New Years Eve... The boredom

Sydney was great when I was there. But fuck me, the walk back to Newtown on my tod was a nightmare.

The Aussies don’t really have Christmas like we do but they make up for it with New Years.

[quote=“Thrawneen”]Sydney was great when I was there. But fuck me, the walk back to Newtown on my tod was a nightmare.

The Aussies don’t really have Christmas like we do but they make up for it with New Years.[/quote]

I remember getting an underground back out to Bondi then straight onto the Tea Gardens. I think I last half an hour in there before I was thrown out.

Used to be downstairs in Murphy Floods for a few years til it burned down-then it was Benedict’s Nightclub, where you’d to queue by 9 at least or you hadn’t a hope of getting in-place used to be jammed and you’d give up going to the bar after a while. Condenstation used to drip constantly off the ceiling. Constantly spotting some lad at the bar you knew that played hurling with you up to U14 before he turned to soccer, and roaring at him to get you a drink. You give him the money on his return and you’ve nothing to say to each other except for that time he pulled on yer man’s head below in Marshalstown in 1996. Always the same story every time you meet him too.

Then I went to a house party one NYE and there was actually vodka on tap which I constantly topped up my glass with for the night. Balloobas that night-had about 20 close up pics of this one’s cleavage on my camera the next morning. Woke up the next morning and there was broken glass literally everywhere. Apparently I was going around at the end of the night firing glass down on the floor. I picked up an antique lampshade and some antique thing in a glass case and had to be held back from dropping them too. Last time I drank vodka straight anyway (and last time I was invited to a house party strangely enough). Pretty much stayed at home every New year’s since.

[quote=“Pikeman”]Used to be downstairs in Murphy Floods for a few years til it burned down-then it was Benedict’s Nightclub, where you’d to queue by 9 at least or you hadn’t a hope of getting in-place used to be jammed and you’d give up going to the bar after a while. Condenstation used to drip constantly off the ceiling. Constantly spotting some lad at the bar you knew that played hurling with you up to U14 before he turned to soccer, and roaring at him to get you a drink. You give him the money on his return and you’ve nothing to say to each other except for that time he pulled on yer man’s head below in Marshalstown in 1996. Always the same story every time you meet him too.

Then I went to a house party one NYE and there was actually vodka on tap which I constantly topped up my glass with for the night. Balloobas that night-had about 20 close up pics of this one’s cleavage on my camera the next morning. Woke up the next morning and there was broken glass literally everywhere. Apparently I was going around at the end of the night firing glass down on the floor. I picked up an antique lampshade and some antique thing in a glass case and had to be held back from dropping them too. Last time I drank vodka straight anyway (and last time I was invited to a house party strangely enough). Pretty much stayed at home every New year’s since.[/quote]

Ye goon - ye nearly broke a 5 grand telescope that night as well

That’s what was in the glass case alright.

you betcha

[quote=“Bandage”]Were you determined not to back out? That seems like an odd arrangement post break up.

Didn’t want to go initially - thought it was off the cards but she suggested it just before Christmas. As I still fancied her I went along. Temporary reunion.

I only just remembered it’s new year’s Eve. Do people still go out for this. ?

This is my first year staying in since 2012. Second day of a wedding in 2013 [life partner’s friend’s nuptials], dinner in Darwin’s followed by pints in The Long Hall in 2014 [just with my life partner] and dinner and drinks in Siam Thai last year [part of a group].

Pretty much everything is focused on the city centre in Dublin. I was up in the shops in Grand Canal Dock at 5pm and it was deserted. Then I was in Spar, Bath Avenue at half time in the Manchester City-Liverpool game at 6.15pm (I forgot to buy carrots :carrot: and butter when I was in Fresh, GCD) and it was eerily quiet on the streets.

I’m sure there’s a younger generation of revellers all set for Flannery’s, Copper’s and whatever nobbish places the posher types go to.

I haven’t gone out on New Year’s since 1999.

I thought the world was going to end that year and was left very disappointed in the aftermath.

I’ll be in bed at 10.30pm.

Might go for a jog before then.

Listening to this now.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfWb_60lhw0

[quote=“Nembo_Kid, post:50, topic:6570, full:true”].

I haven’t gone out on New Year’s since 1999.

I thought the world was going to end that year and was left very disappointed in the aftermath.

I’ll be in bed at 10.30pm.

Might go for a jog before then.

Listening to this now.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfWb_60lhw0

On New Year’s Eve 1999 I booted up 3 old PCs that I had to watch the millennium bug live in action. Nothing happened, other than 1 requested a time reset. Terribly disappointing and New Year’s hasn’t been the same for me since.

Watching Netflix. Rest of the family buried in tablets, laptops etc.

Join the club. I have fireworks and no one is interested.

Do you have a girlfriend bro?

No, mate.

I think I’ll go get me a snackbox to ring in the new year.

I’d love a proper bag of Italian chipper chips doused in salt and vinegar.

Just had one, over rated too. Don’t know what to do with myself

Well fuck you @Bandage. I was grand and comfortable. Now you’ve put the longing on me

Will you make it till midnight