Why is he a bluffer, he’s only started out, i think your well off there. He’s learning as he goes, thats the decision Kildare made when taking him on, they would have known there is a learning curve.
I also wouldn’t be judging Armagh on that game alone, the sending off fucked them. Monaghan have found another couple of nice players though to add to what they already had.
I could see Armagh in All-Ireland 1/4 as of yet.
Saying Louth have a chance isn’t predicting a win though.
Sid - Your right about everything there really, except about Walsh’s ball skills, he’s a very skillful player. He lost ball from dithering and nerves possibly early on, but i’d say its the decision making more than the shooting needs to be worked on. His engine is fairly impressive alright.
cork winning next week proves fuck all, and its only winning an All-Ireland and beating the animals along the way in CP will suffice. We certainly have the players, mental strenght is going to be important, but i wouldn’t be placing too much in sunday at all from that aspect. At times neither side wanted to win it and i think Kerry only went for it late when they realised Cork were handing it to them.
You must remember though Cork have changed this team a good bit even from last year, with 3 new very young fellas and Kissane getting a proper run. Jaime Sull is 21, Sheehan is 19 and Walsh is 20. They’ll all be the better for the game. Only Anthony Maher from Kerry will be better for his experience.
McGeeney claimed all during the league it was about Cship, he got his chance Saturday night and we saw how well they were prepared. Without Earley they are average, even Johnny Doyle cant do it all on their own. They had 6 backs who couldnt tackle. His treatment of O Neill was beyond disgraceful also.
Grimley covered a lot of cracks with McGeeney, and so it is being proved. He cant blame the referees every day out. Do some coaching instead of weight lifting and boxing. Kildare will bin him, mark my words.
I’ve said all along that Armagh are a one man show, Sunday again proved this. You claim they’re not. Time will tell, there’s far more evidence pointing them being nowt but a Stevie from Killeavy show at present though.
Saying Louth have a chance isn’t predicting a win though.
Fair point point but it was me signalling my belief that they’d do it. I’ll make it more clear next time out however.
I said the same about Louth in a way that they would give plenty, but also said same about Sligo, despite credit from Sid i don’t think i said they’d definitely win. I just think Mayo are incredibly average, and Sligo have impressed me the last few times i’ve seen them. Division 3 certainly seems to be where its at.
We’ll have to disagree on Armagh (they are young and will learn), i agree on Kildare though, without Early they are no more than average, in fairness Tyrone made this clear last year as well when they blackguarded him. But the thing is, they’ll have him back. You could see how average Kerry were without Galvin too, everyone needs their stars.
Can people remember these games later on now when they are saying, again, that the football championship was shite. Its not, its very encouraging how open some games have been. Its been something i’ve been saying for a while, the next generation of coaches and players will bring Gaelic Football to massive new heights. But it makes me worry about hurling.
Balls Caoimh,a few little league teams coming good at the weekend is probably the proof in the pudding that football is fairly muck. Watching Kerry/Cork trying to look bothered yesterday was hard work to be honest. Football is shite enough.
Im worried about hurling too, mind you. The way the refs are going on and a lukewam game in terms of genuine quality being lauded, like yesterdays game in Thurles does not bode well for the future of the game.
On a side note Kev, dunno if you were there or not but the Cumann na mBunscoil game at half time Sunday, the Cork youngsters were vastly superior in everything, scoring kicking catching, than Kerry were. Bodes well for the future there.
I disagree with ye lads, i think if the smaller less glamorous teams are playing good football then its a better sign of the game overall. For years the smaller counties were playing defensive shite stuff just to compete, some have abandoned that. I think the Ulster teams have copped that football has changed a bit even since mid-2000’s.
Pikey ya, i was watching them, we were astonished at the difference. They were a real classy little team. Now you’d never know what Kerry would be doing, so i’d take little notice of them, but it was great to see how skillful the Cork lads were, even their teamwork was superb. The coaching is getting much better in Cork, and the slight rules changes have helped to get more poor players to average, more average guys to good and so on. One hop, One solo works very well. I reffed our club a few times and it helps everyone. The big center back hero player no longer dominates and turns players on both sides off playing, as he has to be a team player no matter how good he is.
The Go-Games are flying, and i believe they are great occasions for parents, families etc with the blitz system as opposed to one off games.
They sure do, and I hear they’ve been promised excellent seats in the premium level of Hogan Stand for Sunday’s high profile final challenge match. With free bar access throughout it should be a really enjoyable day out for them. Dublin are involved in some intense training at the moment in preparation for June 27th so it would be foolish to read too much into Sunday. A carnival atmosphere is guaranteed although not much is at stake obviously.
You were wrong and you’re trying to twist it and say you were right. At no point did you suggest Louth would win. Just be the bigger man, admit you were wrong and move on. You’re starting to embarrass yourself at this stage - again.