunk as to me that would be like taking advantage. Any other women i had one night stands with were women i knew who were friends or work colleagues. It would be rare to have a one night stand with a complete stranger.

I also had my own rules about one night stands like not going to hotels, strangers houses who i dont who is there. There have been times i walked away from a one night stand because i didn’t feel right about it. Just sensisble things. Now if anything had’ve happened to me i wouldn’t be at fault like anyone who is raped is not at fault and you cant cover every situation. Unfortunately the world we live in is full of sick fucks who look like normal people and all you can do is try protect yourself as much as you can.

I think sometimes you have to allow people a little freedom with their words.

The only thing we can control in life is our own choices, sometimes people make reckless choices that put themselves in peril. The consequences of these choices can be grotesque and unmerited but I think every person has an onus of responsibility to their own safety.

There are evil people out there who are going to do horrible things, the best thing you can do to ensuring you’re not a victim of them is not to make life choices that put you in harms way, as glib as that may seen. We’ve all made mistakes (similar to that or similarly reckless), of that I’m sure but so far fate has been kind to us, unfortunately not to that girl. These type of cases should be a lesson to women out there, they have to be careful and look out for themselves.

So you have had one night stands, and with complete strangers, though you say it was rare. I’d imagine most people on this forum have had such, including myself.

And, had anything untoward happened to you, them, or me, you, them or I wouldn’t have been to blame.

Just like this woman.

This isn’t very complicated and I don’t know why people are trying to make it so or condone Hook’s black and white victim blaming remarks.

The bottom line is people should be free to have consensual sex with whoever they want, as that’s part of what makes a free society, and not have bigoted, reactionary old (or young) farts blaming them if they then become the victim of a serious crime.

Hook models himself on the worst of right-wing US talk radio. He’s a fucking cancer on Irish broadcasting. Kevin Myers rightly lost his job for what, on the whole, was probably a slightly less serious misdemeanour, bad as it was.

Hook should be out on his ear but he won’t be, because sadly there’s a market out there for bigoted, blowhard, misogynistic tripe on radio.

The victim is never to blame for rape and it doesn’t matter what they wear or how much they drink. All I’m saying is everyone has to be careful. I will be telling my daughter now not to talk to strangers or go anywhere with strangers and that she has to come home and tell me or her mother if any strangers approached her. Same when she grows up i will be telling her to be careful not to drink too much and if she is going somewhere with someone to be careful and that’s all you can do. My wife wants my daughter to do martial arts so she can protect herself is that wrong? I pray to God that nothing ever happens to her but if it does i will be right there to give her all the support and help she needs and i wouldn’t even think of blaming her. Thats all a parent can do and all people can do to keep themselves safe.

Just leave it at that mate.

These cunts obviously have no female relatives.I’m wild disappointed in @Nembo_Kid

It’s been an eye opener to be honest.

Rape is alright in certain cases,apparently.

What kind of jinnets still listen to fucking Newstalk . Tis awful .

Without getting into a one hundred post spat it’s quite clear to me that he implied that it was the woman’s fault. On the other hand the alleged perpetrator gets off quite lightly in Hook’s criticism.

Do you tell your kids to fire ahead and hop into cars with strangers and accept lifts off them?

That’s Utopian thinking.

The world has its fair share of paedos, rapists and murderers. It’s important that people exercise caution in this regard and don’t put themselves in dangerous circumstances.

Hopping into a car with a stranger is something you’d be warned never to do as a kid. Why would deciding going back to bed with a stranger be considered to have no bearing?

Kids are vulnerable which is why parents strictly warn them about interacting with strangers.

In many cases women are vulnerable, going back to a guy’s house that you just met in the middle of the night, particularly when you’ve drink on board is quite reckless behaviour.

It’s not a blame game, it’s just pointing out that the only locus of control a person has is in making their own decisions

Best sports broadcasting on the radio.

I won’t speak for anybody else but I think this is a mountain out of a molehill screaming Mary overreaction to a misjudged comment, Hook never blamed the girl for anything, he’s a blithering gobshite but this type of thinking would be absolutely par for the course among his generation, the rape was not relevant to his point which was a question on morality. I don’t agree with his point at all, people are free to have sex with whoever they choose, but I respect his right to that opinion and have sympathy that the usual screamers are looking to hang him over it.
I have 4 daughters.

We know. You tell us every other day.

But you have very very very serious issues with me having sex with whomever I chose, to the extent that you have to mention my sexy life here practically every single day.