Too right lads.
Was it Bandage who said Sligo have no chance whatsoever. Ha, it was obvious from the league finals which way the 2 teams were going. Walsh is doing a fantastic job and they play a really good standard of football.
Too right lads.
Was it Bandage who said Sligo have no chance whatsoever. Ha, it was obvious from the league finals which way the 2 teams were going. Walsh is doing a fantastic job and they play a really good standard of football.
Add Louth and Monaghan to that. But not Cork and Kerry
Mac Mac Mac. Your only making a clown of yourself, so stop.
On the game in Killarney, firstly the extra time. Everyone was under the impression there was extra time, and for me it looked like the players thought that as well. The Ref was foolish beyond belief, and reffed the game completely differently from the last time i saw him when i thought he was excellent. Was it because he was reffing the 2 best teams in Ireland? I don’t know, but he was fussy. He was poor for both teams, but Cork got 9 yellow cards, Kerry one maybe two. That didn’t add up in fairness.
On the game itself, i thought Cork were the better team overall in terms of will to win, tackiling, gaining possession etc, but Kerry were just so accurate. Kerry only had one what i would term a “score able wide”, they were just so economical, its only to be admired.
Brian Sheehan proved a few people wrong and troubled Ray Carey, the first person to do so IMO since Ray started for Cork, he still did some good things at the same time, particulary after half time. Delighted with Canty and Jamie Sull, Sullivans rise to Inter County football is actually a bit mental considering how average he was when younger.
Corks half backs dominated for the most part, but Galvin had a huge influence when on. It was very notable Cork took Noelie off straight away, things are that bad, its seems like there was almost an agreement between the managements to do so (of course there wasn’t, but it actually looked that way).
People calling Aidan Walsh a donkey weren’t watching the same game as me, now maybe it was different on tv, but in general play he was outstanding, absolutely bate SWcanlon and Quirke up a stick. His kick passing is some of the best in the country and he is a serious player for Cork already. Now he made 3 very bad calls in going for scores, one kick should have been inside of the boot instead of the outside, he shouldn’t have kicked another one and he should have picked up the ball for the goal chance, he probably would have been fouled. But to be honest those kind of things are very fixable. He’s got everything else to be a great great footballer for years to come.
Overall i think Cork have more to improve and even though i thought Kerry would win yesterday i think Cork should win next week with a bit to spare. Kerry overall were disappointing, they are in big trouble at midfield. Anthony Maher is definitely better than Moran at this stage though but i think Scanlon was shown up 'cos Daragh wasn’t in front of him, Scanlons deeper role doesn’t work with Quirke, who is not an Inter County footballer.
I think the game will have done alot for Canty, O’ Sullivan, Walsh and Pierce O’ Neill. Ciaran Sheehan had a good 2nd half and showed some of what he is capable of. Colm O’ Neill is being called for to start but i wouldn’t do that at all, he’s got more to prove than just going for one ball and scoring, he still failed to show for a ball before and after that. Goulding still scored a beauty and while he wasn’t great there is no reason to drop him for one average game. For now O’ Neill is still a good impact sub.
Well done to Alan Quirke as well, played excellently bar one poor kick out.
For me Cork are deliberately playing a certain type of game to conserve energy for the rest of the season, as there is an obvious move away from the power game full of running the ball from the back. Cork would have won handy had there been extra time, as i think while Kerry have the better 15 footballers still to start, Cork have an overall better squad and that matters so much these days. In a weird way, with the amount of improvement i know is in Cork, i’m a little bit more confident of Sam being back home later this year.
Quirke - 8
Carey - 6
Canty - 8
Sullivan - 8
Kissane - 9
Shields - 8
Noelie - 6.5
Walsh - 8
Alan O’ C - 8.5
Pierce - 7
Donnacha - 6
Kelly - 6.5
Goulding - 6
Sheehan - 7
Kerrigan - 7.5
Kealy - 8.5
Marc - 6.5
Griffen - 4.5 (He’s such a poor player at this level IMO even if he has plenty heart)
Tomas - 8.5
Mike Mac - 7.5
Killian Young - 8
Scanlon - 5
Quirke - 4
Walsh - 8.5
Dec Sull - 6
Darren Sull - 4
Gooch - 8
Star - 7
Sheehan 8.5
Am not sure if you watched a different game to the rest of us but how you can give Donncha Walsh 8.5 and Gooch 8 is beyond reality. You’re saying that Walsh was Kerrys joint best player but yet he was taken off with 10 or 15 mins left?
On your post I think you’re being very biased and naive. How you could say a team is going out to play to save energy for the rest of the season is a bit laughable. If they won yesterday they would be 3 wins away from another All Ireland Final. Are you saying that they’re not fit enough to play 4 or 5 high intensity game over three and a half months?
I didn’t see a huge amount of difference in Cork between yesterday and last years All Ireland Final. They flew in patches but let Kerry back into the game and more ruthless teams would have beaten Cork. Their forwards were very static and this showed by Paudie Kissane having to shoot from over 45 metres. Kerry were just terrible but will obviously only start to play properly once August comes around.
Not sure what was wrong with Kissane scoring from long range, its something we have not done enough of in the past. But i do agree there was times when runs should have been made, it was quite frustrating.
Gooch scored 2 brilliant points and generally had a good battle with Sullivan, he also finished well when badly needed, not vintage, but showed some leadership. Walsh was the only Kerry player around the middle hungry for ball in the first half when they were absolutely dreadful bar the first5 minutes, he was trying to play a far bigger Cork midfield on his own, and by the 2nd half was absolutely fucked after 10 minutes. Donaghys work rate was suspect as was Sheehans in the 2nd half, so Walsh was chasing shadows, but he never gave up, thus i rated him highly. Darren O’ Sullivan was a joke, maybe you were getting mixed up.
Anyway i’m not saying i know exactly what Cork were up to, but saving themselves is one theory . Cork have fucked around with the ball before, but never with that absolute purpose. It was a tactic clearly to me and everyone i spoke to about it. I don’t like it myself, but i was just pointing it out. You may not have read me saying this previously, but many people think Cork should go through the qualifiers as they don’t know their team. I personally don’t agree, but i think the extra game next week will help alot and i think being at home, having a stronger squad and it seems more room for improvement in decision making and scoring that Cork will win next week.
I think your wrong about Kerry waiting for August this year, they trained very hard for this game and definitely don’t want to lose it, maybe they trained too hard as they looked lethargic sunday. I don’t think Kerry are as good as last year, i think thats obvious, so thats why i believe Cork are simply the better team/squad these days. That wouldn’t have been the case previously.
It wasn’t different on the TV Kev - its just that Joe Brolly’s little helpers on this forum were only half watching the game, and didn’t notice that Aidan Walsh was part of a midfield that played Kerry off the park.
Just checking, Kildare rolled over to Louth on Saturday night right? Thought so. :lol:
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 464426”]
Not sure what was wrong with Kissane scoring from long range, its something we have not done enough of in the past. But i do agree there was times when runs should have been made, it was quite frustrating.[/quote]
It shows how little movement there was in the forwards that the only resort was to shoot from that distance. I’m saying it was very similar to the All Ireland Final last year where Cork couldn’t get the balled past the Kerry 45.
Gooch scored 2 brilliant points and generally had a good battle with Sullivan, he also finished well when badly needed, not vintage, but showed some leadership. Walsh was the only Kerry player around the middle hungry for ball in the first half when they were absolutely dreadful bar the first5 minutes, he was trying to play a far bigger Cork midfield on his own, and by the 2nd half was absolutely fucked after 10 minutes. Donaghys work rate was suspect as was Sheehans in the 2nd half, so Walsh was chasing shadows, but he never gave up, thus i rated him highly. Darren O’ Sullivan was a joke, maybe you were getting mixed up.
Fairly sure Gooch only scored one point from play. So what you’re saying is that Walsh is not fit enough to last a full 70 minutes against Cork? Hardly intercounty standard is it? He also missed a couple of easy chances and should have buried a goal in the first half. Can you remember if he was marking Kissane or O’Leary?
Anyway i’m not saying i know exactly what Cork were up to, but saving themselves is one theory . Cork have fucked around with the ball before, but never with that absolute purpose. It was a tactic clearly to me and everyone i spoke to about it. I don’t like it myself, but i was just pointing it out. You may not have read me saying this previously, but many people think Cork should go through the qualifiers as they don’t know their team. I personally don’t agree, but i think the extra game next week will help alot and i think being at home, having a stronger squad and it seems more room for improvement in decision making and scoring that Cork will win next week.
Cork should win next week but I think you’re reading too much into some of what they did. They arsed about with a hell of a lot of ball during the game going over and back. It may have frustrated Kerry but ultimately it allowed them back in the game. Rather than closing it out Cork let them back into it quite easily which they can’t afford to do.
I think your wrong about Kerry waiting for August this year, they trained very hard for this game and definitely don’t want to lose it, maybe they trained too hard as they looked lethargic sunday. I don’t think Kerry are as good as last year, i think thats obvious, so thats why i believe Cork are simply the better team/squad these days. That wouldn’t have been the case previously.
If they were lethargic it didn’t show in the first 10 minutes or the last 10 minutes. The bits in the middle were more down to Corks dominance but when Kerry needed they were able to claw the lead back. Saying Kerry aren’t as good as last year at the moment is hardly groundbreaking stuff. They’ll improve as the summer goes on once they sort out their midfield and get used to having Donaghy back.
Officially its
Yerra 'tis all part of the Home and Away agreement
Unoffically its:
nice one Counnie, lock the animals into Porky Kweeve before ye show them anything
It shows how little movement there was in the forwards that the only resort was to shoot from that distance. I’m saying it was very similar to the All Ireland Final last year where Cork couldn’t get the balled past the Kerry 45.
I’m slow to blame the forwards, they were’t the lads slowing the ball down. But when they did get it Kerry looked in trouble. As i say, i’m not sure what the tactics were, but they were totally different to the All-Ireland.
Fairly sure Gooch only scored one point from play. So what you’re saying is that Walsh is not fit enough to last a full 70 minutes against Cork? Hardly intercounty standard is it? He also missed a couple of easy chances and should have buried a goal in the first half. Can you remember if he was marking Kissane or O’Leary?
Both, but Shields as well. Maybe some of his stuff was headless, but he was trying to cover for midfield and an inept other 2 half forwards. Kissane played in 5 backs positions someone was telling me after, not sure what that was about.
I happen to think both teams warm ups were over the top on such a hot day, you need to adjust a warm up for the weather.
Cork should win next week but I think you’re reading too much into some of what they did. They arsed about with a hell of a lot of ball during the game going over and back. It may have frustrated Kerry but ultimately it allowed them back in the game. Rather than closing it out Cork let them back into it quite easily which they can’t afford to do.
I agree, Cork could have won by 7,8,9 points had the attitude and style been different, Kerry were on the rocks with about 15-20 to go, and should have been killed off. Rather do that in September than now though.
If they were lethargic it didn’t show in the first 10 minutes or the last 10 minutes. The bits in the middle were more down to Corks dominance but when Kerry needed they were able to claw the lead back. Saying Kerry aren’t as good as last year at the moment is hardly groundbreaking stuff. They’ll improve as the summer goes on once they sort out their midfield and get used to having Donaghy back.
I’m not claiming it is, just pointing it out. Galvin and Maher had a lot to do with the last 10 minutes, plus Cork going to sleep. Ball into Donaghy wasn’t great, but Canty is a player capable of beating him, and played him correctly sunday. He showed once what he can do, but i believe its the corner backs and the job they do is more important than the actual man marking Donaghy. Pressure on the ball coming in is vital as well.
Unreal-the TFK resident hurling expert and now I could well be the football one too. Tipping Louth to beat Kildare-what a scoop there. Threw the few pound on the draw in Killarney too.
Myself and Mac travelled all the way down to Kerry especially for this game. Good atmosphere there-surrounded by a few Cork knackers it has to be said which was disappointing as myself and Mac were wearing red for the day.
Thought Aidan Walsh was fantastic at midfield myself-brutal at shooting though/embarrassing almost.
Kissane was very good-got some great scores too.
Poor ball into Donaghy all day I felt-way to high. He likes them cross field kicks into him the best I’d say.
Donnacha Walsh adds nothing to Kerry, Galvin made a difference when he came on.
Cork threw it away though-by far the better team.
Oh and the ref was a complete dickhead ruining what could have been a cracker.
cough, I called the Louth game too I’ll have you know. But congrats nonetheless, top tipping there. Nice to see Armagh shown up for what they are too, a one trick pony of grunters. They’re going nowhere fast, absolutely nowhere.
I’d agree with you WRT Donaghy. The best man to play ball into him was Sean O Sullivan. Of the current side, Tomás O Sé, but then Tomás is normally the best on the field to carry out anything.
Yeah, ya jumped on the bandwagon I see alright.
I’d say Galvin is another to hit the right ball into Donaghy, Gooch too, but it would be more in his line to be alongside him or running through.
Get away with your bandwagon, no man monitors any potential failure of Kildare than me, I had this one flagged a long way out. McGeeney is some bluffer.
Link to tipping Louth to beat Kildare please?
That’s on page 20 (after finding out Earley was out). Mine was on page 19.
Ouch. Almost.
Big deal anyway.
Big whoop indeed. The ubercunts were beaten, that is all that matters.
Cork have a leadership problem up front, apart from Kerrigan and maybe Sheehan in the second half (but who overall was poor) their forwards didn’t look for the ball enough. Goulding and O’Connor in particular which would hardly be a first.
In fairness to the lad Walsh he never hid and came into the game well in the second half but his ball skills need serious work. Apart from one great kick pass into Kerrigan in the first half they were embarrassing. The irony is that in the first half when Cork were on top at midfield he didn’t contribute much to that at all but was their best midfielder when they were under the cosh in the second half. He has a good engine.
But overall Cork bottled it and blew a great chance to win Killarney for the first time in 15 years which would have laid down far more of a psychological marker than another win in Cork. If anything it will add to the mental block they have about beating Kerry when the pressure is really on. They’ll probably win the replay but beating Kerry in Pairc Ui Chaoimh didn’t do them much good in ’02.’06, ’08 or ’09.
:lol: :lol: [quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 464424”]
Mac Mac Mac. Your only making a clown of yourself, so stop.
On the game in Killarney, firstly the extra time. Everyone was under the impression there was extra time, and for me it looked like the players thought that as well. The Ref was foolish beyond belief, and reffed the game completely differently from the last time i saw him when i thought he was excellent. Was it because he was reffing the 2 best teams in Ireland? I don’t know, but he was fussy. He was poor for both teams, but Cork got 9 yellow cards, Kerry one maybe two. That didn’t add up in fairness.
On the game itself, i thought Cork were the better team overall in terms of will to win, tackiling, gaining possession etc, but Kerry were just so accurate. Kerry only had one what i would term a “score able wide”, they were just so economical, its only to be admired.
Brian Sheehan proved a few people wrong and troubled Ray Carey, the first person to do so IMO since Ray started for Cork, he still did some good things at the same time, particulary after half time. Delighted with Canty and Jamie Sull, Sullivans rise to Inter County football is actually a bit mental considering how average he was when younger.
Corks half backs dominated for the most part, but Galvin had a huge influence when on. It was very notable Cork took Noelie off straight away, things are that bad, its seems like there was almost an agreement between the managements to do so (of course there wasn’t, but it actually looked that way).
People calling Aidan Walsh a donkey weren’t watching the same game as me, now maybe it was different on tv, but in general play he was outstanding, absolutely bate SWcanlon and Quirke up a stick. His kick passing is some of the best in the country and he is a serious player for Cork already. Now he made 3 very bad calls in going for scores, one kick should have been inside of the boot instead of the outside, he shouldn’t have kicked another one and he should have picked up the ball for the goal chance, he probably would have been fouled. But to be honest those kind of things are very fixable. He’s got everything else to be a great great footballer for years to come.
Overall i think Cork have more to improve and even though i thought Kerry would win yesterday i think Cork should win next week with a bit to spare. Kerry overall were disappointing, they are in big trouble at midfield. Anthony Maher is definitely better than Moran at this stage though but i think Scanlon was shown up 'cos Daragh wasn’t in front of him, Scanlons deeper role doesn’t work with Quirke, who is not an Inter County footballer.
I think the game will have done alot for Canty, O’ Sullivan, Walsh and Pierce O’ Neill. Ciaran Sheehan had a good 2nd half and showed some of what he is capable of. Colm O’ Neill is being called for to start but i wouldn’t do that at all, he’s got more to prove than just going for one ball and scoring, he still failed to show for a ball before and after that. Goulding still scored a beauty and while he wasn’t great there is no reason to drop him for one average game. For now O’ Neill is still a good impact sub.
Well done to Alan Quirke as well, played excellently bar one poor kick out.
For me Cork are deliberately playing a certain type of game to conserve energy for the rest of the season, as there is an obvious move away from the power game full of running the ball from the back. Cork would have won handy had there been extra time, as i think while Kerry have the better 15 footballers still to start, Cork have an overall better squad and that matters so much these days. In a weird way, with the amount of improvement i know is in Cork, i’m a little bit more confident of Sam being back home later this year.
Quirke - 8
Carey - 6
Canty - 8
Sullivan - 8
Kissane - 9
Shields - 8
Noelie - 6.5
Walsh - 8
Alan O’ C - 8.5
Pierce - 7
Donnacha - 6
Kelly - 6.5
Goulding - 6
Sheehan - 7
Kerrigan - 7.5
Kealy - 8.5
Marc - 6.5
Griffen - 4.5 (He’s such a poor player at this level IMO even if he has plenty heart)
Tomas - 8.5
Mike Mac - 7.5
Killian Young - 8
Scanlon - 5
Quirke - 4
Walsh - 8.5
Dec Sull - 6
Darren Sull - 4
Gooch - 8
Star - 7
Sheehan 8.5