New Years Eve... The boredom

So, Last year I was playing xbox at 11:58 with Mrs GSH watching the Podge and Rodge new years eve special downstairs.
The Yanks we were playing with online were saying how sad it was that we were online on new years eve at 10pm. When I told them it was actually midnight they lost it and broke down laughing.
Personally, I had some good new years eve parties in various towns with friends but these days I think itā€™s just a mess of a night out.
What do ye all do? Boycott the evening or spend 400 euro on a bigā€™un.

Yours in general wonderment and not at all in a ā€˜stalkingā€™/ā€˜information gatheringā€™ kind of way,

[quote=ā€œGarda Sean Horganā€]So, Last year I was playing xbox at 11:58 with Mrs GSH watching the Podge and Rodge new years eve special downstairs.
The Yanks we were playing with online were saying how sad it was that we were online on new years eve at 10pm. When I told them it was actually midnight they lost it and broke down laughing.
Personally, I had some good new years eve parties in various towns with friends but these days I think itā€™s just a mess of a night out.

Yours in general wonderment and not at all in a ā€˜stalkingā€™/ā€˜information gatheringā€™ kind of way,
GSH.[/quote]

Most overrated night of the year. Never go out for it anymore but will go to a house party if thereā€™s one going.

[quote=ā€œGarda Sean Horganā€]So, Last year I was playing xbox at 11:58 with Mrs GSH watching the Podge and Rodge new years eve special downstairs.

GSH.[/quote]

gsh, did you run down and give her a quick kiss at midnight and then tear back up to the kiddies game?

id say you just may actually be a cop you know

Agreedā€¦The biggest anti-climax since flano thought he was on for the ride and blew his load in his trousersā€¦

Best one I had was in the Brewery Pub in Ennis, 40 quid in and free drink all night. The pub wasnā€™t packed, there was no hassle getting beer and everyone was in good form, they lost money on me that night. Havenā€™t gone out in years for it, this year weā€™ve a wedding the day before and have to goto the second day party that they are turning into a New Years party

Usually a shite night, when I was with my ex weā€™d end up at a party full of couples, which was never much fun as theyā€™d be making faces when I tried to switch channels to BBC2. In fairness, parties full of single people (blokes) arenā€™t a lot of fun either though. In light of the above, Iā€™ll probably end up at another party full of blokes.

It was just the wrong couples party Sledge.
Next time keep the telly off.

Keys in the bowl!

I think itā€™s a gash night too. I had a couple of ā€˜go doā€™ something nights when I was college like going to see The Frames and Mundy and stuff and they were shit nights. Iā€™ve had shit nights in Wexford too where you pay ā‚¬20 to stand in the function room of a hotel and listen to a DJ playing shit music, while contemplating how long itā€™ll take to get served when the barā€™s 6 rows deep. I think Iā€™ll spend this year online having a debate with KIB Man about football or something.

2 bottles of red and an argument about football on the internet, why didnā€™t I think of that?

Since youā€™re pushing for NCC to prove things elsewhere on the forum I want the same from you. Otherwise Iā€™ll ask you to withdraw your comments.

Two good NYE out of 31 for me

• One was a family wedding, surprisingy good way to spend the night
  • Second was at the Stunning in Killarney two years ago where we rented 3 houses next to each other and just went on a bender for three days.

Do you really want me to prove it flanoā€¦

[quote=ā€œHBV*ā€]gsh, did you run down and give her a quick kiss at midnight and then tear back up to the kiddies game?

id say you just may actually be a cop you know[/quote]
Thats exactly what happened.
We took a 10 minute break to check on the wife and spend some quality new years eve stuff together then back up stairs and back online. The Asians were only getting up on new years day at that time and they would be sleepy so a good time to win a few games of Halo.

Yours in being sad,

I donā€™t want anything

This is the deal in KK too.
You start at the back of a queue intent on getting yourself a pint. By the time you get to the bar you have decided to get yourself two pints, some sort of whiskey based concoction and possibly a jagerbomb.

[quote=ā€œGarda Sean Horganā€] The Asians were only getting up on new years day at that time and they would be sleepy so a good time to win a few games of Halo.

Yours in being sad,
GSH.[/quote]

I love it

Quality :wink:

Iā€™m no fan of NYE, usually totally underwhelmed by it.

Had only a few good ones down the years
Last year was the best- 2nd day of my honeymoon in Cape Town, champagne, wine, food, brandy, more champagne.
Nightclub- beer and dancing
Hotel - take a guess

WBY

[quote=ā€œW.B. Yeatsā€]
Hotel - take a guess

WBY[/quote]

Hardcore porn on one of the pay channels while your missus was passed out beside you?