Official All Ireland Senior Football Championship 2010 Thread

“Is there a rivalry between Wexford and Wickla? I have never ever been aware of any?”

The fact that Wicklow were the worst team in Ireland for years may have something to do with that. But the little guy is a nice little guy 'till the little guy decides to get good, then he ain’t so nice anymore.

It must have to do with club rivalries or something that they were so poor, 'cos there is a love for GAA in Wicklow and some very good clubs.

Sorry kev, that question was for the lads from Wexford. I’m genuinely curious as to an answer. You seem to believe there is one, I wanted to know is ther in fact one. I’ve never heard of it being from leinster and all.

I never said there was, but what would i know, i only played club football in wicklow!

In fact i indicated there wasn’t and agreed with you as Wicklow were crap, so The games probably would have been one sided. So stop talking through your hole. Thanks.

Not really, wouldn’t mind them going well as long as it wasn’t at our own expense

Recently there has been a bit of bite between our selves and Meath, we have played them a good few times in the league and championship and generally came out on top. They really didn’t like that

Cheers for that Padjo. I never felt there was any there to be honest, and I dont think anyone would begrudge Wickla a few days in the sun. Saying that, they are absolutely shite still and any team incapable of beating them and Micko’s game should take a long hard look at themselves. I felt Carlow would take them, but then after seeing how bad Carlow are last night (watched a second Laois 15 take them to pieces 3-13 to 0-12) I would wonder how good Wickla really are.

IF I hadn’t seen how bad Westmeath are with my own eyes earlier in the year I would have fancied them to win with the game in Tullamore.

A lot of mutual respect between both counties. They partied with us in '96 as most of our roads home brought us through Wicklow and villages like Ashford and Rathnew, Baltinglass and Blessington. You’d have sworn they were in Wexford. I’d never forget things like that and as such Wicklow became my second team last year when they got a run up as it’d be great to see them doing well. So as a Wexford man, I wouldn’t say there’s a rivalry of any kind but as Kev says there is then I suppose there probably is :rolleyes:

Yea, I guess we should take his word for it.

Have just seen the Westmeath team, Flanagan and Glennon on the inside forward line, Donohue at full back, Ennis on the wing, and Duffy midfield? They’ll take Wickla with a few to spare I think.

I never said anything about rivalry, i said Wexford lads were getting worried about Wicklow possibly being better than them seeing as ye wanted to totally disregard all recent form. But of course you did that for last weekends games as well. :rolleyes:

1996 is a good while back lads, if ye keep going on about it ye’ll have the same wait as last time.

Where did any Wexford lad show a care for Wicklow?

I’m not sure what Kev’s on about here and mentioning me in it? Mac posted a couple of pages back that Wicklow beat Westmeath last year, I think. I replied and said it was actually Westmeath who beat them in a game Wicklow really should have won but it was the loss that put them into the qualifiers from where they had a great run. There’s no rivalry of note between Wexford and Wicklow and I made no comment as to their prospects/form this year. The ‘Wexford lads’ being afraid of Wicklow and disregarding form conclusion bears no resemblance to what Mac and I were posting about.

Only turned this on five minutes ago but from radio accounts it seems to be typically shite Connacht championship fare.

'On Sligo.

Trevor Mortimer booked for a terrific shoulder. It was so firm that he clashed heads with Charlie Harrison and Trev is now morto as far as this game goes. Great point from 45 with the outside of the left by Alan Costelloe to put Sligo 3 up. They should go on and win this now.

Alan Freeman has turned in his best performance since he presented Top of the Pops with John Peel in the 1970’s but Mayo look to have fuck all else. Odds on Beverley Cooper Flynn retaining her seat are shortening by the minute.

Sligo much the better team and giving lie to my comment from a couple of posts above. Untypically exuberant and joyous Yeats county football fare. A far, far more attractive style than when they won Connacht in '07. Kevin Walsh could well be the Pep Guardiola of the Gaelic Football managerial world.

This could well be the day when Fine Gael lost the election.

sligo leitrim final connacht final :smiley:

Kevin Walshe is quite the up and coming manager

Sligo 0-15 Mayo 1-08

Well done Sligo,i can’t stand them big-headed bullshitting Mayo cunts.

Down and Sligo’s performances have restored my faith in this game. That is how to play it. Take note Patrick Gilroy.

Well put Sidney. :clap:

Martin McHugh said on the radio that this is the way football should be played.
I hope to fuck John Joe was tuned in.