Itās sometimes nice to to get a small bit of balance rather than painting someone as some type of cartoon super cunt when heās not really. Heās a product of modern society. A bit of a pain in the hole and a cute hoor. Most of the stuff he talks about is positive but I suppose it becomes a danger if people despise him so much that they go against the generally positive message at the back of it all.
If I found out 100pc he was straight up lying about his teenage years id agree with you. Iām not sure itās that simple though.
It would be easy to find out too. Just need to talk to a friend or classmate from his teenage years. Or maybe he hid it too well
You want to look the other way because his grift is positive. Iād argue his grift causes more good than harm - his type of grift dilutes totally from real mental health issues. And heās not alone.
The self help, get rich, manifest your dream life are all shills grifting off hope. The therapeutic is the bible of neoliberal corporate culture .
Thatās a key point. Acknowledge what he is but couple that with some of the benefits that it may bring. Carry on and itās every man for himself at the end of the day.
It amazes me to see how Brezzie and the likes of Gerry Hussey can sell out events selling their snake oil but if there are people out there who genuinely find these events beneficial to their mental health then whatās the harm.
I kind of agree but then i suppose the possible harm of āwhat harmā is twofold.
A) influencers become our go to rather than medical professionals because of their story.
B) Do what I did stories replace treatment in a world where actual information drowns under the weight of shite on the internet. People dont get news from news channels anymore, they get it from people they follow on the internet. The world would benefit greatpy from a more fact based society.
Breslin is claiming to be an expert on something he is not. In fact he has completely lied about his experience in order to make him appear to be more authentic and hence make more money.
You could be heartbroken and thats totally fine. But i would say in general men feel these things less than the woman who was carrying the baby. And i dont think theres enough emphasis yet on this for women, i think a lot of that pain is still quite quiet and taboo and kept under wraps. Bressie needing to talk about it from his perspective takes away from that in my book. A while ago, he was about breathing, before that it was anxiety, for a while it was fixing depression through running.
*I am talking about miscarriage in the first 3/4 months rather than losing a baby that is in its last trimester or so.
I find it hard to believe anyone could view the TFK evidence (hat tip @TreatyStones) and come to the conclusion this fella has a decent bone in his body. If anything his use of these issues to line his own pockets makes it all the more vile.
I find the term āmanly menā offensive in this regard. Thereās no doubt people here who have genuinely suffered from some of these issues that he uses to line his pockets. Its unseemly to belittle them and their feelings on this.
Is putting your faith in Bressie as a mental health advocate not the same sort of thing as putting your faith in some ānutritionistā who goes onto Joe Rogan saying we should all be eating raw meat or some other ridiculous assertion?